We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a taste of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pepes Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pepes Hideaway
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a taste of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Palm trees in front, the rocks below, and the pacific as far as the eyes can see...our view from bungalow 3. Pepe's was our last stop on a 10 day road trip from Mexico City. Upon arriving in Manzanillo, an industrious port town in the stat of Colima, I was skeptical about what Pepe's could really offer, but once entering La Punta, the secluded peninsula where Pepe's is located, all reservations slipped away. What makes Pepe's truly spectacular is the fact that the beautiful Palapas (the huts or bungalows) meld in with the beautiful landscape instead of intruding like most of the architecture in the area. Oh yeah, and the shower in our Bungalow has to be the best shower I've ever been in....you'll have to see for yourself =). The proper is open and airy, with plenty of outdoor space, a hot tub with a view and a lovely swimming pool. A beautiful private beach is only a 10 minute walk, though you can walk down to the sea and walk along the rocks right on Pepe's property.

Pepe's is also all inclusive, which for me instantly sounded like a cheesy Cancun get away. But not to worry, Pepe's is all about quality and class. The food was consistently delicious, the drinks were abundant, and the hospitality was first class. While breakfast and lunch (which consists of yummy botanas aka snacks) are served at leisure, dinner is at 6. It sounds early, but when you are completely immersed in relaxation and going with the flow of the day, 6 is quite perfect leaving you with just enough time to catch the sun setting. Also, breakfast, lunch and dinner may seem a bit much at the same place, but when you are on the secluded Punta, figuring out where you next meal will be is just one less thing you have to worry about.


The staff is completely unobtrusive, but always around when needed. We even had the privilege of dining with Pepe himself a few of our nights there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33176roman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
107
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I traveled with another couple to Pepe's Hideaway Feb. 5-12, 2011. We had beautiful weather. Pepe treated us like royalty from the time we arrived until the day we left. Our wishes were certainly his command. The accomodations were rustic but well maintained. The meals were delicious and were prepared and served by an outstanding staff. If you are looking for a quiet getaway with lots of pampering, you will love this place. The view from our bungalow could not have been better. Very safe gated community.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judyb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Pepe's is the real thing! Countless resorts promote themselves as tropical paradises, but few deliver. Pepe's, with its half-dozen thatched roof bungalows on a point overlooking the Pacific, is an exception. For ten perfect days, we heard nothing but the sound of ocean on the rocks below our casita (mixed perhaps with the occasional pouring of a wine glass or margarita).

The open-air bungalows exude rustic elegance, tasteful simplicity accented with colorful hand embroidered bedspreads (products of the local indigenous culture). The ocean views and nightly sunsets are stunning. (Note: some casitas have ocean views, while others look over the palm trees.)

The ocean with rock pools and swimming holes for the adventurous (my wife) was only a few steps below our bungalow. A uncrowded, near-perfect white sand beach (made famous in the film "10") was an easy ten-minute stroll away. "Speedy" and the kitchen staff were happy to deliver a picnic lunch, complete with beers & coco locos, to our palapa on the beach whenever we asked. ...Room service is one thing – this was unparalleled beach service!

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at Pepe's with two other families, and we all loved our stay. It's a perfect place for a small group; the experience was fabulous.

A final thought about Safety: It's no secret that Mexico has become a more violent place in recent years. Happily, the region around Manzanillo is apparently one of the safest areas in the country. We never felt any concern whatsoever about our security at Pepe's. Even petty theft is nonexistent there. Anyone entering "La Punta," the dramatic narrow peninsula surrounded by the Pacific where Pepe's is located, has to pass through a security gatehouse. While I'm normally no fan of gated communities, being on La Punta did give our group (with four daughters) a welcome sense of safety.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaringForkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

I spent 7 glorious nights at Pepe's! I stayed in #2 right by the ocean and everything from the accomodations, the food, the service, weather and beauty was everything I was looking for and more. Pepe, Speedy and staff really go above and beyond in making your stay amazing. The Beach ( 10 min walk or Speedy will take you!) is pristine and secluded. Margaritas and lunch was delivered while you relax and enjoy! All the meals were excellent and I'm still dreaming of the Bacon they serve every morning! They will make you whatever you want for breakfast and dinner was fresh and delicious every night. I had a massage every single day from Laura and she was awesome. Thank you Pepe and Speedy for the best trip I've had in years! I will defintely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristynes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

My highest rating is "would I go again"-YES.
Excellent, attentive service.
I felt like I had spent a week with friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe3436, Owner at Pepes Hideaway, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thanks so much for the nice review. We will look forward to seeing you again!!! Pepe and Speedy and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was my first trip to Mexico and the staff at Pepe's made sure that everything went very smooth. When we arrived, we were greeted by our host Speedy (the best cook on the planet) who took us to our palapa over looking the bay and ocean and made sure we were sipping on the best margarita I've ever had.

The staff was extremely friendly and helped us with our day trips to ensure that everything went as planned. We met some fantastic people there and miss the stories around the table.

Pepe's Hideaway is in a gated community that includes a private beach as well as tennis courts, and I mustn't forget about the monkeys.

Families with children may find a few challenges staying here, but adults will find this place a true paradise away from the 'touristy' places.

If your idea of a place to stay includes your own private palapa over looking the ocean, fantastic food, service and hospitality, as well as the best dinner time stories, and perfect weather everyday - then this is where you want to be ; I wish I was there now...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrillaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

For those who want a true getaway with little to do but relax, contemplate, and refuel, Pepe's is the place. Unbelievable setting - coffee at your awakening, ceviche for lunch on the beach, posole or mole dinner after soothing sunsets, and margaritas whenever. Turn off the phone and computer and succumb to Pepe's and Speedy's welcome world of long days and peaceful nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tltcarbondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.9 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mar Celeste
Mar Celeste
#5 of 53 in Manzanillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepes Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepes Hideaway

Property: Pepes Hideaway
Address: Camino de Don Diego 67 | 67 LaPunta, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pepes Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pepes Hideaway ... a private nature reserve in Manzanillo, Mexico offering accommodations in luxury thatched-roof bungalows with spectacular views and awesome sunsets - all nestled in a tropical garden of giant coconut palm trees, towering cacti, brilliant bougainvillea, and producing banana tress. Pepe's believes in the adage that the land does not belong to us, we belong to the land. The accommodations are picture perfect palapas (thatched roof bungalows) with 20 foot ceilings, a sitting patio, native equipales (hand made chairs and tables) to take in the awesome sunsets, the nature show in sea in front of you, the magnificent coastline and distant mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pepes Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepes Hideaway Manzanillo
Pepes Hideaway Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing