We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Karmina(Manzanillo)
$256
$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Cove Inn(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Hadas By Brisas(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$81
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Manzanillo(Manzanillo)
$143
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Marbella(Manzanillo)
$36
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colonial(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Posada(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$45
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
97
25
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
25
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfellow guestsmichelaudienciasuitevacation
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 128 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This is the first time that we stayed at anything other than one of the major hotels in the area and i was so shocked to find out that this place existed for the price. We, my family and I were so pleased at how well the hotel is maintained and how beautiful a site we had. There were no bothersome timeshare reps bothering us at every outing and the staff (Socorro and her crew) were so polite and professional. Muchas Gracias de Jorge, Lucy y familia.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgeopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The Villas Los Angeles exceeded all our expectations. The villa was comfortable, clean, had amazing views & wonderful breezes. This was our first experience trying a long term stay. We stayed for the month of January and loved every minute. We enjoyed making our own meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Or, if we decided to eat out, Michel recommended great restaurants close by. We can't emphasis enough how wonderful the owners Michel & Patricia treat their guests. They are personally on site to answer questions and see to any of their guests needs. After I sprained my ankle (a little golf cart incident) Patricia insisted on taking me to her doctor. She made sure I received the best medical treatment. You just can't get that special service and peace of mind from a large hotel. No hotel can be the best without good staff. They went out of their way to look after all of our needs. This hotel is a must viist for their location, rooms, pool, staff & owners. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We had visited Manzanillo last April and decided this was the perfect place for our first "snowbird" experience. We chose Villas Los Angeles based on Trip Advisor reviews - our thanks to all those who contribute. We booked the hotel after emailing with Michel who patiently answered all our questions.

It was our pleasure to stay at Villas Los Angeles for several weeks this winter. The hotel was everything we were looking for in an extended stay. We were aware it is not located on the beach but the views, breezes and peacefulness was more important to us. As in previous posts .. it is a ten minute walk downhill to Audiencia Bay or a ten minute walk to a bus (50 pesos) to go to the long stretch of beach at Santiago Bay. A taxi to Santiago Bay is approximately 70 pesos

The hotel rooms, grounds, pool and even the laundry room are immaculate. Patricia & Michel's staff work very hard to maintain a standard that would exceed most expectations. All the staff is helpful and courteous. The on site day manager Socorro helped English speaking guests arrange taxi's, tours, restaurant reservations, hair appointments, massages and anything else we needed. She is fantastic!

The rooms in the new section have balcony's facing west for a perfect sunset view. The rooms in the original buildings have patios facing the pool and inland or to the east for fantastic sunrises. The rooms in the original buildings have all been undated. They spacious and very comfortable. The kitchens are fully equipped. We had a 4 burner gas stove, full sized fridge and freezer, microwave, toaster, blender, kettle, a wide array of pots, pans, dishes, glasses and utensils. The water is safe to drink from the tap but they also provide a 5 gallon jug of bottled water in each room.

Guests staying less than a week have daily maid service. Those staying longer have twice a week maid service. All linens,towels and soaps are provided. But bring your own beach towels as they were not provided.

Michel and Partricia are both hands on in the operation of this hotel. They know their guests by name and make every effort to insure their stay is a wonderful experience. We saw first hand how they helped their guests in times of trouble.

The pool is like an oasis. No loud music over speakers and no 3pm Bingo. Just a beautiful, peaceful place to relax and unwind. The barbeque area has 1 propane and 2 charcoal barbeques. There is a covered area ajacent with a number of tables and chairs which many guests used for lunch or dinner.

We did not find it necessary to have a car. The bus is 50 pesos anywhere and the taxi's are reasonable. The hotel does not have a restautrant or bar but ammentities are fairly close at hand. For grocery shopping we walked to the stores and usually took a taxi back. Commercial Mexicana was 35-40 pesos, Walmart (they have a fully grocery dept) was 40 pesos and Soriana was 40 pesos. A taxi from the Santigo daily market area was 45 pesos. A 5 minute walk down the hill takes you to Kiosko which is a convenience store similar to 7-Eleven, Mac's, or ABC.

The Villas Los Angeles is a perfect place for self sufficent travellers.
We have not repeated a vacation in 30 years of travel. But we enjoyed our time at Villas Los Angeles so much we are already booked for next year. Thank you Patricia & Michel for making our stay feel like we were at home. You have a very special place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotting518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

My wife and I have stayed here twice before. The second time My mom joined us. We love it there, charming place, very clean, super friendly staff and the owners have constantly gone out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
Patricia and Mike can advise/recommend restaurants to eat out at. It's very affordable to eat out every night. A party of 6 ate out and it only cost us $400 peso (about $40 canadian). You can also cook up your own meals in your suite for a nice relaxing evening in. The cost of buying groceries is very reasonable.
I've never rented a car there as we've gotten around quite well using taxi's or the buses. You need to be a local to drive there...very fast and chaotic, but there's order to that kind of chaos. Lot's of beaches to go to and my wife and I would usually walk there. The local's are incredibly friendly and helpful.
This isn't an all inclusive resort...it has much more charm than a big hotel. Where else would the owners address you by name! Nobody harassing you for a time share opportunity.
I thought that the pool was very nice, very refreshing. The only decision we had to make every day was what kind of day was it going to be..."Beach Day" or "Pool Day". That's how a vacation should be.
The big market on Tuesday's presents many opportunities for shopping. (Hint, always offer half of what they want to sell it to you for and don't go higher than 60% of the asking price.) It's half the fun of buying.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dailytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We booked to stay at Villas Los Angeles from 19th-27th Dec 2008.
On our arrival we were shown to our room overlooking the pool area- we love the evening sun and this room had sun during the day,so no effort was spared by Michel and Patricia to relocate us to a Penthouse room overlooking the beautiful bay ,with glorious evening sun and amazing sunsets.
The accommodation was very spacious,clean and well arranged and drinking water supplied.
Everything was very comfortable and when you are 60+ you need comfort!
Michel marked our card for local restaurants and food shops- one is just down the hill and well stocked and larger supermarkets are on the main street.
It is a 10 minute walk to local restaurants-our favourite was La Cantina.The owner spoke good english and the food was excellent and very reasonable.There are excellent restaurants to suit all pockets inc L Recife set on a cliff top which is a must.
If you are a non fitty you may need a taxi to come back up the hill which only costs 20-30 pesos.Taxis are very reasonable.

We cannot say enough in favour of Michel and Patricia,as if we were staying with family-wonderful people.
Cocktail hour overlooking the bay and watching the sunset with other guests was fun.
We did have a hire car,which we would recommend as it helped with the shopping and we were able to visit other towns such as Colima (the old capital) which was very interesting.
The temperature in late December was lovely and wonderful to laze around the pool which was supplied with comfortable sun beds,tables and chairs and the essential parasols.
The pool is beautifully kept and the plants delightful.
The property is not on the beach-it requires a shortwalk of 5-10 minutes-however with such a lovely pool who needs a beach.
Hotel Los Angeles was just what we needed,excellent spacious accommodation,lovely situation in a quiet area so we could relax.
We now have great friends in Mexico-thank you so much Michel and Patricia.
Phillip & Susan Cambridge UK

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews