We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality Perfected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papagayo

Papagayo
Ranked #73 of 401 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mexican Restaurant & Cantina Front the Ocean...
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hospitality Perfected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Papagayo Restaurant has the most beautiful view in all of Mazatlan. There is outdoor seating and indoor seating right on the water. The sunsets are spectacular. We ate breakfast there every morning and dinner three times during our stay. The food is delicious and the presentation over the top. But, what made our meals so enjoyable was the most attentive professional wait staff. The service is second to none anywhere we have traveled. Luis was our waiter for most meals. He was friendly, professional, attentive and made every meal a five star experience. The new chef has brought some different items to the menu. The featured specials were so good, in particular a chicken dish stuffed with fruit or the fish with disaronno sauce. We are still talking about it. If you are missing American food, their hamburgers are the best. The other waiters: Isreal, Pedro (who helped us with our Spanish) and Fernando always made our dining experiences the most pleasant part of a happy day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had two dinners at Papagayo during our recent two week stay in Mazatlan. The shrimp salad stuffed avocado appetizer is wonderful and enough for an entree. What brings us back is the service and quality drinks. Nothing watered down here. Furthermore, Ricardo is one of the most attentive waiters we've encountered in Mazatlan...remembering everyone's order and preferences from one visit to the next. Great location on the beach...worth the trip if you're not staying at this resort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtravlin1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, UT
1 review
“Best service, best cuisine, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

You can`t make a better choice than the Papagayo restaurant in Mazatlan, Mexico. The location is beautiful....right on the water with a spectacular view of sunsets. Outdoor seating is available. The waiters are five star....most have been there for years. There is a new one, Ricardo Hernandoz, who went out of his way to do an excellent job of serving and presentation. He will be there for many years if he so chooses because he fits right in with the dedication of the long time staff. There is a new chef who has added flair to his entrees......great food and overall a charming experience. Marilyn A

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service is outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Inn at Mazatlan for years and we are always amazed at how wonderful the service is. Ricardo, Juan, German, Gilberto and all the rest of the staff are always there to help make your dining experience memorable. Papagayo's has the most amazing location, the sunset is beautiful from your table at the Inn. The food isn't as good as it used to be but it is still quite enjoyable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Mazatlan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never a disapointment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We absolutly loved every dining expierence we had durring our stay at The Inn At Mazatlan! Our service was top notch and it ismore than comforting to have the same staff there year after year! We can't waith util our next trip to Mexico next year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing