We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

my fiancée and i stayed at casa Lucila for 3 nights in August we arrived very early and unexpected in the morning and they got our room ready in half an hour, it so happens that it is very low seasons and we were the only ones in the hotel. We had exceptional service and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the owners were lovely and even took my finance to the Dr and translated for us after she had a bout of a bit of bad food! (not from the hotel) rooms were very clean and the pool overlooking the ocean is very relaxing! would go back to Mazatlan and stay there in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dearest Nathan,
Thank you for the great review! October is definitely low season for us so when we are able to make accommodations we absolutely do. I hope that you both decide to come back to visit us in Mazatlan at any point from Australia! Hopefully another visit to the doctor is not in the cards but if need be, we'd take you guys again in a heartbeat to help you out.
Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures!
Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    8
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
82
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September, on arrival my room was over 90, the temp dropped to 87 3 hours later, I stopped at the desk, they said yes it is a hot day. By morning, the temp had dropped to 82. Not ideal sleeping temp. Other than this the hotel is beautiful, food excellent, staff very friendly. Would stay again, but not in the summer months.

Room Tip: Ocean front is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sungirl22250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest Sungirl,

Thank you for the honesty in your review! We wished we could've provided you with a better stay and we too agree that September can get VERY hot! For us, it's the humidity that really puts a damper in our day. Hopefully we can see you back here for a visit during the Winter or Spring months as the weather is absolutely perfect during that time. Should you decide to stay in the summer with us, we'll make sure to leave the A/C on for you the whole day.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We loved every second of our stay there. First off, you could not ask for better hosts. They are not only hospitable, but will take the time to talk to you and recommend restaurants and things to see and do. Second, the property and rooms are gorgeous. Third, the restaurant has amazing food. Fourth, the rooftop pool area is very relaxing. Fifth, did I mention how amazing the hosts are?

I won't go too into descriptions of the rooms because I think the pictures on their site speak for themselves. But what the pictures don't convey is the excellent service, the quiet and comfort, and the overall wonderful experience that comes from staying in this hotel. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay, and the rates were amazingly reasonable compared to the bigger hotels in Gold Coast. We had booked one night in the middle of our stay over there and could not wait to get back to Casa Lucila!

I will say that in this area of Old Town, the beaches are rocky. If you are looking to lay on sand beaches during the day, you won't find them here. But, you can always head up to the Gold Coast for the day (though it is VERY touristy), or better yet, take a pulmonia to the docks for a boat ride to La Isla de Piedra (Stone Island). There are many nice bars and restaurants that allow you day use of chaise lounges. Prepare to make friends with the stray dogs, which you will want to bring back home. The benefits of staying in Old Town far outweighed the travel time to a sand beach. Besides...the boat ride alone is great!

Despite what you hear of drug cartel in Mexico, we never once felt unsafe in Mazatlan. People on the street would stop to ask where we were from, make recommendations for things to do, and were more than happy to be ambassadors for Mazatlan. There is a reason so many Americans come back here year after year - there is an authenticity you can't find in the more touristy areas of Mexico. We highly recommend Casa Lucila and the Old Town area to anyone looking for a great winter retreat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGurl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest TravelGurl,

What fabulous pictures you posted! Thank you for sharing a little bit of your stay with us. We appreciate the honesty of the feeling of safety that you felt here in Mazatlan. The news are very unfortunate as we know it scares people away from coming to visit us. We hope that we can give you another exciting stay the next time you come to visit. Winter is coming up again so hopefully we'll see you back here again soon!

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rcok, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Casa Lucila is amazing. The attention to detail in this 8 room boutique hotel is stunning. The staff is wonderful and ready to please. Owners Chris and Conchita who are often onsite, make you feel very welcome and at home. If you want a unique experience lounging by the infinity pool with that incredible view of the Sea of Cortez, reading on your private terrace overlooking the promenade of historic Mazatlan, this is the place to be. Start your day with an incredible brunch in the hotel at the Water's Edge Bistro, followed by a walking tour of historic Mazatlan and all it has to offer. The location of Casa Lucila puts you in the heart of Centro Historico where you are in walking distance of galleries, theatre, bakeries, markets and architectural wonders. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinrWhiteRcok_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest Robin,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We work very very hard to try to ensure our guests have a great experience whilst staying with us, so when you are good enough to take the time to tell us you had a fine time, it really means a lot to our team. We hope we are lucky to have you come back to visit us again soon!

Best,
Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My trip to Mazatlan was my first trip to Mexico. I've never been across the border (and I'm SUPER close - Dallas!) and wanted my first trip to be the best experience. I was hesitant about going because of all the news reports along the border. I put my concerns aside and decided to go with my boyfriend.
After numerous review-searching, I decided on Casa Lucila and boy did I make the right decision!
From the moment I landed in this foreign country, it was an easy experience. I made it to the oceanfront hotel "boutique" and knew that this was the perfect destination for me and Joe.
We walked along the boardwalk, ate delicious meals EVERY day, and stayed in one of the most beautiful rooms the hotel has to offer.
We stayed in the Lupita room overlooking the ocean. If I could recommend any hotel to stay at, this would be the one.

Room Tip: Lupita Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest Courtney & Joe,

Thank you for making our day with your great review! We are so glad to hear that you made the trek into Mexico and experienced such a beautiful country. We hope that you come back down to Mazatlan from Dallas and stay with us again soon. We'll make sure to keep the Lupita room ready for your next trip down!

Best,
Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Trust me when I say that the reviews for this boutique hotel say nothing but the truth! Everything about it is amazing. The staff is wonderful and very friendly. They are there to help and assist you with your needs. They make you feel welcomed as if it is your “home away from home!” One of the best parts is that the owners are usually onsite as well. Definitely a plus for me as you don’t see that too often. They make the stay even better!

The hotel is gorgeous and you are immediately made aware of this by the detail that was put into it. It is clean, elegant and peaceful and is definitely a place to go if you are looking to get away. There are eight rooms and you will not be disappointed with your room choice! You have amazing views from the hotel and the malecon (boardwalk) is just a few feet away which is great for a leisurely walk or a nice run (and don’t forget the beach which is literally right there)!

It is located in old town Mazatlan which is rich with culture and history. Again, a plus for me as it is always great to learn the history of places and to get to know the culture (and the people). Something that much harder to experience in city setting!

I highly recommend staying here. I know that I will when I take another trip back to Mazatlan!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SocMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest SocMan,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the honesty and are thrilled that you feel right at home with us. We love hearing that our staff is able to assist with your every need. We look forward to having you come back to visit us!

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We love this place. Been twice and will return. The owners are darling, the rooms sparse but comfortable and the view magical.

Room Tip: Get the suite with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresitalamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest Teresita,

Thank for being such a great repeat visitor and friend to us! We absolutely love having you come back and stay with us each time you trek down to Mazatlan. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
8.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#18 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Address: Privada Olas 16 | Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only eight rooms, Casa Lucila Hotel Boutique provides guests with sweeping pacific ocean views, located just a short walk to the area's art galleries, museums, restaurants + bars, and boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing