We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, food and service not so much”

Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja
Ranked #15 of 445 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recommended by locals. We'd been warned the service wasn't stellar. It wasn't. As well, I didn't find the food as good as we'd been told. The vegetarian stir fry was overcooked and boring, but my friends enjoyed the lobster and bananas flambe and fancy Mexican coffees. The preparation of the coffees was a fiery spectacle, but once we'd been served our food, the waiters had to be flagged down to get anything. Right on the beach--depending on your table, you can hear the waves below.

Thank julsmavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaBruja, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comment. It makes us improve.
We are working to have the best service in town.
We are sure if you give us a second chance you won't have to flag.

Denisse Aramburo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 626 of 990 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Best guacamole we had during our visit to Mazatlan. Mr. Lionso is located in the rock at the north end of Playa Bruja, just north of Riu Resort. Tip: the location given above is not enough to pinpoint the location (and where it shows on the map is incorrect), so look for Riu Reort and go just north of there.

Get a table with a water view (there are many) and watch the surfers and boogie boarders on the waves just beyond the restaurant. Great place to just stop for a drink and appetizers (especially the guacamole) or a full meal. Prices are reasonable. Not a fancy place, you can come here in your swimsuit and coverup.

If you are staying at Riu or even at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay (follow the beach and path south of the resort) or anywhere in the Playa Bruja area, this is a great choice.

Another tip: order the coconut water (no alcohol) or the coco loco drink (LOTS of alcohol) and it comes in a fresh coconut. They will even split the coconut for you after you finish drinking to eat the coconut meat inside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaBruja, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review. It is great.
We are very glad you liked our restaurant.
We are going to work in pinpoint well the location on Internet.

Denisse Aramburo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I love Mazatlan and this is one of my favorite restaurants. It is right on Witches Beach and the view down the coastline is fantastic. One time they even moved a table down onto the beach for us.
One of my favorite dishes is the bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp. Mazatlan is known for it's shrimp and there are many ways you will find it prepared. This style is very good, but you can't go wrong with any preparation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catladyPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaBruja, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Good day,

We are so glad you liked our food and view.
We hope next time you go to Mazatlan you visit us.
Thank you for your review.

Denisse Aramburo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

$120 Peso each way from Golden Zone / Red Pickup. (6 of us together)
Up at the very end of Cerritos beach, on the water. Playa Bruja.
Enjoyable meal. I had a steak dinner here and it was quite tasty. Would gladly return a second night for similar meal, but I had enough steak leftover for a sandwich next day. Mmmmmmmm.
Others with my family enjoyed different seafood / shrimp dishes. We enjoyed our meal. 2 different Mariachi bands wandered through. They were very enjoyable and did not hassle us to pay for a song. Overall a nice restaurant. Not OH WOW outstanding! but a very nice place to enjoy a leisure dinner. I would go again next visit to Mazatlan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waiting4myship2come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaBruja, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello,

We are so glad you liked our restaurant.
We hope to see you next time you visit Mazatlan.
Thank you for your review.

Denisse Aramburo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Was here in afternoon for a quick bite. Had heard some great things. Very disappointed! Our ceviche was very salty and not saucy like the great ceviche in Acapulco. We ordered 3 dishes to share - Enchiladas, Chimichangas and Tacos de Pollo. The were all very tasteless and bland. Not a very good reflection of great mexican cuisine. The little "shacks" just down the street by the bay was 100% better! They may look scary - but give them a try, they are the BEST!
There was also 2 mariachi bands playing which I usually enjoy, but they were unfortunately very loud with the trumpets a played right at the next table for about 15 minutes - just a little overwhelming!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MNMHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaBruja, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry we did not reach your expectations. We hope next time you come to Mazatlán you give us the opportunity to impress you.
We are glad you visited us.

Denisse Aramburo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing