We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$67
$65
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$444
$135
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$114
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Playa Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$246
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$35
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$149
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$134
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$554
$168
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)
$130
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
124
9
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
9
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall infinity poolshared balconywalking distanceplaza machadohistoric mazatlantop floorrestaurant downstairshighly recommend staying herebeautiful hotelcrashing wavesevery morningcevicherooms are spaciousstone islandfacing the oceanthird floorthe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 144 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Staff: excellent, friendly, helpful, multiple ice requests, local tequila tasting, recommendations, monument explanations.

Building: excellent, clean, 'hip' or 'chic' furnishings, fixtures and building, awesome view. Safe in room, walk in shower without a door/curtain and a window of the bay view. Another reviewer said to stay on the 2nd floor which was fine for me, my wife wanted the 3rd floor rooms to have the infinity pool outside the door. Robes, slippers, quality towels and soap, etc.

Pool, Small infinity pool plenty large for 8 room hotel. We tested our memory to compare the view of the bay, 'rock' islands, surf hitting sand/rocks/sea wall, pigeons and cranes nearby. We enjoyed more than an oceanfront view of the ocean, the bay view is spectacular (especially from the 3rd floor infinity pool).

Restaurant: breakfast, #3 Mexican Especial, Machaca was excellent, coffee fresh, service fine, we ate ours on the table outside of the front door on top of the steps. We also enjoyed the flan dessert the night before. We chose to walk to the local restaurants for the other meals. We noticed other guests enjoying meals.

Parking, on the street at the hotel, they have a night watchman watching the cars and the hotel.

Short walk: quick store on coast, Puerto Viejo (best Ceveche and draft beer), or 4 blocks east to larger pharmacia/grocery.

Minimal Negatives: if it rains expect the power to go out while you should be asleep. Our fan did not have a 'fast' speed. Listen to the concierge / luggage guy on how not to turn the lever knob on the high quality Italian doors. I did not listen and had to have him adjust the door after I turned the lever knob past the proper 3 PM to 6 PM angles.

If / when we return I would stay in the same hotel. If the 8 rooms were booked I would probably look at a different time when they have space available or as a 3rd alternative try the bed and breakfast a block around the corner or the Best Western. I would not stay in the area outside of the Centro.

Other than a trip to Sam's Club/Mega/Wal-Mart I would eat / play / stay in the Centro Zone and walk as far as Topolo for the best restaurant / great dinner. Also on the way to Topolo the coffee shop 'cady' corner from the bakery on the way to the restaurant square (one block South of the large Catholic Cathedral). The spa for massage is two block from the coffee shop, same street.

Room Tip: splurge for 3rd floor view, 2nd floor railing
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cunorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear cunorbust,

What a lovely surprise, thank you, It's so great to be appreciated! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at our little spot here. I like your breakdown on each element so thank you for your honesty! We hope that you will make the trek back down to Mazatlan from Arkansas as we'd love to have you back here with us. Thanks for the shout out on the small infinity pool being "plenty large for 8 room hotel". We too agree that it is of sufficient size for the small property that we've got!

Wishing you the best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is an amazing place. I would say it is one of the absolute best places I have ever stayed in my life. It was an old, old building that was renovated by the owners and they did an incredible job. The setting - near the old part of Mazatlan up a hill and right across from the ocean, is amazing. It is quiet, peaceful, beautiful, authentic Mazatlan.

The hotel is incredible. Small, quaint, charming, tasteful - you can see for yourself from the pictures. The swimming pool isn't really super functional as it is so small but it is beautiful. We practiced yoga on the patio area facing the ocean...

There is a great restaurant. Good food. There was even a saxaphone player playing at the hotel the evening when we arrived. Good selection of books in the hotel library. Nice common areas to sit and chill and hang out.

We stayed in the cheapest room, the Alma room, which although it was nice and spacious, it was quite dark. I don't know if I would want to stay in that room again for an extended period?

The hotel is close to restaurants and very close to the main plaza in the old town. In my opinion, this is a far, far better location than the other end of town (the zona dorada - which is the touristy end). I have stayed at three other hotels in Mazatlan before over the years and this is by far the most outstanding. Last time I didn't stay here and I wish I had. The only downside is though the beach here is nice and very swimmable, the beach at the zona dorada end of town is a bit nicer.

All in all, if in Mazatlan...this is really a wonderful place....this would be an awesome location for an event/honeymoon/romantic getaway/to recuperate from life/to write a novel/to have an alternate trip to Mazatlan where you don't stay in an all inclusive and stuff yourself silly at a buffet every night...

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
9  Thank untiligettobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

To untiligettobali,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate your honesty and have made some changes to the lighting in the Alma Room since you have last visited. It is a room that unfortunately does not face the ocean so we try to be creative with ways to bring more natural light into the room. We hope that you come back soon and check out our updated library book selections as many news books have made their way to our bookcases.

Come back soon!
Sophia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We arrived to this little hotel, not really knowing what to expect. We read the reviews, all of them very positive, but you always wonder, is it true? Do reviewers get a kickback, what's up? Well, no kickbacks, just a fabulous place with wonderful staff and owners. Chris and Conchita are the warmest hosts you will ever find. Mari and Miguel are great as was everyone there.
English is spoken well by the staff, you shouldn't have any concerns regarding communications. The food, wine and beer are all excellent and presented very well. We caught fish while there the chef prepared it so well, we wished we'd kept all the fish and ate it every day, it was fabulous. Everything is fresh! The shrimp, to die for! I had a steak, it was prepared just the way I like.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, ours, the Lucy room was huge. I usually can't sleep the first night in a hotel, not a problem at all here. There is a bit of an echo, but that's the only negative regarding the rooms. The mattress is not the typical rock you get in most Mexican hotels.
Some may find the pool on the terrace small, it probably is. The weather was cool during our stay so we didn't use it. It was nice to sit on the terrace and watch the world go by, especially the pelican fishing down below.
The historic district is in walking distance, a block, and the Malecon is across a lightly traveled street. We walked everywhere, to the cathedral, mercado, opera house, and several squares as well as to the area around the lighthouse. Nice walks and when you need a break, cerveza is easy to find and cheap ($2.50 a six pack at the grocery just around the corner!).
We had an awesome time and hope to come back soon. Oh, they are going to get mountain bikes, manana! Those would be nice to use on the malecon.
We went through Mari to get a boat charter, no problem and very reasonable. The crew was awesome and we met Miguel, the first mate in town a day or so later, he stopped to say hello. The staff also arranged the cab for the trip back to the airport. The price is $29 (M$310) and is fixed.
We had no problems with the current unrest in Mexico, we saw lots of grafitti and the city needs to do something about it, but we felt totally safe and were out every night.
We are not much for big hotels but zona dorada is a short taxi ride away if that's what you like. If you want peace and quiet, romance and the opportunity to reconnect with your partner and have the opportunity to meet some awesome people, including other guests, you really should give this a try.
On the other hand, if you like crowds, feeling like cattle going off to slaughter, feel like standing in line to feed at the buffet trough, this isn't your place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank muyconsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dearest muyconsada,

You are hilarious! Thank you for the great review and funny comments about the long buffet lines and "cattle going off to slaughter" remarks. We appreciate when people point out the special simplicities we have to offer our guests in their reviews and you definitely hit the mark. We hope that we will get to see you again soon and would love to treat you to a drink (or two!), the next time you come by. Your subject line alone resonates for us so thank you for the kind words and advice to other travelers.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

i'll say it once more - this place is wonderful. this is truly one of the most elegant and serene boutique hotels i've ever stayed at. it's located in the quiet and almost residential area of mazatlan - away from the noise and craze of the golden zone. it's *beautifully* designed and decorated by the owners themselves - and the attention to detail is outstanding. the space is so well utilized and comfortable, you almost don't want to venture outside at all. the entire hotel is very relaxing and the staff caters to all your needs. the rooms are very spacious (i believe there are only 8 rooms total), all styled with a very sophisticated, yet simple, look. the resto inside the hotel serves delicious food, and the owners are around in the evening to chat and share a glass of wine with. they are incredibly friendly and helpful people. i visited with my sister and we were both just amazed at how beautiful and well run this hotel was. it was wonderful to spend the days sight-seeing, and then step back into the lobby of casa lucila and have a delicious cup of coffee or glass of wine - and relax on the third floor patio overlooking the beach. i think the best thing about casa lucila is that that despite how luxurious this place is, it's not pretentious at all. nothing was overboard or extreme, as you typically find in the five stars. the owners hit it perfectly all around.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rjverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Dear rjverma,

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review. Chris and Conchita enjoy getting to know each and every guest and when guests give them fantastic shout-outs, we are all humbled. We agree that we do not want to be pretentious...Ever. Please come back and visit us again soon. We hope to see you and your sister again.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This was the 3rd hotel we stayed at in Mazatlan for our honeymoon. We did the big resort, the no-frills Stone Island, and ended in town with this beautiful hotel. It was actually October 2009 but there is no option for that under "Date of Stay." It was just perfect. Everything was luxurious, private and tasteful. Views from balconies amazing. Massage was relaxing. Staff was extremely helpful and the owner was on premise and very friendly. Perfect place to see the city from. Wish it was my home here in New York.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Dear vlanyc,
Thank you for the kind words! We loved having you stay with us back in 2009 and we hope you can make the trek back down to Mazatlan from NYC. We are so happy you took the time to give us a shout out and we'd like to give you a shout out back your way.
Stay with us again and we'll pretend it's your honeymoon all over again.
Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews