We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Experiencing Warmth Inside and Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepes Hideaway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pepes Hideaway to your Saves list
Pepes Hideaway
67 Camino Don Diego, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ROMANTIC GETAWAY-BOOK NOW
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experiencing Warmth Inside and Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband my 2 daughters and I have been to Pepe's Hideaway a dozen times and
each time it is a magicial experience. We went to celebrate my daughter's 22nd birthday and we all agreed it was her best ever. In fact we all felt, even though it was her birthday, each of us got a wonderful gift. Pepe and his charming staff customized every detail, from my
daughters favorite color to her favorite food. And I have never seen so many pinatas!
The accommodations are terrific, the views spectacular, the food excellent and the Margaritas flow
freely. An amazing value for all that and more. I would return tomorrow.

Room Tip: My husband and I have always stayed in #4. It is right off the pool and has a sunset view second to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meaarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    7
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
94
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

One word.... fantastic. Food was excellent, Pepe and his staff was unbelievable!!! Bugs yes the villas are surround by vegataion what do you exspect. Eaten alive, not even close. Ever here of OFF!!! Scenery just stunning, food better than most of the restaurants I have ever eaten at. If you want to be spoiled what are you waiting for!!!! Head to Pepes and relax and enjoy what some poeple only dream of. Would I go again..... positively but for 2 weeks. Thanks again to Speedy and his staff for this excellent holiday. Jody-Karen Calgary Alberta Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jody k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came to Pepe's looking to relax and that is what we did. The Villa's were amazing and coffee was deilivered to your villa, which we enjoyed out on our deck every morning overlooking the pacific.

Pepe's is gorgeous and scenic. They have beautiful birds, 2 monkey's and 3 really cute dogs> Pepe's itself is right on the cliffside and each of the 7 huts has a great view of the ocean.

The Villa's are roomy with an oceanfront balcony. Bathroom area was clean. The service and food is excellent, Loved the bacon!!! You won't want to go out to eat, the food they serve is home cooking and they treat you very special. Speedy and his son, Juan were genuinely great people and great cooks. Pepe is a great person also and we had the pleasure of dining with him a few nights we were there. It truly was exactly the vacation we wanted and needed.

Spending the day on the private beach, equipped with the cooler they pack for you and later they bring lunch out to you...was really great> we were very impressed with all the staff did for us. The Margaritta's are the best is Mexico. We have decided we will be returning to Pepe's every year. If you stay at Pepe's expect to be spoiled because you will be>

Room Tip: we like villa's 2 & 3 but if you have trouble with stairs villa 4 is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

spectacular setting. Unfortunately, the bugs and mosquitoes ate us alive. the constant reverberating beat from the disco of a nearby hotel spoiled the atmosphere. Food was excellent and service very friendly. My wife and I were booked for 8 nights and left after three.

Room Tip: hard to beat room number #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe3436, Owner at Pepes Hideaway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
The excessive noise was due to "Spring Break" and "Easter Week" when everyone seems to pump up the volume until the wee hours in the morning.It happens once a year for about four days.We instruct all clients to put two floor fans in front of there bed to blow away the mosquitos if they feel they will have a problem. We rarely have problems with using this system.Out of 130 reviews, you never see the mosquito issues mentioned. I am happy to hear they liked the food and service! We are sorry, but unfortunately have no control of "Spring Break".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

some vacations are fun! Go, Go, Go. See and do. Other vacations are all about the relaxation. that was Pepe's.

We booked this trip a mere 2 weeks before we went. Found the place on Tripadvisor. I wasnt looking for a hotel, as i hate mega-hotels but this was anything but that. 7 palapas/huts on a cliffside overlooking the pacific.

It was everything we were looking for. the highlights
1. The location. Inside a gated community in Manzanilla. While the city itself was underwhelming, this little community called "la Punta" was gorgeous and scenic. Pepe's itself is right on the cliffside and each of the 7 huts affords a great view of the ocean.
2. the accomodations. Each palapa was lovely. its not modern and it hasnt been updated since it was built...but it works. A huge room with oceanfront balcony. Bathroom area was clean. If you want modern, this isnt Pepes.
3. the service and food. they treat you like special guests. Great food, friendly every step of the way. Speedy and his son, Juan were genuinely great people.
4. the experience. We wanted to be together as a family. We did this. It truly was exactly what we needed.

highlights
spending the day on the private beach club, equipped with the cooler they pack for you and then the lunch they bring out to you...felt like royalty

every morning, coffee and tea already waiting for us on the balcony

Meals were amazing. Loved the bacon!!!

not much more to stay...we like to go to different places but the kids (and my wife and I) have decided that we will be returning to Pepes sooner rather than later

Room Tip: ask for any of the 3 rooms on other side of pool If going with others...the 2 (or 3) rooms neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights just before new year, and it was amazing, they just spoiled you! all the time. I was pregnant by then and every morning, we found fresh coffee at the balcony (decaf for me and normal for my husband... yes, every morning!)... Speedy is the best! his homely cooking sooo good!.
It was unforgettable, you actually sleep listening to the waves the whole night! Do you like nature?? well, this is for you... If you are looking for a private, romantic, and quiet holidays, this is what you need!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idaniux1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at Pepe's three times now. Each visit has been terrific. It is the place to unwind, relax, and get pampered by Speedy and the staff. We will certainly return. Many thanks to Pepe and everyone who have made our trips so nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfCuchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#6 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#5 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
#11 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#12 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepes Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepes Hideaway

Property: Pepes Hideaway
Address: 67 Camino Don Diego, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pepes Hideaway ... a private nature reserve in Manzanillo, Mexico offering accommodations in luxury thatched-roof bungalows with spectacular views and awesome sunsets - all nestled in a tropical garden of giant coconut palm trees, towering cacti, brilliant bougainvillea, and producing banana tress. Pepe's believes in the adage that the land does not belong to us, we belong to the land. The accommodations are picture perfect palapas (thatched roof bungalows) with 20 foot ceilings, a sitting patio, native equipales (hand made chairs and tables) to take in the awesome sunsets, the nature show in sea in front of you, the magnificent coastline and distant mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pepes Hideaway Manzanillo
Pepes Hideaway Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing