We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn
Save
You added Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Our stay at this B & B was our first taste of Mexico. Our last vacation had been camping in Hawaii, a return trip for me and the first for my hubsand. I was initially resistant to exploring Mexico, preferring usually to camp and be outdoors. However, long story short, we're planning our return trip to Mazatlan. Jim and Candace were an integral part of this decision.Not only did they provided us a safe, clean, and beautiful place to stay, they continually found ways to help us make the most of our time.
Our room was very clean, the view was wonderful, and the location was ideal. We spent a lot of hours walking from the B&B to places like the Gold zone, the lighthouse, the historic district. We felt extremely safe walking to all areas and during our time spent there. The close proximity to the historic district was a real treat. We spent most nights down in the Plaza listening to live music and enjoying a variety of wonderful restaurants.
We looked forward to breakfast.The food and coffee were great and the conversations with Candace and Jim a real highlight.
Finally, I particularly enjoyed that I was not sharing my space, even if the B&B would have been full, with a crowd of people.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viveiros2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage la Prairie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This was our second stay at this bed and breakfast. Two consecutive New Years in Mazatlan with The Ocean Front Inn. The Inn is well located close to Old Town and a short cab ride to the Gold Zone. The property is ocean front. We have choen room 6 both visits, located on the second level fronting the ocean. We like that room as it's adjacent to the living room, dining room and kitchen. Daily maid service keeps this place spotless. There is also a balcony to enjoy the sun and sunsets. This visit we enjoyed a heated pool, too. The hospitality of the owners adds much to our stay. Jim and Candice Penn are very welcoming and versed in what is happening around town. Enjoyable breakfasts were served on the patio with ocean views. Mazatlan is full of happy, friendly people. We felt safe throughtout our stay. The cruise ships are not stopping here. Local business has adjusted prices to attract business. Taxi's and Pulmonia's are readily available. Our second stay was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the ocean front are available if a quiet sleep is required. If an ocean view is req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cannuck55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Skip the "zona dorada" and stay with Candace and Jim Penn in their lovely and comfortable B & B located within walking distance of the historic area. We traveled to Mazatlan years ago and stayed in the zona dorada which was "ok", but this stay was superb and we plan on returning. Candace and Jim share their vast knowledge of Mazatlan, and are delightful hosts just as everyone says. Our room was dreamy with a fridge included, and a patio overlooking the ocean.
We even had access to the kitchen to cook when we didn't want to eat out. We felt safe walking around, even after dark, although we never came back too late.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This B and B is just the best. Hosts are generous wirh their time and information concerning Mazatlan .The breakfasts are better than a resort and much more relaxing. There are lots of little extras A REAL REFRIG IN THE ROOM etc. The Inn is just a wonderful place away from home ,from the spacious terraces to the outstanding sunsets. We keep extending our time here each year. Dagmar and Bill

Room Tip: We pick room #5 because of location and it has 2 beds!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just got back from our 2 week "belated" honeymoon. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay - Jim and Candace made us feel right at home. We loved the location - we walked everywhere and never once feared for our safety. Words can't express what a great time we had so I won't even try but...we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room # 6 is our favorite - we had a magnificent ocean view to watch the sunrise and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncgirl3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have just had a wonderful 4 nights at the Ocean Front Inn. Candace and JIm are fabulous hosts and were helpful with restaurants, places to visit and things to do. We had just recently arrived from NZ for a month long stay in Mexico and we cold not have picked a better place. In fact we stayed an extra night because we enjoyed it so much. Honestly I cannot say enough good things about the Ocean Front Inn.
The B&B is located on the malecon and straight across the road from the beach. It is very central and we were able to walk most places. Taxis are very cheap and drive by on a regular basis so getting anywhere is not a problem. We walked downtown during the day and through the market which is an experience. We felt safe the whole time.
In the evenings we walked along the malecon and there was always something to see - from the vendors to the street performers and the boys diving off the rock. Although from time to time you are approached by people to buy things, it is never intimidating or rude and again we felt very safe even after dark.
Mazatlan was very warm so it is better to get out and about during early in the morning or later at night and enjoy the pool at the b&b in the meantime. Candace and Jim have soda and beer available on an honesty basis (you pay $1 per can) which is very handy. Candace even went to the trouble of finding out when our beloved All Blacks were playing, what channel it was on and letting us watch it on their wide screen telly :)
The rooms are a great size and number 6 has a great view. There are also bikes available to use and we rode up and down the malecon earlier in the morning when alot of people are out exercising.
All in all a fantastic place to stay and Mazatlan is a lovely city to visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 looking out over the ocean is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Bound Canuck
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We visited Jim & Candace at the Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn a couple years ago and vowed to return with friends. This past week we were there with two other couples and had another incredible and relaxing experience. Jim was a perfect host, and gave us great advice and helped out whenever he was asked. This trip, the six of us logged many hours in the pool! Everything from the safe & clean rooms, to the proximity to the historic district, to the beautiful Mexican sunshine - we loved it! Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.6 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn

Property: Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn
Address: Calle Paseo Claussen 127 | Col. Los Pinos, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
unique ocean front property with 6 rooms, 6 baths. Newly udated & remodeled with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean, Mazatlan's islands and coastline. Close to Olas Altas & Historic District. Steps away from walking or biking along the ocean for miles on the famous malecon. Easy beach access. Multiple terraces for sunbathing, relaxing or enjoying incredible sunsets. Fully air conditioned, computer & wifi available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing