We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service by wait staff”
Review of Papagayo

Papagayo
Ranked #69 of 445 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mexican Restaurant & Cantina Front the Ocean...
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our family has been vacationing in Mazatlan since 1981. We have a timeshare at the Inn at Mazatlan, where the Papagayo Restaurant is located. Whether we are eating inside or out by the pool, we always have the best, most attentive service. The staff is always right there to check on us and get us what we need. What we have always loved is how the staff rarely changes. The same people are there year after year, which makes us feel like we are home! In particular, when we are out by the pool all day, our poolside server is German. He is always there, checking in on us, and gets us what we need/want, no matter what our request might be! He's amazing! Thanks to all the staff for doing what you do and always making us feel welcome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Jennifer C.
Without a doubt the Papagayo Restaurant it´s been one of our landmarks to the owners & visitors at the inn over the years, and we intend to improve it for you to enjoy the service, the new dishes, facilities and the best atmosphere created by our loyal clients. your patronage is very much appreciated and I can assure you all the compliments to German and the rest of the staff will be gladly shared to them as they play a key role on your kind preference.

Cordially yours.

Yaid Gurrola
y.gurrola@innatmaz.com
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

The view of the ocean from Papagayos is spectacular and the food is very good as well. The staff are friendly and the service is very good. We enjoyed the Sunday brunch where to food is set up outside and you can eat outside by the pools and beach or inside.

Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Your kind comments regarding our service and facilities will be passed on to our culinary team,
it´s like music to our ears since our chef is constantly looking to innovate with different flavors our specials as well as reviewing our menu on a monthly basis to see the popularity of dishes and continue to diversify our cuisine. Mexican food is particularly interesting due to its deep regional roots and variety. We appreciate the mention of our service staff as we are also proud of their warm and attentive attitudes.

Please do not miss the chance to drop by and find out what´s new at EL PAPAGAYO OCEAN FRONT RESTAURANT AND CANTINA.

Best regards,

Yaid Gurrola
y.gurrola@innatmaz.com
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The food was good. The drinks were good. The staff was excellent. I have not had such a good wait staff experience in months. Thanks so much.

Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear James K.
We are glad that you received great service and appreciate your positive comments as it continues to motivate us to improve and consistently deliver the standards we have come to embrace through the years.

Yaid Gurrola
y.gurrola@innatmaz.com
Gerente de Alimentos y bebidas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The service at this restaurant is very good. We have been going there for over 25 years with many of the same help still there. It is like being welcomed home by Ricardo, Pedro, Issac, German, Edwin, Alfredo, Gerberto, Jorge, Yaid, Nacho, and Juan. Hope I did not miss anyone, because they are all number one in our opinion. It is right on the ocean, and very clean. The food is very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Ms. Linda T.
We really appreciate your kind and complimentary comments of being welcome home by names. It will be our pleasure to inform all of them regarding your comments as they should be congratulated for our continue objetive of delivering service. We look forward to serving you in the same manner on your future visits.
Cordially yours,

Yaid Gurrola
y.gurrola@innatmaz.com
Gerente de Alimentos y bebidas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently returned from a family vacation from Mazatlan, Mexico. While there we ate at Papagayos restaurant. The servers are always very friendly and prompt when it comes to service. We ate breakfast there everyday on a 8 day trip from the June 2th to June 9th and came to know the wait staff quite well. In particular servers Pedro, Isaac, Israel, Ignacio and Ricardo were so attentive and so pleasant, everyday they made an effort to talk to us whether they were serving our table or not . We have known some of them for years as we have a time share down there, and they are the reason we always come to eat breakfast every day even though we stay at the El Cid Resort. The service is great and of course the food at the restaurant was delicious. Papagayos itself sits right on the beach, and in my opinion it is a great way to start off the day with superb service, fantastic food all the while being a stones throw from the ocean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Ms. Patricia E.
We are flattered to receive such beautiful comments regarding your recent experience at the Papagayo Restaurant, our attentive staff Pedro, Issac, Israel, Ignacio, Ricardo and the rest of them will enjoy to hear this, please do not pass the opportunity while you are in town to pay us a visit and enjoy another good meal and service at our place.
Cordially yours.

Yaid Gurrola
y.gurrola@innatmaz.com
Gerente de Alimentos y bebidas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo also viewed

 

Been to Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing