We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fine place to stay downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed three nights over new year, and found the hotel to be adequate for our needs. Air conditioning worked well, and the bed was comfortable, although we would have preferred a king size which the hotel does not have.

Housekeeping standards were not the highest - bathroom could have used more attention (hair on the floor, etc).

Bathroom was old, but functional. Furnishings are on the old side, but adequate, and for the price, the hotel represents good value in my opinion. The colonial building is quite beautiful. Location is good, if you want to be in downtown, rather than in the hotel zone on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We didn't have a reservation, so got a room meant for six people (instead of four). Still worth the money. It was very clean and although the furnishings looked "old" more than "colonial", everything was well taken care of. Beds were really comfy, but the most important things was the air conditioning. It was HUMID and HOT, but five minutes with the A/C on and it was perfect. Soooo very close to the city center and all the buses going anywhere in Manzanillo. Didn't try the restaurant, but the menu had lots of great food listed and many dishes were American-style. We only went there for showering and sleeping since Manzanillo has way too much to offer to not look around! A wonderful hotel and I would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've spent 2 nights in the Colonial at different times and it is a real throw back to a time when hotels were classy places in the city center. It is spotless, well maintained, and has a nice restaurant. It's also handy for a walking tour of the city center, including the market place, lots of nice shops, the port, and the Iguanario, an iguana reserve that is a must see, although not well known. Try and get a room with a patio overlooking the street. Nothing like being in an old colonial hotel with a view of the hustle and bustle of the city. Mexico is so much more than beach resorts. Manzanillo is not one of the great colonial cities but it is a place you might pass through while traveliing around and the Hotel Colonial is a perfect spot for a layover.

Room Tip: one facing the street with acess to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cesped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The pics need to be updated. A bank has takenover the front part of the resterraunt

still a nice place just not the grand ole place it use to be

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidnye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the place a delight. The rooms were large, clean, great bathroom, comfortable bed, and air conditioned. We paid slightly more than normal but found it worth while (400M). Some rooms had a deck looking out onto the streets. We were in the top room, which was a hike up, but a little further from the street noises. Ear-plugs are supplied but we found weren't needed. The reception staff weren't too helpful, but all in all the location, hotel and room where all worth the money. We would stay again!

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
601 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

The property is located in the old city center next to the cruise port. It is in a perfect location if you want to be in the city but not in the beach hotel zone. Most beach tourists will be in another area of Manzanillo about 20 to 30 minutes away. We really liked the hotel and the room was spacious especially the bathroom.

Room Tip: Interior room for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This hotel cancelled our reservation because we were "10 minutes late" and by the time we showed up had already given it to some one else. I would understand their point of view except they never informed me that I had to be there by a certain time. Had they given me a copy of their policies or a warning I would take the blame but I stated in my reservation that I would be there "approximately around 5pm" I showed up at 5:10pm and the 3 rooms i reserved were already full... I didn't believe this story, how could they find 3 guests so quickly??? and when I asked to speak to the manager (because the front clerk was unprofessional and rude to us, she gave him the whole story in front of me and then replied... "he says he is busy, you can come back later" .... I couldn't believe the manager would not even show his face! Need I say more?? Most hotels have certain cancelation policies stated ahead of time, they did not.! also most hotels would understand if your plane was delayed? they did not! I am believe in courtesy and treating people with respect, and they did not return the courtesy with which i treated them. there are many other reasonably priced hotels in the area, we ended up staying on the beach in a slightly better quality hotel with FAR GREATER customer service for only $15 more per night! I guess the incident worked out for the best!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xalxaluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
3.9 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#3 of 52 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#12 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Av. Mexico 100 and Gonzalez Bocanegra, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing