We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic evening”
Review of Casa Loma

Casa Loma
Ranked #55 of 410 Restaurants in Mazatlan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“romantic evening”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

my husband and I like to make this stop always when we are in Mazatlan. You eat outside and the food is excellent and service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    17
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Failed to Impress”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our dining experience at Casa Loma can be described in one word: disappointing.

This much hyped restaurant failed to deliver the value expected considering the high prices charged for ordinary food.

I have no complaints with the fine service provided by our wait staff. They were all very attentive.

My French onion soup consisted of a weak broth filled with onions that had not been properly caramelized and therefore lacked any intensity of flavour. I ordered the Pasta Casa Loma expecting to be impressed by their namesake dish. The cream sauce tasted as though it contained Philadelphia cream cheese and delivered a sour element I did not enjoy. The mushrooms in the sauce appeared canned.

My companion’s Filet Mignon was cooked as ordered; medium rare and was very tasty. On the other hand, the mixed vegetables tasted as though they had been purchased frozen from Sam’s Club. The accompanying mushroom sauce appeared to contain canned mushrooms.

The food was adequate to satisfy a hungry group but was by no means a “fine dining experience” despite the fine dining prices charged.

Casa Loma appears to be a grand ole dame resting comfortably on her laurels.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeakerTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine Dining----Family Owned Restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

You'll find nothing funky or nouveau in this Mazatlan matriarch. But you will find extremely well-prepared classic continental dishes served by very professional staff. Casa Loma is the choice for Mazatlecos' special events. We've never been disappointed and have been guests there many times during the past six years.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJMAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Finest for years!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a top notch restaurant for Mazatlan. As it is in Mazatlan where prices and value for quality is the best. Different than other destinations, Mazatlan is at most cases half the price.
Casa Loma has been or decades a must in Mazatlan. Their salad Casa Loma or Caesars Salad fixed right on your table are very good.
The chateaubriand is excellent. Try it.

Desserts fixed right on your table such as banana flambé or crepes are to die for.

Owner Ramon Eduardo is always making sure you'll feel welcome and well served.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorgecortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Mazatlan!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our family has been coming to Casa Loma for over 30 years. 3 generations love it and it is always a must when down in Mazatlan each year.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Loma also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Casa Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing