We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gringo-landia...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tablao

El Tablao
Ranked #28 of 167 Restaurants in Manzanillo
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gringo-landia...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

...which is fine, I guess. There just aren't gourmet experiences in Manzanillo. Fresh seafood prepared simply is the best bet in town. As such, when a restaurant attempts too much (e.g., butter, bacon, cheese vs. chiles, herbs,etc.) you get a place full of calories and sincerity, but utterly lacking in expression. A nice place, a consistent place like your parents' favorite supper club, a nice owner... All plenty nice, but just not for me.

Helpful?
1 Thank XeriKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vintage Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very modest, unassuming exterior, but as much as Mexico is, you must go beyond the exterior, the wall, the door, the entrance to be wonderfully surprised by the interior---right on the beach---it reminds me of the Mexico of a by-gone era----modest prices, adequate portions, quality food,courteous waiters, traditional Mexican interior---an owner who loves what he does and translates that love into the El Tablao experience.

Lunch and dinner---the presentation of the tables for lunch is more than adequate....for dinner, linen table clothes with linen napkins that your waiter will crisply snap and place on your lap.

If you vist Manzanillo and you do not visit El Tabalo, you will be missing a great experience---staying and eating in only Las Brisas(the Breezes) can be quite enjoyable.....but,ahh, El Tablao, the food, the ambiance, the scenery, great food and drink for the peso----tranquilidad, paz--peace, tranquil---decompress with the El Tabalo. You will not be disappointed.

If you stay more than a few days and enjoy reading, the lending library that greets you on entering El Tablao is vast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner, dancing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The food at El Tablao was excellent - wonderful entrees and a goat cheese salad that surprised me! We got a table right away, and joined both locals and tourists for a lovely dinner on oceanfront patio. The street front isn't much to look at, but don't let that stop you. We thoroughly enjoyed the upscale menu and danced to the fabulous live music while we waited for dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynette_cypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

A group of four of us had a fantastic meal of pork loin and then later in the week a filet mignon. Good service, nice house wine and of course the view of the ocean topped it off. We will definitely return to this restaurant which has never disappointed us. We also have had entertainment provided that really makes the experience pleasurable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stopped at el Tablao for lunch during our stay in Manzanillo based on Expedia reviews. We all had seafood (mahi-mahi fish and chips, garlic and butter whole snapper, shrimp fajitas) while watching the waves roll in on the beach. The food was top quality at a reasonable price, and the beer was cold. As the next day was my wife's 50th birthday, we reserved a seat at the edge of the patio looking out over the beach for dinner the next night.

When we arrived, our waiter Marin (same one from lunch the day before) had our table set up with candles. The food was even better. We shared a couple of appetizers to share among 5 (but if we go back to Manzanillo we would each order our own as they were certainly sized for 1), scallops and calamari. Both were really good. For dinner, chicken enchiladas, a shrimp dinner, mahi-mahi topped with shrimp, crab (I think), mushrooms and cheese, and Coquille St Jacques. Again, all were really good, the St. Jacques was outstanding. The only downer of the evening was one of our creme brules was really undercooked. But other than that, everything was outstanding, including the view of Manzanillo at night. We had a couple of bottles of white wine, and were as good as you would expect from a restaurant in Mexico owned by a French guy!

Can't wait to go back next time I'm in Manzanillo. Next time, we will sit at one of the tables under the umbrellas on the beach. You can stay all day as long as you spend 100 pesos. Trust me, that won't be a problem.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tablao also viewed

 
Manzanillo, Colima
Manzanillo, Colima
 
Manzanillo, Colima
 

Been to El Tablao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing