We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Perla Negra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rancho Perla Negra
Save
You added El Rancho Perla Negra to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 24 Manzanillo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a wonderful 8-day stay at peaceful Perla Negra! We used this hideaway while visiting our retired relative who lives in Manzanilla. The ranch is a short drive into town. We had full run of the facility, including the kitchen, pool and lounge. The wireless Internet on the covered patio was great!

Our hosts, Terri, Lorena and David made us feel like part of the family. "Mi casa es su casa!"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rancho Perla Negra is one of those little gems you don't really want to share with anyone else, lest it become popular. My wife and I stayed here for a couple days. What a beautiful place! The sunsets are to die for. Truly a place for real relaxation. David and Lorena were just super!

Room Tip: Go for the large room on the end. Lots of windows and fresh breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairy-bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We'd been travelling for 5 months and had just had 6 nights in Mexico City, so La Perla was the perfect place to wind down before heading back to snowy Canada. From the beginning, they went that bit extra; the manager, Lorena, came to meet us off the bus at 7am and, after we'd unloaded our bags and settled in, she took us around the mercado introducing us to some of the stallholders she knows. There is a well-equipped kitchen, and having breakfast, lunch or dinner on the terrace overlooking the ocean is a real treat. The terrace is a perfect temperature with a cool breeze off the ocean, no matter how hot it may be outside the shade of the terrace. I had a couple of snoozy afternoons in the hammock there, and there's also the pool if you really need to cool down. The terrace is also an absolutely perfect spot for a sundowner; ask David nicely and he'll mix you one of his margaritas. Careful: if you have more than a couple of these, don't make any plans for the next day! The rooms are nothing fancy but functional and clean with a fan or, as another reviewer says, it's quiet enough to just leave your window open at night. You'll need a car if you want to go a bit further afield although David and Lorena were so kind about giving us lifts on a couple of occasions including to the bus station to wish us a fond farewell. If we're ever Manzanillo way again, we'll definitely look up La Perla for more of the laid-back hospitality, and generally chilled atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petehancock1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

David and Lorena provide a relaxing, friendly B&B with lots of advice on where to dine and activities to try. We came to Rancho Perla Negra to relax - what a great place we found!
The sunsets are absolutely stunning! During the day the ocean breezes provide a comfortable setting on the patio and by the pool. We loved the fact that we had a kitchen to cook in, our own refrigerator and a grill for our use. We mostly ate in and went to the mercado for our supplies. The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable, great oceans breezes cool the nights naturally - No AC needed - it is so quiet that you can sleep with the windows open every night.
I highly recommend the Rancho if you stay in the Manzanillo/Colima area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabund51453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

All I have to say is that I've never been disapointed in staying at ElRancho Perla Negra and that has been for over four years now. David you and your assistant manger lorena were the best that any one could ask for. You both were very attentive to our needs and enjoyed the conversation we had on the patio. You talk about relaxing if you wanted to be or off you could go to town and enjoy the night life and have a great dinner. You have a very safe place at the ranch,and at no mater what time we got back. My friend Alan came down to the ranch with me for the first time and we left our wives at home and he was so at awh with the beauty of the ranch and quiteness of it all. My friend had a great time and has said he will return to my paradise often. I don't know if that is a good thing for me or a bad call on my part for showing this part of manzanillo to him. Oh well we can't keep our friend away forever. Take care David and Lorena untill next year. Don & Alan

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonfromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

If you are looking for the real Mexico without the tourists or the traps to go with, then this is for you.
Just simple quite accommodations with great people, and the million dollar view all to yourself.
You can't beat the price with Dave as the most attending host, and Lorena there cooking up some killer authentic food. And the music there to set any mood you could want.

Dennis & Pam, Roseburg,OR

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingupsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Altho we are US Citizens who live in this wonderful country of Mexico, we like everyone else enjoy our vacations. Rancho Perla Negra is at the top of our favorites calling us to return time and again mostly in part of it's congenial host David who is always attentive to his guests wishes. The ambiance of this tranquil getaway will have you booking your next reservation before you depart.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ybgillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
5.7 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#5 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#8 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zar Manzanillo
Zar Manzanillo
#29 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
4.5 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#4 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Perla Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Perla Negra

Property: El Rancho Perla Negra
Address: Carr. Cuyutlan-Manzanillo Km 5, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing