We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Garden Oasis in Manzanillo”
Review of Ola Brisa Gardens

Ola Brisa Gardens
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: While overlooking the Santiago Bay, enjoy a personalized tour of Mexico's premier, Pacific coast, multi-terraced botanical gardens - showcasing palms, plants and flora from all over the world. Please, email or call us to scheduled an appointment, for your personalized botanical garden tour. These tours must scheduled in advance. Tours are given Monday - Saturday at 9a.m or 9:30a.m.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went to visit Tommy and Patty after a recommendation from friends. After driving to the top of the hill we came across the smiling face of Patty waiting for us at the gate with her husband Tommy. We were warmly welcomed in and offered a mug of coffee whilst we had a chat about some of the history that got them to where they are today. We then began the tour of some amazing specimens of palms and other plants from all over the world.

Tommy shared his vast knowledge with us and answered any questions we had and cleared up a few doubts I had about my own garden! It is amazing to see how many plants have been planted and are thriving together in what is such a relatively small space. We learnt that you should not cut the palm fronds off a tree whilst they are still green, only when they are brown otherwise you will inhibit the girth of the tree and make it less stable as it grows higher.

The quality of specimens that are growing here are up there with the best I have seen, I think that the RHS would be proud to have any of the over 80 palms on display at Kew Gardens in London!

Thank you Tommy and Patty for a wonderful morning and for becoming our new friends, I hope we will be able to bring many people to you to share the fantastic space you have created.

Regards,

Dan & Ruth

Thank danpatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyClarkson, Owner at Ola Brisa Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Dan & Ruth:

What kind and gracious comments – thank you so very much.

Interestingly, the Kew Gardens are on our “Gotta’ go to” list. Now THERE’S a garden!!!!!!

It was, indeed, our pleasure to have folks such as you who are truly interested in learning more about tropical botanical specimens.

We look forward to your return.

Tommy and Patty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our visit was actually in the Spring of 2012. Tommy and Patty have cultivated an absolutely first class experience for folks with an interest in gardening and horticulture. The knowledge and experience they share so well with their guests is impressive! The view and the atmosphere alone are worth your time. We highly recommend a visit.

Thank RickandBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyClarkson, Owner at Ola Brisa Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Rich,

Thanks so very much for your kind review!! It does mean a lot to us and is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently visited the Ola Brisas tropical gardens for a tour and wonderful brunch which we purchased as a fundraiser for the Santiago foundation. We were greeted by our enthusiastic and friendly hosts, Patty and Tommy, and treated to a very interesting and informative time in the beautiful gardens. Tommy shared his passion and extensive knowledge with us - it is hard to believe that where the gardens now stand was a dry and barren hillside only a few years ago. We now know a whole lot more about a variety of palms and other fascinating plants. Plants grow and change so quickly in this almost perfect climate so we are looking forward to a return visit next season!

Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyClarkson, Owner at Ola Brisa Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi Kathleen,

What a wonderful review!! Our heart felt thanks and it was our pleasure to have the group up for the Santiago Foundation Brunch. Gary, Susan and Joyce always do such a great job in preparing the meal.

Again - thanks for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a wonderful time with Tommy and Patty Clarkson touring their garden and taking a tour with Tommy. Calling his vast array of plants 'a garden', really, is not doing it justice. Tommy has an incredible selection of palm trees and other plants from all around the world, that is no joke. He has built a terraced walkway from his home down the hill with plants from all around the world. We also took an Eco Tour with Tommy which was a lot of fun. Since it was just him, Colleen and I we took his convertible which made sight seeing that much easier. He drove us inland a couple of hours and we hiked up to a water fall that was pretty cool and very cold!!! It really took your breath away when you hopped in. Tommy is very knowledgeable and great fun to hang out with. We will surely visit them again when we return. P.S. have Patty make you a Mango Margarita, they are great!!!

Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyClarkson, Owner at Ola Brisa Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Jay,

You and Colleen are the best!!! Thanks so much for the awesome review of both the gardens and the Waterfall Tour.

I am so glad that you were able to pick up your pictures from Drop Box.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a must see when visiting Manzanillo. Very interesting, entertaining and educating. These folks are doing great work while providing a wonderful service for long term enjoyment as well as education. The palms from around the world are magnificent!

Thank crlundtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyClarkson, Owner at Ola Brisa Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Christine,

Thank you so much for your most kind review!! I am so sorry that I missed your group on Tuesday.

Again - thanks so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola Brisa Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ola Brisa Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing