We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, breeze, and good food for a good price”

Puerto Viejo Restaurant
Ranked #134 of 401 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LALA LAND
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, breeze, and good food for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant after walking through old town toward the beach. We saw the signs for ceviche and the staff offered us to come in. We did. And we are glad we did. It's very casual, with a beautiful view of the ocean and old town Mazatlan. Food was authentic and homemade. Great seafood dishes and good, cold beer. We had seafood soup, fish, and ceviche. All was tasty. Recommended highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caliche L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Mazatlan for the past 5 years and this is always our first port of call. The setting is wonderful, overlooking the ocean and the food is always freshly cooked and delicious. Our favourite is the coconut shrimp, which is enough to share. It comes with tostados quesidillas salsa and also served with rice and a potato salad. Beers are v cheap and our meal usually costs, with drinks no more than £8.
The wait staff are v helpful, tonight we couldnt find a shady table, as its such a popular place, but the waiter pulled down the blinds for us.
Food apart, this is a great place for people watching.....lots to see!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old established oceanside restaurant in old Mazatlan.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good food and served by friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. Seafood is mostly fresh and cooked well. Love the ice cold beer! This place attracts a lot of "winter visitors" from the US & Canada and tends to be their hangout. Locals frequent as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch the sunset over the Pacific”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A good watering hole and snacks. Friendly staff and patrons. The food is typical bar fare, tasty and cheap. A locals watering hole. The cheapest beer I could find.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylnChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Right across from the oceon, great sea breeze. A band is always playing and there is room to dance. Great variety of drinks, and the food is simple but delicious. Meet friends and have a great time. Situation is Olas Altas, Mazatlan.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roberthowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Viejo Restaurant also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Puerto Viejo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing