We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Manzanillo and ......”
Review of Chef Para LlevArt! - CLOSED

Chef Para LlevArt!
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Chef para llevArt! Bistro Cafe Bar en Las Brisas Manzanillo. Mexico.Nace En Junio de 2010 con la idea de organizar eventos a los turistas de Canada y U.S.A. Que visitan nuestra ciudad en el invierno. Despues de 6 meses, el 22 de Diciembre de 2010 decidimos montar nuestro propio establecimiento para "innovar el paladar" todo el ano tambien a los locatarios de la ciudad. Siendo paso a paso nuestro posicionamiento en el mercado gastronomico, hoy en dia lo hemos logrado. Tenemos 3 anos en Manzanillo y somos recomendados por nuestros viajeros en TRIPADVISOR, asi como nuestro mercado local y nacional, con un unico objetivo: ser los mejores en este bello puerto!. Te invitamos a que visites nuestro BISTRO CAFE BAR y puedas innovar tu paladar con las delicias del chef Freddy y su gran equipo de trabajo!. Estamos de Lunes a Domingo de 5 PM a 1 AM. TE ESPERAMOS
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best food in Manzanillo and ......”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have lived in Mexico for many years, and I have to say this humble sidewalk bistro serves the best food I have eaten anywhere in the republic. It certainly is not inexpensive, but the quality of the food exceeds the price by a significant margin. I certainly could not expect the same quality in the USA for the prices charged.
I fail to understand how previous reviewers gave low ratings based solely on the price. I ate there last night and witnessed a "non-mexican" couple sit down, study the menu, then leave without ordering. They don't know what they missed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeInMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefparallevArt B, Gerente at Chef Para LlevArt!, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Mike In!! yes, sometime the people scare about our prices, but don't try the food and we can not do too much, but when you come and enjoy our food we think so "es un placer"
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
438 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Well worth the long wait”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Good food and drink takes time to prepare. We found that at this restaurant that we visited based on TripAdvisor reviews. We arrived at 7 PM and finished our meal at 9:30. Initially we were greeted pleasantly by our waiter who spoke excellent English. We ordered our drinks, a tuba mojito and the mescal margarita. It took forever for the drinks to arrive. To be fair, our waiter was also the bartender and was searching for change for other diners. The drinks were excellent!

We ordered the tuna carpaccio, which was also exceptional. For the mains we had the shrimp with chilis and the turkey in mole sauce. Both were pleasantly surprising and creative.

Chef Freddy came out to speak with us after we completed our meal and asked how it was. We said excellent, but that the drinks took a very long time to arrive.

Chef Freddy indicated that the serving staff were students from his class at the university and that two of the three had phoned in sick, hence the delays. We had a complimentary dessert of tuba cheesecake and raspberry ice cream which was also very good.

For Manzanillo, this restaurant creates a unique dining experience, infusing creative flavours and textures with artistic presentation.

We would give this restaurant a 5 rating, however with the delays in getting our food and drinks, we are giving it a 4. We will visit again to try some of the other delicious dishes and see all the wait staff in action.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefparallevArt B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Chef Para LlevArt!, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. YYC.
We really apologies for not having those drinks on time, we promise that next time will be for their first drink on the house, mentioned that we discussed here.
Also too bad we did not get the 5 stars :) because really looking to be number 1 in Manzanillo, :)
Actually we seek to be the number 1 in Manzanillo, yet we are aware of our faults and we are working to perfection day by day
Thank you so much for taking the time to writte this review, and of course to enjoy the delights prepared by our Chef Freddy, for us it is the best!.
Thank you again, and please come back soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food with Expanded Menu”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We first ate here 3 years ago when then had just opened. Since then, the menu has grown but the quality remains exceptional. This is a sidewalk dinner bistro with a few tables, which fill up quickly after 7:00. Menu choices range from Panini sandwiches to enormous salads, meat & seafoodentrees . Both of us had salads and we could easily have split one, followed by the main course, fish lightly breaded with baby potatoes and Thai chicken with vegetables. Wine by the glass was between $6-7 US. They also offer wine by the bottle. A good choice for dinner any time. Total bill for dinner with 4 glasses of wine was about $68 US.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decoyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefparallevArt B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Chef Para LlevArt!, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Decoyman Hello: Thank you for you visit us 3 years ago, we have grown just a little but of course without neglecting the small details that make the big difference to dine with us.
Each of our clients is special and we really like that you come back with a great taste.
Thank you for your "eview and happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bold attepmt at an unexpected location”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

There are cities in Mexico where gastronomy is being developed by several cooks in new restaurants and new attention to presentation and preparation of dishes has changed Mexican cuisine without really losing its essence. In those cities, there are customers who have travelled and appreciate these changes, know what such a dish is worth and are happy to pay for it.
Manzanillo is not one of those cities.
Outside the main hotel zone, on the main street, surrounded by rundown buildings, you’ll find chef Freddy and his small Bistro. Based on the location the prices are not to pay for the rent, and the limited staff is also an indicator. Whatever you pay is going mostly for ingredients and preparation, which is why I chose to give it a try.
Sitting down you are strongly reminded that this is a sidewalk in a touristic destination in Mexico and not one of the favorites of foreigners, but one which mostly welcomes Mexicans. Cars pass on the street without regard to speed limits, and they go from luxury Lincoln SUVs to run down old VW beetles (much like anywhere in Mexico).
As I sat down I overheard Freddy (Chef and owner) talking to his employees about mopping the floor again, because he wasn’t happy about how clean it was. This painstaking attention to detail is trademark for what you’ll get. Contrary to big restaurants the chef prepares your dishes himself and the sous-chef stands waits at your table while also helping with the preparation of a few dishes.
The result is a dish which has been prepared with minute attention to every element. The first day I had the Tuna fish Carpaccio with an avocado and coriander paste. It was awesome, the tuna had just the perfect texture, enough lime for you to taste it but it didn’t overpower the coriander and the avocado just gave a creamy feeling to an otherwise tangy dish. As a main dish the shrimp with mole was very tasty, black mole certainly has an overpowering taste, but it was diluted enough such that the shrimp could still be tasted, and concentrated enough to retain the appropriate thickness (although, truth be told, mole achieves the visco-elastic texture by using starch).
I personally felt that the coriander puree (mashed potatoes with coriander) was too soft and missed some refreshment to counteract the strong black mole. The taste was, nonetheless very good. The mashed potatoes are done there, and you can feel the small pieces of potato, cooked to perfection, which didn’t quite get mashed.
The second day I had the Sopes fusion. This were amazing, the chili sauce providing spiciness, a bit of coriander for tangy, and avocado for creamy. No beans, which made the tastes all the more present, and only a small amount of cheese.
Afterwards I had the Fogon Maya, the beef was done to perfection, not the “Mexican” medium which is more like French well done. This served with eggplants (aubergines) and potatoes fried with cacao beans. I’ll admit the potatoes were a tad fatty, and the cacao wasn’t as present as I’d expect it, but great al l the same.
The last day I just had desert (I had desert on all three visits, but the previous ones were a rather unremarkable chocolate flan and cheesecake). This time it was a chocolate crocant with pecan nuts and vanilla ice-cream. Simply amazing, chocolate taste without being too sweet, and very present taste of pecan nuts. Finally as I waited for Freddy to have some free time to chat with me, I had a Martini with a touch of coconut, which was amazing, went perfect with the hot evening of Manzanillo and rounded off my last night at the beach.
The Chef is really doing something with Mexican cuisine, and puts a lot of effort in presenting his clients with fresh produce beautifully prepared and with great taste combination. This wasn’t the best meal I’ve had in Mexico, and I wouldn’t go to Manzanillo just for this restaurant, but if you happen to be in Manzanillo or Guadalajara (a mere 3 hours drive away), it is certainly worth a visit.
For my fellow Mexicans who have complained about prices being similar to those they pay in Masaryk and the like, remember, those restaurants have to pay a lot of rent, so they have to have high table rotation, and dishes must be done fast. Here, you’re expected to sit down, and enjoy your evenings meal, talking over coffee and desert, for several hours, and no one is going to rush you to finish or leave. Try and enjoy it at least once.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ing-Macias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefparallevArt B, Gerente at Chef Para LlevArt!, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Google Translation
Wow, it's nice that you have taken the time to write such a detailed menu, really appreciate it.
Indeed our Chef Freddy takes care of all the details so that your meal and you pay for the worth and dinner waiting. We have 3 years in Manzanillo with very good response because we love to innovate the palate of all our guests.
All our staff have one main goal, which is to satisfy your palate. Thank you for visiting t really hope you come back soon!.

Wow, es un placer que Usted haya tomado el tiempo necesario para escribir tan detallado menu, realmente lo apreciamos.
En efecto nuestro Chef Freddy cuida todos los detalles para que su platillo y precio que paga por el valga la pena la cena y la espera. Tenemos 3 años en Manzanillo con muy buena respuesta pues nos encanta innovar el paladar de todos nuestros comensales.
Todo nuestro equipo de trabajo tiene un objetivo principal, el cual es satisfacer su paladar. Gracias por su visita t de verdad esperamos que vuelva pronto!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Casual, Small, Outdoor Bistro”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Wonderful outdoor casual dining with incredible bistro dishes by professionally trained chef. Dishes include pork chop specials, generous tasty shrimp salads, and much more. We had the Mexican cheese cake with fire roasted Jalapeño cilantro drizzle. Very good. Friendly and helpful staff. Chef discussed menu options with us table-side. We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefparallevArt B, Manager at Chef Para LlevArt!, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello Shmiller. Thank you so much for you review. We appreciate you time for wrote it. And of course please come back soon! Have a nice trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Para LlevArt! also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing