We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Cove Inn
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Hadas By Brisas(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$116
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tesoro Manzanillo(Manzanillo)
$152
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villas Los Angeles(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marbella(Manzanillo)
$37
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca Alamar(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Karmina(Manzanillo)
$256
$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
106
91
31
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
91
31
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise restaurantlas hadasboutique hotelrestaurant food isgreat benefiteach room has a balconybeautiful bougainvilleawasher dryerwonderful margaritasvonage phonehuge terracefull kitchensecond bedroomups and downsrooms are comfortabletaxi or busstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 258 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We were back to the Dolphin Cove Inn for yet another wonderful visit and everything just keeps getting better! The service, people and the restaurant are better than ever. The rooms and views remain unbeatable. A great place for families! A great place for couples! A great place!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snorklefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I've been going to Manzanillo since my childhood since it is one of the more tranquil albeit moderately developed parts of the Mexican Pacific coast. It is very popular with Mexican, Canadian, and European tourists. I like the fact that it is not as developed as Acapulco nor as touristy as Puerto Vallarta. You're able to interact with the locals more than at other more touristy Mexican beach towns.

Now the hotel:

This hotel is in the beautiful Santiago Peninsula in Manzanillo. The hotel is reminiscent of a white-washed villa in the Greek islands. The rooms are clean and have very nice simple decor. I really love the balcony views. The air conditioning worked extremely well!

Although it is somewhat hidden from the main Manzanillo strip, its location is privileged. The beach below the hotel has some of the clearest and calmest waters in Manzanillo--perfect for kids. The beach is protected by a large rock/coral formation which is great for snorkeling (it’s only about 15-20 feet from the beach. I was able to see some beautiful colorful fish!

There are two pools--a pool for small children and a regular pool. The pools are next to the restaurant and offer great views of the beach.

The staff is great. I called to confirm the reservation I had made through expedia.com and they were able to confirm the reservation details. They are definitely competent and friendly!


I would not really recommend this hotel for elderly/disabled people because the hotel is on a sort of hill which--although it ensures most rooms have a great ocean view from the balconies--it makes walking down to the beach a somewhat formidable task...but the beach is definitely worth it!!!

The restaurant serves some really good food. My favorite is the fresh fish ceviche.

Although this is not the all-inclusive Karmina Palace Hotel--which is fairly close and quite expensive--it is definitely a great moderate-range hotel. The word has gotten out and It is very popular with tourist. I recommend reserving in advance especially during the holidays. I remember seeing a lot of tourists trying to find a room last minute, but the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nikesteroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Wowza! My boyfriend booked us a couple of nights here right before xmas and before we took off on our camping/surfing trip down the coast.
The photos dont even do the place justice :)
The people at the check in were friendly and dealt with our lack of Spanish speaking like champs. They showed us to our room by way of golf cart and brought all our bags in to our lovely marble-floored, impeccable, cozy and bright room.
The whole place was pretty quiet over-all. We enjoyed our free breakfasts and the room was cleaned so well (they even mopped our balcony). Towels were abundant and clean. The kitchenette was so great. We went into manzanillo, got groceries and enjoyed our 2 and a half days in peace and beauty. Sunsets and sunrises were gorgeous and the landscaping was pretty.
We felt like we were the only 2 people here which suited us fine!
Yes, there are stairs to go down to the pool, beach or restaurant. No big deal. The pool was clean, the beach small but calm and the restaurant was great!
We would so go back and are planning to :)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahsahara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

You will simply not find a better view! We were in Building 8, as recommended by a very helpful Oscar on the Dolphin's toll free from the US number. Breakfast was great, everyone was extremely nice & friendly. I can't wait to come back. This place is one of those rare finds...

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catalina26miaxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We where attracted to this Inn by their well done website and lack of bad revues, Overall this was a nice place, but be warned, there are alot of stairs, 100 plus from the malacon along the water, especialy if staying in one of the units higher up the hill, and when it's 90 degrees plus its even worse, especialy going up. No beach to speak of, except small one next door at Las Hadas, but we never used it. View was great, would have been better if there was not so much haze. Sunrise everyday, but never a sunset as it set too far west, behind other buildings etc. Young male front desk clerk who was working when we checked in was very nice and spoke passible english, but never had him again, and any others had VERY limited english, which proved a challenge. Nice restaurant, good prices, but again most staff spoke little, if any english, you basicaly had to point at items on menu, (note, if you want sausage, you will get wieners) Great free breakfast, check out the menu on website. Room (1006) was nice, but had to ask for, face clothes, small hand towels, dish cloth and towel, never did get dish towel, and several times only had one face cloth left. Drank the tap water everyday with no problems, tastes better if chilled though. Maids spoke no english. Never slept past 7:30 as workers outside were very noisy, if they were'nt banging around, they were yelling back and forth etc. Small washer/dryer in room, but hooked up wrong. No cold wash or cold rinse. Hot wash setting was warm, cold wash was hot, and cold rinse was hot. Dryer vent hose must have been clogged as it took 90 minutes to dry a small load , and was never any lint in lint trap, which meens it wasn't venting properly.
Loud music etc from nearby all inclusive(Karmina , I think) until around midnight every night. Didn't feel very safe at night as our room(1006) did not have a normal lockable door, instead, after entering the building, which had 3 untis per side, you opened a flimsy, lockable gate type door, then went down a spiral staircase to a foyer, off of which was the bathroom, kithchen, living room and bedroom. We could lock the bedroom door for more security, but note the phone is in the living room. Not very good if someone was to break in while you are sleeping, we awoke one night to a crash in the kitchen, reluctantly checked it out to find a stray cat had come in, as the slats in the gate are at least 3"-4" wide, apparently someone left the main door to the building opened after we had closed it and gone to bed. Also,you didn't know the maids were there until they were almost all the way down the stairs, good job we weren't walking around naked!. TV is in the bedroom, so you prettty much could only watch it in bed ,as the wicker chair and small wicker couch in bedroom weren't very comfortable. Some english channels, but mostly spanish. Bus to town came by about every 15-20 minutes which was handy (40 pesos, one way) pickup and dropoff right in front of office. WalMart was about a 10 minute bus ride. Overall a nice place but could improve with some changes, ie; more english speaking staff, and replace gate to room with a solid door.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GringoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianholmsen, PR Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2009

Dear "Gringo Tim"

Thank you for sharing your views with us. We really strive to make Dolphin Cove Inn a wonderful place to stay and reading your critique will give us ideas on how to improve.

You are absolutely correct about the many stairs leading from the top of the property to the the sea. However, since the property is built into the hillside stairs are unavoidable. We always try to make this clear in our brochures and advertising so that people will not be unhappy when they arrive. However, the staircases are attractively designed with many intriguing paths that wind their way down down the hillside via a network of bougainvillea-clad pathways. The hillside location does afford spectacular ocean views from every room.

I am sorry you did not enjoy the beach. Like the many steps, this is something we cannot change. Many people do swim here and seem to enjoy it very much.

You are correct. Very few of our maids speak English We do give them English lessons and hopefully this will improve. Because, unlike Puerto Vallarta, Acapulco, and Mazatlan, Manzanillo is a laid-back area and relatively new to tourism. So, it is difficult to hire English speaking maids. We do try to hire excellent maids whose friendly smile will help overcome the language barrier. Also, in the restaurant, we almost always have at least one or more people who speak some English. We will work at improving this. Also, at the front desk we will try to have more English-speaking people. However, in the same reception area we have our concierge, Cynthia, who speaks excellent English, plus in our reservation department (which is just a few steps away) our manager, Isiss, speaks excellent English, as does our reservation department. Now that we know you had a problem in communicating. we will try to make it more evident to others to know how to get help if they need it. We will try to improve this.

Since you experienced a problem getting sufficient face clothes and dish rags, we will try to improve this for others.

We are sorry you had a problem with construction noise. I'm not sure what was going on while you were there. We usually try to avoid any construction around where someone is staying.

We are sorry you had a problem with the washer-dryer. You had one of the few rooms that has one available for private use. We will try to see why the cold and hot is mixed up.

There is definitely loud music often coming from te Barcelo Karmina Palace. We have tried to have them keep their parties
more subdued. The Karmina Palace is an all-inclusive property where many of the guests love to party into the night and noise travels over the water which seems to accentuate the problem. We will continue to request more quiet. Many guests seem to enjoy the Saturdafy night parties since frequently there are weddings at both the Karmina Palace and Las Hadas and often the sky lights up with fantastic firework displays. If the doors to the terraces and balconies are closed during the parties, the rooms are usually quite.

The room you stayed in 1006 is one of the most popular since it has an especially pretty view from its large terrace (plus the private washer dryer which is very rare in hotels). Many guests request this room, especiallly those staying a while. We have never had a robbery here, but since other guests might feel as you do, we will try to make the room more secure. Thanks for sharing your concerns on this. We will see what we can do.

Since the hotel faces southeast, we sometimes have fantastic sunrises. We can't see the actual sun set, but some evenings the sky turns a pale pink that is reflected in the water.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciated your taking the time to write to use in depth. We try to constantly improve, and your comments will help us. We do believe that we have an exceptionally friendly staff, gorgeous displays of bougainvillea, unsurpassable views, and great value.

The Staff at Dolphin Cove Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews