We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Much better. The Good, The Bad and The Ugly.”
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here last year over Christmas and although there were many great aspects like the weather, I would not stay at this reort again. If you read my other reviews you will know that I am not picky. First I booked Club Premium and it wasn't really worth it.

I want to start with what was good about this place. Although the room was very dated and a little worn, it had two bedroom and two bathrooms - that I loved!!!!! It was great. But I did pay extra for that. Also the weather was awesome and nights warm.. The resort itself was smaller and nicely laid out so I appreciated that. Overall the regular staff were good but the Club Premium staff or should I say PERSON, not so great.

First and not the fault of the hotel, our trip Air Transat was delayed by almost a day and we got in at at very early time so of course had to wait to get a room. Club Premium supposed to have private check in but when we got there the lady was MIA and I found that to be the case anytime I needed something and went to find her.

I had stayed Royal Service at the Melia Caribe in Punta Cana and the service was great. They didn't have just one person working, there were several people. Plus the extra amenities were great.

There were a lot of little mishaps and mistakes made but I don't need to go into them. The most disappointing was the food variety. What they had was fine as I am not picky eater but I was shocked that guacamole was hard to find. The year before I stayed at a Riu in Cabos and the food was excellent and lots of variety.

This resort has mostly other Mexican tourists which is fine and don't have an issue with that but I did find they weren't interested in the typical "niceities". I am Canadian and although people like to cpmplain about the "Americans", I have always met many pleasant Americans on my holiday.

Would I go back to Manzanillo? Yes, would I stay here...No.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelQueen229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 3,381 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been to this Hotel twice, one in November 2011 and now, November 2012. One of the first things that caught my eye was that it is and looks clean everywhere, you do not get that feeling of humidity or things that shouldn't be somewhere in the place.
Rooms are comfortable, even if you do not have sea view, there is a small gym and enough entertainment for the kids and adults, though some have additional non-included fares.
This hotel has four restaurants, the main one is where most of the daily "all you can eat" activities take place, food has good taste and you have multiple choices, vegans might have a hard time some days though. The remaining restaurants have different specialties such as italian, mexican or japanese food. All good in general terms.
A good stay is of about 5 days, only thing to be worried about are mosquitoes, you will find them near the beach in the evening or all day in the main restaurant.
Staff is in general terms corteous but wanting to earn some tips all the time, particularly at the restaurants and snack/drink bars.

Room Tip: If posible ask for upper rooms (4th to 7th floors), lower rooms (1st to 3rd floors) may get some noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl_atMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good hotel, Staff great, food good but the same everyday. The bar staff didn't know a lot of the cocktails my wife would have liked to try. The rooms were amazing, with a shower the size of a regular hotel bathrooms. The grounds were very well kept. It is within walking distance of town. Lots of police around.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel's facilities including the rooms are very good, but the service everywhere is not good at all.

Tha staff things they are doing you a favor....and we are doing that for you!!!!!! It's a real shame because Mexico is all about good service.

If you don't care a lot about smiles and things like that the hotel is more than fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jime05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are on our last day of a memorable 5 night 6 day trip. The hotel is gorgeous and the grounds immaculately manicured. Everything is spotless, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The General Manager, Luis Jiminez, made our stay comfortable and stress free. A first rate resort manager!!!!!

The food in general was very good. There are 3 theme restaurants. The Mexican restaurant has a magnificent view of the bay, the Capri, italian food, and the Kyoto, Japanese and Chinese food. I was not impressed with the Kyoto, having eaten Japanese food on many occasions, however the manager explained that it was more geared to the average local tastes, than to someone who really enjoys traditional Japanese food.
In spite of the main chef not being there for a couple of days, the food was still pretty good in his absence, in most cases.

Excellent value for the price, and definitely the best all inclusive we have experienced in Mexico. Especially the breakfasts, they were outstanding.

This is definitely a Mexican style resort, and while most of the staff speak English, being fluent in Spanish really does help if you have a problem.

We will definitely return, as soon as possible, and recommend this resort to friends and family. It's a short 3 hour drive on excellent roads for us, so an ideal spot for a romantic few days.

The only disappointment was poor internet service, which was not a problem for us, but might be for business travelers. In my opinion this should be a free service, and available in all rooms. Download bandwidth needs to be increased substantially for business travelers.

Most of the coupons ($200 U.S.), were for services such as the spa and beauty salon. We didn't use any of them. Possibly a change in policy would be a good idea. The spa prices were high in comparison with other spas in Mexico.

Room Tip: All Junior suites appear to be much the same from the photographs. Ocean View (premium) is more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mexigal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your stay at Barceló Karmina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our room was big and clean except that the AC was leaking water. We reported the problem and 3 days later was still leaking and much much worse. Our room had marble floors so it was very dangerous to walk around in the dark with water on the floor.

Also, the manager at AGABE restaurant denied us a table for being 15 minutes late when most of the restaurant was empty. After a few minutes of arguing we got a table. Good food and friendly waiting staff, except for manager. I would still recommend it.

Room Tip: The room we stayed was big and very nice. Shower and big tub, also 2 sinks on opposite sites of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneGlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

From meeting us at airport, to arranging for our return there, Barcelo Karmina was wonderful!!! We have stayed at other all inclusives and thought they were the best, but now have changed our minds. Manzanillo is not known as US tourist destination, so the hotel and the city were not overcrowded with people, which was so much more relaxing for us. My husband found an American from his hometown of San Diego, working at the hotel so we were able to find out lots about the town and neighboring village. Our room was a suite with two tv's, huge king size bed, the bathroom has separate shower and tub, two sinks and is huge!!! We received complimentary gifts nightly from the hotel staff and also enjoyed the pool with huge "adults only" sections. The town of Manzanillo is not a tourist attraction with tons of bars and vendors and we really liked that, we were able to walk around the city without being hounded by vendors selling things.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wernemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Karmina was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#22 of 52 in Manzanillo
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#9 of 52 in Manzanillo
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: $187 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing