We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertainment, food, service excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papagayo

Papagayo
Ranked #73 of 396 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mexican Restaurant & Cantina Front the Ocean...
Cobb, California
1 review
“Entertainment, food, service excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This place is charming and beautiful! It's not the top cost or fanciest, but really great. You can get whatever you want by asking, the charm and caring of the people can't be beat. It's worth the time to sit in the lounge, check out the beach from here and sit out in the patio area with the sun or sunset, stars, or moonlight. It's lovely.
They have a fun and funny karaoke night Fridays, on Saturday a phenomenal and sweet voiced singer you won't want to miss!: Ramon. Truly a treat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Jo M
We are very pleased to hear that our staff did accomplish to make yuo feel good; they really try their best to serve you; I gladly celebrate that you appreciated our new theme nights in our bar "la cantina", I will make sure of tell to Ramón how much you enjoyed his music, as well as to all the Restaurant team that contributes in our departament to deliver a great atmosphere & service. We truly hope to see you soon, "thank you"

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved the breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Fresh fruit, fresh yogurt, excellent chicken, excellent beef, excellent chilaquiles (sp?), great omelets, fresh cold orange juice. It was maybe a couple dollars more then I usually spend for breakfast, but it was worth it. It was a little warm at 0900 on the patio as it is not conducive to breezes, but otherwise it was a very enjoyable breakfast. French toast was available on the buffet too, plus they had a good looking menu that we looked at before deciding on the buffet. It's well worth the trip for breakfast, and if that was good I'm going to assume it is pretty good for other meals as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unit312J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Unit312J


We are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable experience at The Papagayo Restaurant , one of our main goals is to offer quality, freshness & options
to satisfy any demanding palate; we kindly invite you to enjoy our daily dinner specials menu.
On behalf of our Restaurant team we thank you for your loyal preference.

Best regards,


Yaid Gurrola
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coconut Shrimp my favorite Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I arrived in Mazatlan on October 5 and we were staying at the Inn at Mazatlan for two weeks. Since this is the hotel restaurant we ate here meals almost every day. The chef has created a new menu that will appeal to all tastes. They are always willing to make adjustments to a meal to meet your wishes. The bar is real friendly they have a special cocktail from 6 to 8 PM, like 2 for 1 martini's. The waiters are the best they are able to serve with a smile and humor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoRestaurant, Gerente at Papagayo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Nate M

I truly feel very proud of reading your comments, this not only prove us that all the changes been done lately in our departament really are really appreciated by our clients, lt give us the motivation to keep looking always the best way to offer better services, we will continue the hard work with all our team members to surprise you on your next visit, which we hope could be soon and together with your loved ones.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat and Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This spot has become a ritual. We go for lunch and drinks and can shop out the window, Vendors walk the beach hawking their wares and will hand them to you through the window and you never leave your seat.

Waiters are fun and friendly - food was good, drinks were great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swan lake mb canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Let down by the main courses.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Well-priced with great views.

Service : very friendly, Juan and Candy were both very pleasant. Service was fine.

Food : we both had salads which were good. I had the seafood soup which I thought was excellent. After this were were looking forward to our mains, but alas my wife ordered the shrimp on a bed of soya sauce and my mahi-mahi in tamarind(?) sauce was quite poor. Had a couple of deserts which were fine.

All in all a pleasant meal in spite of the main course let-dow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing