We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stewart M
Merida, Mexico

Fine place to stay downtown

Review of Hotel Colonial
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 2, 2013
Stayed three nights over new year, and found the hotel to be adequate for our needs. Air conditioning worked well, and the bed was comfortable, although we would have preferred a king size which the hotel does not have.

Housekeeping standards were not the highest - bathroom could have used more attention (hair on the floor, etc).

Bathroom was old, but functional. Furnishings are on the old side, but adequate, and for the price, the hotel represents good value in my opinion. The colonial building is quite beautiful. Location is good, if you want to be in downtown, rather than in the hotel zone on the beach.
Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$202
10% off promo code 24HDAYS10
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
4.0 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free parking
Pool
Hotel Marbella
$75
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $76
  • Algotels
    $57
  • Priceline
3.1 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Official Hotel
    $116
  • Trip.com
    $121
5.6 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free parking
Pool
$100
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $100
1.9 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free Wifi
Free parking
$56
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $56
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
4.5 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free Wifi
Free parking
Best Western Plus Luna del Mar
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • ZenHotels.com
    $93
  • Skyscanner.com
    $95
1.7 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    $84
  • StayForLong
    $62
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $182
  • travelup.com
    $184
6.2 miles from Hotel Colonial
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Manzanillo
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
10
16
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
16
6
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We didn't have a reservation, so got a room meant for six people (instead of four). Still worth the money. It was very clean and although the furnishings looked "old" more than "colonial", everything was well taken care of. Beds were really comfy, but the most important things was the air conditioning. It was HUMID and HOT, but five minutes with the A/C on and it was perfect. Soooo very close to the city center and all the buses going anywhere in Manzanillo. Didn't try the restaurant, but the menu had lots of great food listed and many dishes were American-style. We only went there for showering and sleeping since Manzanillo has way too much to offer to not look around! A wonderful hotel and I would love to go back.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've spent 2 nights in the Colonial at different times and it is a real throw back to a time when hotels were classy places in the city center. It is spotless, well maintained, and has a nice restaurant. It's also handy for a walking tour of the city center, including the market place, lots of nice shops, the port, and the Iguanario, an iguana reserve that is a must see, although not well known. Try and get a room with a patio overlooking the street. Nothing like being in an old colonial hotel with a view of the hustle and bustle of the city. Mexico is so much more than beach resorts. Manzanillo is not one of the great colonial cities but it is a place you might pass through while traveliing around and the Hotel Colonial is a perfect spot for a layover.

Room tip: one facing the street with acess to the deck
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cesped
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The pics need to be updated. A bank has takenover the front part of the resterraunt

still a nice place just not the grand ole place it use to be

Date of stay: February 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Sidnye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the place a delight. The rooms were large, clean, great bathroom, comfortable bed, and air conditioned. We paid slightly more than normal but found it worth while (400M). Some rooms had a deck looking out onto the streets. We were in the top room, which was a hike up, but a little further from the street noises. Ear-plugs are supplied but we found weren't needed. The reception staff weren't too helpful, but all in all the location, hotel and room where all worth the money. We would stay again!

Room tip: See review
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The property is located in the old city center next to the cruise port. It is in a perfect location if you want to be in the city but not in the beach hotel zone. Most beach tourists will be in another area of Manzanillo about 20 to 30 minutes away. We really liked the hotel and the room was spacious especially the bathroom.

Room tip: Interior room for less street noise
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews