We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Más o menos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zar Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zar Manzanillo
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Más o menos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Several friends and I had made plans to stay here for New Year's Eve holiday, but there were lots of snags. One friend got moved around to different rooms, having made it clear he wanted a beach side window...lots of booking problems for him. The hot water did not work half the time in my room. With holiday schedule, no body could ever get up in time to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, which was already "over" by 10:30 AM. Not to whine about it too much, we were able to enjoy using the common area for some evening gatherings of several friends with no problem.
It's location is close to the center of Manzanillo--not close to the long, beautiful beaches, so we had to take taxis a lot. Even so, we had a wonderful time in Manzanillo.

Room Tip: You have to be clear if you want a window facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not really cheap. Big rooms with uncomfortable beds. The shower is a plastic cabin unclean and scary. The furniture is quite new but already rusty because of humidity. When we arrived they had never heard about our reservation (even if we booked directly with them over the phone 2 days before and provided the reservation number). They confirmed breakfast was included but the day after we had to discuss again (with the same person) to obtain our coupons. It was actually not worth the fight because breakfast included only 2 toasts with industrial butter and marmelade and chemical orange juice. Not to mention the coffee, which does not deserve the name of coffee. That's it. If you want anything else you have to pay (for example: 40 pesos for a couple of hot cakes).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Remember the movie "The Life of Pi"? In one of the scenes, shipwrecked Pi finds himself on an uninhabited island where he finds food and fresh water. He later finds out that this much expected oasis turns carnivorous at night and now he knows why all the animals in the island run to seek shelter before the sun goes down.
Sorry for the long prelude to my comments, but my experience at the Zar was much like Pi's encounter with the strange island. Let me start with the positive elements:
The hotel is conveniently located a good 15-minute drive from the bus station. A 20-minute walk down the sea front will get you in the heart of downtown Manzanillo. It is also right at the entrance of a big harbor which means you have front row seats to watch huge commercial ships the size of a building sailing in and out of the harbor. Our hotel room was spacious, with modern bathroom fixtures and there was even a built-in FM radio in the shower.
The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. I asked for my remote, at 250 pesos for the deposit, but the man at the front desk told me "just bring it back in good condition", and I went upstairs back to my room happily with my remote control and with 250 pesos extra cash in my wallet . Same thing with the beach towels. The man at the front desk told me "they are for use at the pool ONLY, not for the beach. You can use them at the beach. Just bring them back in good condition..."
The part about why the beach towels are not meant for pool use only is an example of why I felt like "Pi"...
Though it was late at night when we first arrived at the hotel, I was really looking forward to a romantic walk down the beach, so we checked in and headed for the beach right behind the hotel. Our first glimpse of this beach walk was what looked like a small run-down cafe where several men had nothing on a table except beer bottles. A homeless man lying motionless on the floor just a few steps further added to the already eerie scene. A very foul-smelling public bathroom located just behind the hotel was too much to bear so we rushed back to the safety of the hotel.
Once in our room, I purposely dropped myself on the bed expecting to bounce back, but the mattress was stiff hard. We also had all the sheets AND mattress cover changed because they all had stains on them. There was no elevator in this hotel and no telephone in our room either, so getting something from the front desk meant walking back and forth three flights of stairs.
On the next day we did go for a swim at the public beach right behind the hotel. The water looked clear and it was rather warm in spite of the fact it was late December. It was a fun watching a school of fish swim right by us. The water is deep too. If you like the beach this is the place to be if you don’t know how to swim much. This harbor is in such a location that no waves are formed so the water is very calm.
Just don’t you dare go to this beach on a Sunday when the locals have their day off! There is a big sign that says “no camping allowed”, but I guess people think it means the other way around. Though the beach was not packed, I must sadly say most of the people there care less if they dump their trash on the sand or in the water. I have been to many public beaches in Mexico and this San Pedrito beach is the first one where I saw people dumping this much garbage.
You will enjoy your stay at the Zar, that is if you don’t get a room with a seaside view. All those happy campers at the beach will not let you sleep with their loud music.
The almost brand-new facilities, the flat screen digital TV set, and the kindness of the hotel staff helped us forget many of the negative elements we found in Manzanillo.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the beach side. The campers won't let you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HimmelWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed there for two days .the location is good just beside the beach and the rooms were neat and clean. they also had these showers with the radio in the bathroom.The only negative point is it is far from the city.Else a very good hotel to stay and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I spent a couple of days there to relax after new years eve. The hotel was chosen with the help of a mexican friend as it seems to be mostly frequented also only by mexicans and not gringos. I got a relatively inexpensive (but slightly gringo-raised) rate which was okay given that it was high season and right at the beach. Normal rates are really cheap, around 400 pesos or less.

The good: The building is very new (some part seems to be still under construction at point of time of this review) so the room quality is very good. The AC works super well and they have large and comfortable shower bathrooms. The beach is right next and there is a pool area with lots of comfortable resting chairs that is nice for a relaxed afternoon. What I think is most important: the hotel personell was super friendly and helpful. The "boss" speaks English perfectly and is a very good hearted and welcoming guy who made me personally feel at home. His staff are spanish speaking only, but also always helpful and reliable. What is also good is that it is allowed to bring your own food and beverage to the hotel and consume it openly. No questions asked. Each room has flatscreen TV and wireless free and fast internet.

The bad: Room has no mini-bar. WTF? I have a tradition to always celebrate a new hotel room with a toast from the mini-bar. Ok but seriously: The hotel is at the beach but they have a kind of gate that gets locked at dusk (that is, at 6 o clock). There is a small street between the hotel and the beach which feels somehow unsafe. The location of the hotel in general is not top end, because of the huge harbour area starting right next. The location is okay to explore downton Manzanillo but if you want to go to the "hotel zone" which is the actual modern downtown, with most restaurants and bars and supermarkets, you have to take a lengthy cab ride. Try to make sure to get a room away from the pool area because there might be lots of noise from playing children and irritated parents.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors or away from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bretthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#13 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Hawaii
Hotel Hawaii
#21 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
#11 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zar Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zar Manzanillo

Property: Zar Manzanillo
Address: Av. Teniente Azueta No. 3, Col. Burocratas, Manzanillo 28259, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zar Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zar Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing