We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a lovely quiet getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hotel is a lovely quiet getaway.”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here for the month of January 2011 and it was just great. The owners Michel and Patricia are wonderful hosts and this lasted the whole month, not just the initial welcome.

We particularly liked the staff, many of whom have been there for years. The hotel has a hill location with 360 degree views and a lovely pool area. Every unit is a suite setup and many regulars stay a month or two every winter. Theft of valuables is non-existent.

There is no restaurant on site and it is a 10 min walk (2 min cab ride & cab rides are cheap) to the main thoroughfare. This insulates you from the noise and traffic.

Our only minor gripe was the need to maintain standards: the suite appliances, TV's etc. were good in some suites and poor in others. So, Michel, get to work!

So stay here, you will enjoy yourself.

Clive & Diane - Victoria, BC, Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
51
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

spent 2 weeks in 3 bedroom villa. very clean. Pool area has great views, with laid back feel. Friendly staff. A couple of minutes walk down the hill to a nice cove beach, but a 5 minute cab to one of the nicest beaches we have come across. There are plenty of restaurants and pub style places close buy as well. Just ask the front desk person for info on what your interested in and you will have all you need to make an informed decision. Excellent weather and warm ocean. We will definitely be returning next year, same time, same place! P.s. If you are a golfer, Las Hadas golf course is an excellent course, not easy, but beautiful and challenging, and only minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Razzzor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

First of all I picked this place due to great reviews here. I was NOT disappointed. I stayed at room 215, which was a bit more expensive than the other rooms BUT worth all the money. We had a great view over the Santiago Peninsula, it was clean and there was a kitchen so we could make our own food if we did not want to go out. We had our 2 year old daughter a long with us, so it was nice that we were not forced to go out eating.

The staff - especially the two owners (Canadian/mexican couple) was very gentle. Called the cap, when we needed it, said they could take care of our daughter if we wanted to go out for a romantic dinner and had a lot og suggestions good suggestions of what to do.

We did not feel comfortable sending them our credit card information through mail, which is what you have to do if you want to live here. You can fax and call them as well. But they said no problem and we made the reservation without giving personal information. The next time we return - beacuse it 100 % we gonna return one day- we will not doubt whether we should pay or not. These guys are trust worthy and we hop to be back soon.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Villas Los Angeles. The owners, Michel and Patricia are so darn friendly and helpful and they are on the premises a lot. The hotel is small which makes it easy to get to know your neighbors if you so choose. It has a beautiful pool. We would definitely stay here again! It is a bit out of the way so we did have to take a cab everywhere but we didn't find that a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

a 10-15min walk to one small beach ("audiencia") dominated by an all-inclusive hotel.but drive,bus ,or taxi to restaurants,stores and other beaches. nice management, but this place is 20 years old, tired, and in nee..d of a major upgrade.... R@K ...canada

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron42154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed her in early April and had never been to Manzanillo prior to this trip. We looked at a few different properties and decided on Villa Los Angeles after seeing a lot of other positive reviews and having very timely and responsive email correspondence in our decision process.

The hotel sits up on a hill offering amazing views on two sides of the water. Although not right on the beach, there is a great breeze that keeps things comfortable and the pool was in great shape our entire trip. The one challenge about the location is there isn't a lot of food options in the immediate vicinity, however a reasonable walk or a quick and cheap cab ride were easy enough to take care of our food options. The room we stayed in had a full kitchen so we were also able to eat a few meals in our villa. You should also know this isn't a big fancy resort with all that comes with that, it is small, good for families, and not overly crowded.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the managers were there to answer any questions and make our trip as comfortable as possible. Having never been to Manzanillo before, I had a ton of questions, and they never seem put out by me always asking about different food options, different recreation options, shopping, etc... The hotel was also good about trying to send us to places where the staff spoke English. Although I speak some Spanish, my girlfriend was comfortable going to places where she could also speak with the waiters.

Story: I had the misfortune of getting what I later found out to be bronchitis basically the first day I got to Mexico, likely something that I had just contracted right before leaving the states and hitting me within the first 24 hours of my vacation. I had a fever of ~103F the 2nd night and thought I would have to go home. It took me a little while to realize I was sick as I was and when I finally figured out I needed some help and likely some medication, I realized how lucky I was to be staying at Villa Los Angeles. When I told Michel (the manager) what was going on and that I needed some advice on a pharmacy or otherwise, he said he could get me in to see a doctor, at 7pm at night. Well, he actually drove me to the doctor in his car, waited for me to get in, drove me to the pharmacia to get a prescription and brought me back to the hotel, almost 2.5 hours of his precious time! He saved my vacation. To top it off, I bought a huge word carving later in the week and he helped me package it up for the plane ride home. By the end of the vacation I felt like I had a new friend in Mexico.

Bottom line, if you don't need a 5-star resort (and be careful because some of these are over-rated) and you want a smaller hotel, with a friendly staff, don't mind walking 15-20 minutes here or there, Villa Los Angeles can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altabird75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Great hotel, clean, the personnel is very friendly and helpful. The view is awesome. If you're going for a real break this is the place, quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicatcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#16 of 53 in Manzanillo
118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Los Angeles

Property: Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Address: Calle La Cima S/N | Peninsula De Santiago, Manzanillo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Los Angeles, the only hotel on the Peninsula of Santiago with a panoramic view of the Sierra Madres and the Ocean, see spectacular sunrises; see the incredible sunsets from our unique vantage point. All 26 villas and hotel suites have terraces except for one, to take advantage of the spectacular vistas and tropical breezes. Includes fully equipped kitchens, hi speed internet in every room, one of the most beautiful pools in Manzanillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villas Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing