We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our group of 7 traveled to the Barcelo Karmina February 7th to Feb 21st of 2014. (Sorry for the late review). This was our first trip to Manzanillo but have been all over Mexico multiple times. We have never stayed in an all inclusive that was less than a 4 star. We are not overly picky as we don't spend tons of time in our rooms but definitely want a clean room above all else no matter where we go.

Check In: We flew into Manzanillo on Air Transat operated by Enerjet (horrible plane: old, no padding on seats, no radio or tv at all, no electronic hook ups). We took the bus that was included in our package and there ended up being 2 bus loads of us at the same time. The plus is that there were no stops and it was only maybe 35 minutes to the hotel. The minus is that it took us about an hour and a half to check in as we're the second bus to be unloaded and were near the back of the line up. I think more staff should be available to help for when the rush happens. The poor workers at the front desk were just flying through the information trying to lessen the line up and therefore leaving people with more questions. This is the main reason why I rated the hotel as very good rather than excellent. it is important that the holiday starts on a high note to really set the tone for a wonderful vacay!

Room: We had booked 3 rooms and they were all in nice shape and very pleasing to the eye. Maybe some of the furniture is a bit out dated. Very spacious with lots of storage space. My room had two beds and was very soft and comfortable. The beds in the other 2 rooms were like rocks. There were a couple of small issues in the room when we got there. The thermostat did not work and our room was a bit hot. We called down and they fixed it right away and never had a problem with it for the rest of the 2 weeks. The shower head was messed up and spraying everywhere so they came in and 10 minutes later there was a brand new rain shower head installed. Anything we called to get fixed was looked at and dealt with in a timely fashion. We were very polite in our requests and they were respectful back. Our room was on the fifth floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean and faced East. Sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon was perfect.

Room Cleanliness: The room cleaning was done well enough but not in a timely manner. We are up and out of the room at 7am EVERY SINGLE MORNING. We may or may not pop up to the room after breakfast and we come back to the room around 3 or 4 pm. Some days the room was not done at all or else they were right in the middle of it. I did call down a couple of times to say we would be leaving the room all day and would like it cleaned sooner rather than later but that may be asking too much. I wish they would have a way to do this better.

Resort Cleanliness: The resort is VERY nice to look at. There are always workers cleaning pools, pathways, flower beds, trimming trees, watering the lawns, etc and always with a friendly Hola!!! The lobby is really nice as well and also very clean. You set your glass down and it is picked up very quickly. The foliage is mature which is very nice. Lot's of iguana's running around and chillin in the sun and enjoying the nice green trees.

Service: I have no real complaints on service. Most of our requests were dealt with in a timely manner and I did not experience any rudeness or bad customer service from any of the staff. Everyone from the pool waiters and activities staff to the maids were very nice and seemed to want to try to help you if they could. We tipped for good service but it was not expected.

Food: Not much selection. About half the trays to pick from compared to other resorts we have been too. Don't mistake this statement because the food that I did have to choose from was tasty and well (properly) cooked. They had a salad bar and a fresh fry station. We went to a couple of the ala cartes and they were good too. The Mexican is nice mostly because you are sitting on the water and the view is stunning at sunset so get an early booking for this one. My big gripe about the buffet is the other guests. I seen two teen girls grab food with their hand and put it back in the tray and one dipped her finger in salad dressing and licked her finger and dipped the same finger into the next dressing dish. That did it for me and I reported them to the buffet manager. As I was leaving I seen him approach them as they came back for seconds and started with their fingers again. Can we ALL, as human beings, please be more considerate in the buffet???????

Manzanillo is a really nice area. They are home to a massive shipping port and are actually building another one just down the coast. We went downtown a few times and the shopping doesn't seem to change no matter where you go in Mexico;). But they do have a pretty cool flea market that happens every Saturday. We went on a sunset boat tour and it was nice because the water was so calm. We ate downtown a couple of times and at both places the food was great. No one in our group had any stomach issues and one of the couples even stayed for 3 weeks. I would actually say that Manzanillo is a pretty sold middle class part of Mexico. I have seen way worse (like Mazatlan) and better (like Cabo). The streets and roads are cleaner than other places and the locals are in decent clothing and drive decent vehicles and seem to be generally decent people. I feel it is important to add that I felt safe everywhere we went for the entire 2 weeks. We did not choose to leave the resort after dark so I cannot comment on that part.

There are quite a bit of "locals" that come through on the weekends and can get quite rowdy at the Karmina but me as a Canadian can't say I've never taken a weekend trip in my own country/province and gotten a bit rowdy and loud and having a great time. I certainly have...lol.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. If you go to any part of Mexico and keep in mind that you are visiting a 3rd world country and that you cannot always expect the same as you would get at home then I believe you'll be very pleasantly surprised. There is always room for improvement at any hotel in any country. Make sure to report room issues so they are fixed for the next person coming in and above all enjoy yourself!!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Our room was on the East side of the hotel and it was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SilverBullet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene_Fuertes, Sub Directora at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Silverbullet 11,

I would like to thank you for your valuable comments, which for us represents an excellent tool that allow us to identify our opportunity areas and improve our service.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had during your stay, with our check in, please be certain that our goal is to provide our guest with the highest levels of quality to ensure the most pleasant time with us. For this reason we have changed our groups check in procedures.

Please rest assure that we'll follow up on every aspect mentioned in your comments to improve our rooms, in fact we are following a furniture renovation program.

We want to thank you for your positive comments on the level of cleaning, for your next visit you can contact our front desk staff and let them know at what time you would like your room to be cleaned.

We will follow up your comments about our buffet restaurant with our food and beverages team and will reinforce all the needed procedures to reinforce the variety of the buffet. Anyway we have available more than 26 hot dishes in our buffet and we also have more options with a la carte restaurants.

We also thank you for your positive comments on the level of service that our employees are providing to all our guests and thank you for your comments about feeling safe here in Manzanillo. As you have said Manzanillo is a very safe place and perfect to enjoy your vacations.

We invite you to continue choosing our hotel for your next visit to Manzanillo, it will be our pleasure to welcome you once again at the Barceló Karmina Palace Deluxe.

Sincerely,

Irene Fuertes
Subdirectora General
Hotel Barceló Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    958
    333
    150
    99
See reviews for
1,150
843
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with Manzanillo in General. It is very laid back and the people there are not pushing them selves on you like you find in other Mexican locations, a breath of fresh air in that regard. The Culture is amazing and completely original. Very Clean with apparently low crime rates. My wallet fell out in the Taxi with about $600 in cash plus a credit card, I did have the drivers phone # and when I realized and called him and he immediately returned with everything intact. We used him for the rest of our 2 weeks and tipped him very well.

The Hotel is probably one of the nicest in Manzanillo with a beautiful private bay within the resort. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating. Awesome fishing, my wife and I caught 2 Sail Fishes, one went to feed an orphanage and other was stuffed and sent home. We would highly recommend the trip to people that don't like to be pestered when they are relaxing. We will certainly visit the Barceló Karmina Palace in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jimmy L,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit to our Resort Barcelo Karmina. First of all, we certainly agree with what you mention about our beautiful destination, very nice people and safe.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and that you enjoyed our grounds and kind staff. It will be an honor to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent a very nice week at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe. Rooms, gardens, swimming pools, location, people are great. The buffet is ok but could improve a little bit. The schedule for the activities are not well respected, which a disappointment at barcelo kid s club for my son and aquagym fir myself.
We had an issue with some very noisy neighbors in the room next to ours. We ask barcelo to do something but they didn t. Partying in the room is ok, but till 4am everyday...it was a hassle. Very bad insonorisation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but what matters is the neighbors you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Veronique E,
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us last March. We are glad that you enjoyed our grounds and kind staff, having an overall great experience.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guest. We have taken notes of your observations on the services and we will share them with our management team to work hard and improve so we can continue offering our guests the service they deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobleton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were a group of 6 adults on vacation and all 6 of us were very happy with the Barcelo Karmina. We have been going to Acapulco for the last 18 years and unsure about this change. However, it was more than we expected. The staff was amazing as was the food. We will be going back next February...can't wait!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic. No complains. Very clean, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JGreco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear JGreco2014,
Thank your for taking the time of posting your experience regarding recent stay. And that we were able to exceed your expectations! We are truly glad that you enjoyed everything, specially our food! We hope you had a pleasant journey back home, and will be honored in welcoming you back next February.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We consider this property our beach house. We don't need to maintain or staff it, as Barcelo has done a marvelous job. Always friendly, helpful and simply a clean, beautiful property. Lots to do in the area, if you can pull yourself away from the property.

Room Tip: Always do Premium club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Norm,
We greatly appreciate you kind comments regarding your recent stay at Barceló Karmina Palace. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our service, friendly staff and cleanliness.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Travelled to Manzanillo for 2 weeks Jan 28-Feb11with 2 other couples. Check in was rather slow-close to an hour in our line! only negative we encountered.
Our room was beautiful, marble, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, nice large balcony, well stocked fridge, hot water in shower and tub, air conditioning. We were on the 5th floor with ocean view. The weather was absolutely amazing every day-26-30C. The food was good at the buffet, as were all of our meals at the italian and mexican a la carte. The japanese a la carte was very good but extremely slow service.
The buffet had a different theme every evening which was great. We usually ate breakfast at the italian restaurant when open as we loved the lady cooking the omelets-she was a joy to watch. Once we found our favorite spot by the top of the waterfall, we had wonderful waiters delivering drinks a plenty. Went snorkeling one day on resort beach where we saw beautiful schools of many different fish and a huge turtle. Took the sunset cruise and were fortunate to see mother and baby whale playing quite close to the boat. The views in Manzanillo are breathtaking.
The men enjoyed 3 rounds of 18 hole golf next door as they found they could golf 2 for 1 mon, wed, friday mornings, with a cart for $90. We took a day trip to the market and to the harbour-where shopping was great and inexpensive. We went out one evening to La Vaquero restaurant, downtown close to walmart, for excellent steak. Walmart is where we bought our booze to bring back. Walking in Manzanillo was very safe, the people are very friendly.
We look forward to one day returning as was a beautiful place to go and relax and enjoy ourselves completely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveforholidays5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear liveforholidays5,
On behalf of the team of Barcelo Karmina, we would like to thank you for your comments over your stay with among us. We are honored that you had a wonderful holiday, enjoying our facilities, suites, food and service. We are also very happy that you felt safe and comfortable walking around town, like you mention Manzanillo is very safe, tranquil, and always with wonderful weather!.
It will be great to be able to welcome you once again.
Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited the Barcelo Karmina Palace in February, Sorry for the late review just have forgot to write this.

This property is located in a great location, outside of the busy downtown area but also not far from it.

For people that have never been to this part of Mexico it is an absolute must, it's a completely different experience than visiting Cancun and Mayan Riviera. The people are amazing and the culture is that of true Mexico not the commercialized face in Cancun.

We booked our package with Transat Holidays and flew down on CanJet, flight went without a hitch service was fantastic and for a 5 and a half hour flight it went surprisingly quick. Flying with Canjet was my biggest pre-vacation concern as I have never flown them before and heard bad things however I found it to be excellent even better then previous experiences with Sunwing or other airlines.

Upon arrival to the resort the entrance in beautiful, bus pulls right into the motor lobby and you unload without having to worry about your bags just go straight to check in, check-in was relatively smooth, requests don't seem to be of a concern and aren't always accommodated however which can be frustrating.

The room was great, clean well kept with a nice balcony with chairs and beautiful views, the rooms do need to be modernized very soon however are still nice and comfortable, the bed in our room was comfortable though I heard mixed things while we were there about others experiences with that aspect.

The restaurants were mostly great, The buffet food was fantastic when it was hot which could be hit and miss however there was always different options with different sauces and things that were unique. The a la carts were great our favorite was the Mexian a la cart which had amazing views over the ocean and great food. The Japanese was also great as was the Italian.

Bars were great typically quick service as is the pool service, shout out to Hugo here he was absolutely fantastic, by the pool during the day he never let our drinks go empty. One thing however in the bars is they need menu's for the different drinks offered at them.

The pools were beautiful very well kept and fun, lots of chairs however since the beach is not the greatest the chairs fill up fast so getting your chairs early is smart but if your not going to use them all day don't hog them from others.

Overall this resort was great, the city of Manzanillo is just breathtaking and is very safe, we walked the city streets without ever being bothered. The weather was perfect for February when we were there, 30-33 degrees without humidity ~40+ with humidity without any rain all week!

Some excursions I would recommend are the Mountain ATV, and the Sunset cruise, the city excursion was nice however was pretty rushed I would recommend just spending 15$ on a cab to the city and just go explore yourself at your own pace.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view, first floor rooms have patios that are just o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jarrod06,
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience of your stay with us during February. We are very happy and honored that you enjoyed all of our services, suites, grounds and food and that you began to enjoy your vacations from the beginning.

We are currently working in a project which includes an update in the suites.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all of our Restaurants, always finding something great to eat! We will certainly pass on your kind comments over to Hugo. We completely agree with you over your comments of the spectacular view from the Mexican Restaurant, it is one of a kind in all Manzanillo.

We are thrilled that you also had fun in some of the excursions that Manzanillo offers and like you mention, Manzanillo is a very safe place to just walk around.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
240 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#16 of 53 in Manzanillo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
332 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing