We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time there, would definitely go again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time there, would definitely go again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The resort is getting a bit old, but the rooms were spacious and clean and the food was the best of any all inclusive I've ever been to. The resort itself was clean and the pools and beach were perfect for families with young children. Great family resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexicanPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear MexicanPirate,
We greatly appreciate your comments. We are really happy that you had a delightful stay and that we were able to fulfill your expectations.
We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next vacations!

Kind Regards,
Barceló Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    961
    334
    152
    99
See reviews for
1,163
852
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We last stayed here two years ago. The facilities are really beginnin to show their age and the service has slipped considerably. The mirror backing was eroding away in the bathroom, the brass shower stall was coroded on the bottom, there was mold above the tub, the air conditioner leaked water in the foyer continually, there was a continual shortage of face cloths (even though we called down daily to request them), the bed mattress was hard as stone, the pillows were completely worn out. Generally the place is in need of a complete overhaul. We won't be back for a third time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tech5709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Been here a few years ago, both times enjoyed ourselves. If you're really into beaches this hotel may not be for you as it's a bit small. The pools are great and good service to the chairs. Was a good time to go Nov 30-Dec 1st, not too busy however all restaurants not open because of this. Food was pretty good, room air conditioning a little weak, one of our friends found a good sized rock in his food and broke his tooth, beds typical Mexican hard beds but overall good. Used the gym 3 times (again air conditioning a little weak). The Japanese restaurant had very good food but no air conditioning so we couldn't wait to get out of there, it was so hot. Both times to this location weather very hot

Room Tip: Been to this hotel two times, I think they all have a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve_2_travel_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Service responses were really fast, and of the high quality. I would especially mark Karen Ortiz, as example employee. Kids were taken care of, that adults could enjoy the vacations, Av lot of space around the pools and on the ocean shore,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jacob S;

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Karmina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Karmina Palace! Went with my husband and 2 sons (age 17) and my brother-in-law, his wife and 2 little girls. The little kids had a blast and loved the evening shows which were very engaging. The teenagers and adults enjoyed the beach volley ball, pool basket ball and aqua aerobics! The staff were great about getting people involved and we had a lot of fun with them! Yesica and Brenda were amazing at their jobs! Thank you for so much fun ladies!! The buffets were really good and the service was friendly. I enjoyed that more than I enjoyed to a la carte restaurants. The food at the Japanese restaurant was really good, but the service was not great. Felt like they didn't want to serve you too much and we never received the extra sashimi we ordered (twice) and we got the wrong sushi rolls, but we still enjoyed it. The Mexican restaurant had incredible views and a nice ambiance, but the food wasn't great. I had the lobster crepe which was cold, and the sauce too sweet and it had a crust on top from being left sitting too long. My husbands beef was ok, but cold also. Too bad. Also tried the spa for a massage and it was nice until someone started a generator on the other side of the wall in the room where I was having my massage. It only went on for about 30 seconds, but even after that you could hear people talking on the other side of the wall. Needs better sound proofing. Everything else was quite enjoyable and we will probably go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYC2SandOrSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rigel B;

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I guess Karmina Palace is first or second place as a hotel in Manzanillo, I havent been in Las Hadas for a while so I can compare at all.

I really liked the architecture of this hotel but I found it too expensive for what you find there, the food is so so, not great really, the rooms are really big but kind of old, furniture is old too and I think it would be better if they change those old tvs for new LCD Tv Screens.

Bathrobes are very worn up.

The grounds and pools are great, the staff is helpful but you never see them smile.

The small private beach is not great and the sea smell awful.

My favorite place at the hotel was the lobby bar.

Room Tip: Look for the higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunezjorge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear nunezjorge88;

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Barceló Karmina.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went to Barcelo Karmina for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more happy with the resort. The staff were amazing, Very friendly and attentive. We also loved the tours we did arranged through a tour company based out of the hotel and the little town of Manzanillo was very friendly and felt quite safe. My wife has been to the Mayan and Cancun and far prefers this hotel and area/town to the others. We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stephen P;

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Karmina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Kind Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Barcelo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing