We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to leave the room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave the room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Visited November 9 to 16 this year. 1st time to Manzanillo and was impressed by Karmina grounds, facilities and rooms. Check in, door men, concierge all very good. Lobby and common areas 5 star. Some other room deck repairs going on but work did not start until after 9:30 in morning.
===Room===
- Stayed in 5019 Master suite with a pool
- Got some bug bites (red ants?) and would recommend bug spray on legs
- INCREDIBLE view of Manzanillo Bay and Las Hadas 17 and 18 holes!
- Very large deck area (1/2 with canopy coverage); most evenings with friends w/ loungers and chairs
- 1 master bedroom with large bathroom (tub, shower, toilet, double sink)
- 2nd bedroom with twin beds and bathroom (shower, toilet, sink)
- towel art everyday (tipped 200 pesos on first and they kept coming / 100 peso tip at end)
- Nice 2 love seat livingroom with TV
- Nice 4 seat kitchen area
- Fridge always well stocked with Tecate beer, waters, pops, peanuts, chips
- Large spacious, well maintained room and deck for family of 4
- Very good clean bedding with good pillow selection
- Room maintenace request for toilet problem was very immediate
- Small pool on deck off master room was a nice cool off any time of the day
- Room facilities were so nice we did not need to leave the room
- Some days had a wait for hot water in early morning (ran the tub for 10 minutes)
===Airport Transfers===
- Go to Danitours (8 people with luggage and 2 sets of clubs for $70US each way)
- In inconsistant Mexico Dani Haro was a rock of consistancy and reliability
===Beach===
- Small but well layed out with loungers and beach beds
- Swim shoes a must when going into water due to rocks
- Free ocean kayak for 30 minutes a day (fun paddle into the bay)
- Banana boat for 60 pesos per person for 10-15 minute ride (kids enjoyed)
===Restaurants===
- Buffet was typical with the grill being the breakfast highlight with omelets
- Overall food was 7/10
- Kyoto was actually the best (contrary to other reviews); flaming spanish coffee offered
- Capri had good Italian food
- Agave on the point was a wonderful view with good Mexican food
- Not all restaurants open every night and Jessica at concierge desk was helpful
- Premium club excellent for snacks, quick bites and high speed internet access (restart modem if internet access is lost)
===Bars===
- Carioci lounge on the beach point was hopping every night with dancing and music
- Lobby bar for quieter time (great service from Luz and Llordes)
===Pool===
- slide was disappointingly closed (looks like fun)
- good adult and child separation if you need it (2 adult only pools)
- zero entry pool for young children
- lots of daily activities if you want to keep active (beach volleyball, aqua aerobics, badminton, ceramic painting, etc.)
- Waiters kept drinks flowing
===Activities===
- Took taxi to Manzanillo but if you want english speaking tour call Daniel Haro for same price
- Golfed at Las Hadas 3.5 star course and not very busy (internet negotiate price - 2 rounds helped - payed $75 per round for 8:30 tee time)
- Golfed at Isla Navidad 4.5 star course and was busier (internet negotiate before going there - Payed $110 for 27 hole tee time at 9:30)
- Ventured into town to shop and eat (again ask Daniel for best places)
- Flea market open on Saturday for souveniers, trinkets, clothes, shoes, etc. worth the trip (taxi or long walk)
===Spa===
- Message with hotel booking was excellent (20-25 minutes) - made request for stiff neck and loosed right up
===Gym===
- Amazing little gym with almost everything (quite impressed)
- Trainer on hand for any assistance you might need
- Cardio equipment included treadmills, crosstrainers, bikes (both upright and recumbant), spin bikes, steppers
- Dumbells up to 50 lbs.
- Barbell with full range of plates including incline and decline benches
- Numerous weight stack machines for all body parts

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to master suite and premium club
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CanadaBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    936
    327
    149
    98
See reviews for
1,124
829
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here last year over Christmas and although there were many great aspects like the weather, I would not stay at this reort again. If you read my other reviews you will know that I am not picky. First I booked Club Premium and it wasn't really worth it.

I want to start with what was good about this place. Although the room was very dated and a little worn, it had two bedroom and two bathrooms - that I loved!!!!! It was great. But I did pay extra for that. Also the weather was awesome and nights warm.. The resort itself was smaller and nicely laid out so I appreciated that. Overall the regular staff were good but the Club Premium staff or should I say PERSON, not so great.

First and not the fault of the hotel, our trip Air Transat was delayed by almost a day and we got in at at very early time so of course had to wait to get a room. Club Premium supposed to have private check in but when we got there the lady was MIA and I found that to be the case anytime I needed something and went to find her.

I had stayed Royal Service at the Melia Caribe in Punta Cana and the service was great. They didn't have just one person working, there were several people. Plus the extra amenities were great.

There were a lot of little mishaps and mistakes made but I don't need to go into them. The most disappointing was the food variety. What they had was fine as I am not picky eater but I was shocked that guacamole was hard to find. The year before I stayed at a Riu in Cabos and the food was excellent and lots of variety.

This resort has mostly other Mexican tourists which is fine and don't have an issue with that but I did find they weren't interested in the typical "niceities". I am Canadian and although people like to cpmplain about the "Americans", I have always met many pleasant Americans on my holiday.

Would I go back to Manzanillo? Yes, would I stay here...No.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelQueen229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been to this Hotel twice, one in November 2011 and now, November 2012. One of the first things that caught my eye was that it is and looks clean everywhere, you do not get that feeling of humidity or things that shouldn't be somewhere in the place.
Rooms are comfortable, even if you do not have sea view, there is a small gym and enough entertainment for the kids and adults, though some have additional non-included fares.
This hotel has four restaurants, the main one is where most of the daily "all you can eat" activities take place, food has good taste and you have multiple choices, vegans might have a hard time some days though. The remaining restaurants have different specialties such as italian, mexican or japanese food. All good in general terms.
A good stay is of about 5 days, only thing to be worried about are mosquitoes, you will find them near the beach in the evening or all day in the main restaurant.
Staff is in general terms corteous but wanting to earn some tips all the time, particularly at the restaurants and snack/drink bars.

Room Tip: If posible ask for upper rooms (4th to 7th floors), lower rooms (1st to 3rd floors) may get some noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl_atMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good hotel, Staff great, food good but the same everyday. The bar staff didn't know a lot of the cocktails my wife would have liked to try. The rooms were amazing, with a shower the size of a regular hotel bathrooms. The grounds were very well kept. It is within walking distance of town. Lots of police around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel's facilities including the rooms are very good, but the service everywhere is not good at all.

Tha staff things they are doing you a favor....and we are doing that for you!!!!!! It's a real shame because Mexico is all about good service.

If you don't care a lot about smiles and things like that the hotel is more than fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jime05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are on our last day of a memorable 5 night 6 day trip. The hotel is gorgeous and the grounds immaculately manicured. Everything is spotless, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The General Manager, Luis Jiminez, made our stay comfortable and stress free. A first rate resort manager!!!!!

The food in general was very good. There are 3 theme restaurants. The Mexican restaurant has a magnificent view of the bay, the Capri, italian food, and the Kyoto, Japanese and Chinese food. I was not impressed with the Kyoto, having eaten Japanese food on many occasions, however the manager explained that it was more geared to the average local tastes, than to someone who really enjoys traditional Japanese food.
In spite of the main chef not being there for a couple of days, the food was still pretty good in his absence, in most cases.

Excellent value for the price, and definitely the best all inclusive we have experienced in Mexico. Especially the breakfasts, they were outstanding.

This is definitely a Mexican style resort, and while most of the staff speak English, being fluent in Spanish really does help if you have a problem.

We will definitely return, as soon as possible, and recommend this resort to friends and family. It's a short 3 hour drive on excellent roads for us, so an ideal spot for a romantic few days.

The only disappointment was poor internet service, which was not a problem for us, but might be for business travelers. In my opinion this should be a free service, and available in all rooms. Download bandwidth needs to be increased substantially for business travelers.

Most of the coupons ($200 U.S.), were for services such as the spa and beauty salon. We didn't use any of them. Possibly a change in policy would be a good idea. The spa prices were high in comparison with other spas in Mexico.

Room Tip: All Junior suites appear to be much the same from the photographs. Ocean View (premium) is more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mexigal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our room was big and clean except that the AC was leaking water. We reported the problem and 3 days later was still leaking and much much worse. Our room had marble floors so it was very dangerous to walk around in the dark with water on the floor.

Also, the manager at AGABE restaurant denied us a table for being 15 minutes late when most of the restaurant was empty. After a few minutes of arguing we got a table. Good food and friendly waiting staff, except for manager. I would still recommend it.

Room Tip: The room we stayed was big and very nice. Shower and big tub, also 2 sinks on opposite sites of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneGlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing