We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Mexican Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A True Mexican Holiday”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family and I (3 high school and university aged "children") stayed at Playa Vista de Oro over New Years in 2014. As many of the previous reviews have pointed out, the resort is certainly a bit older and could use some updating, particularly around the pool area. And softer pillows would be nice. But other than that, we found the resort to be wonderful. The friendliness of the staff must be commented on. Whoever is hiring/training staff here is to be commended. Absolutely everyone had a smile on their face when interacting with guests, and would do what they could to help you with any issue. The language barrier sometimes got in the way, but there was always someone around with enough English to figure it out. The young adults who arrange all the activities around the pool and resort are also the nightly entertainment. While I have certainly seen better shows at other (read: resorts catering more to North Americans), I really enjoyed the shows at Vista Playa de Oro because I felt I knew many of the performers. My oldest son made friends with a couple of the entertainers, and went out clubbing with them one night. Apparently it was bumpin'!

Jorge (or George) could always be found to help arrange an excursion, or explain anything about the resort, or just bend your ear! The staff at the front counter were nice (notice a theme here?) and there always seemed to be someone at the desk who spoke English. Also, as others have said, this resort is mostly occupied by Mexican families, from surrounding cities (lots of people from Guadalajara, and also quite a few folks from the states visiting families-and always willing to act as interpreters!), So if you are looking to go to Mexico to hang out with other North Americans where everyone speaks English, probably you should think of somewhere else. But as my wife said on the beach our last day she would much rather spend the day at the beach with laughing Mexican children than drunk North Americans any time.

The beach itself is fantastic. You have to cross the street to get to it, but there are guards at the crossing to stop traffic. Best beach in the area-nice waves for surfing or boogie boarding, but not so much surf that you could not hang out in the shallower water)-

The food was very good. Simple and very flavorful. Could be hotter,but really, pretty typical of all inclusive resorts. Beer was cold, drinks were tasty. Lines at the beach bar could get a bit long on the weekends, but again, like any all inclusive on a holiday weekend.

There is lots to do near the resort. Down the beach toward Club Santiago has nice restaurants (waves are a bit smaller there), and Manzanillo itself is a 30 minute bus or car ride away, with some touristy spots for food and shopping along the way also. We surfed or boogie boarded pretty much every day. Caught some fish in the surf in the evenings. Rented a panga for some more fishing, trolling for mahi mahi and casting to the rocky islands. Kayak and stand up paddle board rentals could be found around the beach. There were beach vendors, but they were not pushy I didn't think.

To the management and staff of Vista Playa de Oro, particularly Jorge, thanks for showing my family a wonderful time. Everyone in the family said they would come back any time.

Room Tip: The rooms going up the hill appeared to be a bit nicer, but I'm only going on appearance, I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General G, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and the time you spend sharing them on Tripadvisor, on behalf all of our staff we would like to express our gratitude for the way you describes the positive aspects of our service. We believe also that Manzanillo has a strong tourist potential as a great destination for vacation.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you return to Manzanillo and Vista Playa de Oro
Muchas Gracias!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    124
    71
    52
    68
See reviews for
232
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This year we thought we'd try something new with our timeshare exchange. With trying something new, we went in with very low expectations and kept in the back of our minds that something like this might happen.

The thing I don't understand are the reviews of this place on pretty much every site, either people have really low expectations or RCI is paying people to write a good review.

I would like to say that we are a well traveled married, childless couple. This place is VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY, and by very, I mean, kids are like 10 to 1 here! Now, don't get me wrong, I don't mind kids, but this place is like a super large kindergarten classroom with kids running and peeing in every direction. The place no matter where you go outside smells of urine. The entire place caters to children.

On to the room! So we walk in, the guy plugs in our refrigerator, which I understand is to save electricity, but it also means that we have to wait until the following day to go grocery shopping. The kitchen is clean, but the stove top was gas which you light with a match, but are scared to because you are afraid the whole place is going to blow! The mattresses there were so hard and were on concrete slabs instead of frames, one night of sleep on them gave us back and shoulder pain for the entire day. And the icing on the cake, our bedroom window was right next to where they have movie night, played very loudly.

To sum it up, we stayed for one night, spent the entire next day looking for somewhere else to spend the week. This trip is a little on the expensive side now, but being comfortable in a new place that has a better bed and view is priceless to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SbuxLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sbuxlori,

First of all thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor, we consider that our guest´s feedback is the most effective way the achieve excellence service. We regret that you were not satisfied with part of our service and not cover entirely your expectations. Our Hotel has many repetitive guests every year, coming from US and Canada. We are identified as a family hotel, and part of our strategy is to focus on entertainment.

Our company use tripadvisor and similar websites to continuously checking comments and suggestions from our guests. We can assure you that this process is attached to actual travel experiences.

Manzanillo is a place with great beauty and charm; we hope consider visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I'm writing this from the balcony of the wonderful hotel we fled to after not being able to stand one more minute of Vista Playa de Oro, even though we will forfeit our nonrefundable 6 more nights there. We'd rather let the money go. Dirty! Not maintained at all. No internet. Bug coated dead lightbulbs on the balcony, hence no light for reading at night outside. They wouldn't even give us water to drink beyond the first litre on the first day. Said that one was the limit, for a 2 week stay. (We were not on the all inclusive plan.) Broken down and filthy stove and fridge. No towels or clothes to clean dishes. Plastic covered mattress led to sweaty bad sleep. Stinky stained sofa for second person to sleep on. Stained sheets. Nice view of road. This place is NOT up to RCI standards at all. We will NEVER come here again. We knew this place 27 years ago, and again 8 years ago, it has gone way down hill. Over and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travlngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Vista Playa de Oro has been our home away from home going now into our fourth year. There is so much to say about the old world charm that is all around you along with the fabulous beaches,
great food exquisite scenery but most of all the loving people. Jorges Ramos the hotels
wonderful host and P.R. manager leads his staff with his great example of friendliness, warmth, and great sense of humour. He sets an example of efficiency and hard work with that
never ending smile and good nature. Your great Jorges and along with your Staff you truly make our months their our "home away from home." Thanks for everything.

Elana & Jim Baxter
Nanaimo BC Canada

Room Tip: Higher level and room with kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dataNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife is the world traveler and I am the admitted typical “American Tourist” so it was quite a shock to check into a true Mexican Resort for me from April 5th -19th. Wow! Is all I can say. What an amazing experience. Great quarters, great food, fantastic grounds and pools along with the beautiful view of the ocean we had from our quarters. If you have never been, you need to go IF you want to experience Mexico from a reality point of view. First thing when checking in is look up Jorge Ramos, the General Manager. Jorge will get you going the right direction. He runs a tight ship and the staff is excellent as well as super friendly. Don’t worry if you don’t know Spanish. While English is rarely spoken, the staff and even the guests will help you figure it out. Behave yourself and Manzanillo is very safe. It’s per capita crime is much less than most larger American cities. We felt safer in Manzanillo and at the Play de Oro than about anywhere else we’ve stayed. In all my vacations, I have never had a more enjoyable experience. Save us a room Jorge, particularly 13-304 cause’, God willing, we’ll be back to see you in November!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvarOjeda, Manager at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jeff.

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad your first impression was positive. Here in Vista Playa de Oro, we feel fortunate to be in such a beautiful city, very safe very quiet. Gladly share your comments with our partners, about how well you perceived our service. Jorge will take care of everything for your return.

Gracias Amigo, and see you soon.

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Jorge Ramos, one of the managers, at this all inclusive has made sure that we have a great time and have a fantastic vacation for the past 12 years for our group of 2 to 12 at the Vista.
The hotel is only $35 ride from the airport and takes about 30 minutes. You can see the banana and pepper fields as you leave the airport

The staff in Reception are good bilingual speakers as is much of the the staff and registration is always easy and smooth. They give a good rate on currency conversion, too, but, we don't exchange many or our dollars as the hotel is truly all inclusive.

We always get the room we want or an upscaled substitute at no additional cost. It is always clean, roomy and in good shape.

The food service in 2 snack bars and 4 restaurants is buffet family style and very good as it includes soups, salads, fresh bakery goodies, entrees such as fresh fish, barbecued beef, turkey, pork, ham and individual prepared eggs. The desserts at lunch and dinner include "milk cake" and flan and other "on I'm on vacation" goodies.

There are 3 all inclusive bars at the hotel and on the beach for guests offering fun soft drinks for the kids, beer, tequila, rum or vodka drinks for the adults. The brands are all Mexican ones which are very good and fun to try.

I prefer the beach, so I don't use the pools very much. There is a large pool for the family and 2 smaller ones for children. The beach is the highlight at the Vista for our group. Umbrellas and chairs are provided and the beach is generally very clean. The surf is okay for surfing and great for boogie boards and body surfing. Waves often crest at 8 feet so be sure to join your children in the water. The sunsets on the beach and at the hotel are quite fine. You can see more than one at your stay as the weather in the winter is clear with an average temperature
of 82-845F.

Each night after dinner there is live entertainment such as musical reviews, pirate shows etc.. These are held in the large outdoor theater on property. The are good fun are are on a par with community theater here are home. There are also zip lines, wall climbing, miniature golf and tennis courts that are enjoyed by many of the teens and younger guests.

It is difficult for us to get good air connections from the US to Manzanillo as the only direct flights are from Phoenix, Houston and LA. Our airfare is generally between $600 to $700.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 1,2,and 3 are closest to the pools and restaurants which makes them nosiest on Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from our 9th annual year in beautiful Manzanillo, Mexico. As usual, Playa de Oro was our "home" for two weeks. We were greeted warmly with hugs and smiles from the Staff and our check-in went smoothly and quickly. The cleaniness of our room was impeccable, the beach warm and welcoming, the food plentiful there was always something we wanted to eat. My computer froze up one of the first days, and George Ramos, the hotel's "go-to guy" arranged for their IT employee to check it out and ultimately install a new keyboard for me. See George for any of your needs or to arrange side trips while you are here. He is fluent in both Spanish and English and tremendously knowledgable. We felt catered to and it was with great sadness that our two weeks were over so quickly. We definitely have our rooms booked for next year and look forward to returning again. The only negative we experienced was not the fault of the resort or of Manzanillo itself, but rather the airline. When we first start going, it was a short 4 hour flight from Minneapolis/St.Paul to Manzanillo. Now, because of there being no direct flights, it takes us over 10 hours to get there and get home. Losing almost a full day to travel both coming and going is definitely discouraging.

Room Tip: Playa de Oro is built on a hill. If you don't mind steps, the further up the hill you go the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired54751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was gratifying for us reading and share with our staff your comments. We are honored that you consider us home here in this magical place in Mexico, Manzanillo certainly has a unique charm. Speaking of Vista Playa de Oro comes with the great work of Jorge Ramos; we appreciate your recognition of his work.
We want to increase international flights to Manzanillo, especially form Minneapolis, St. Paul and Wisconsin; so we hope agencies take action soon on this matter.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you return next year.
Gracias Amigos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
3.1 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo

Property: Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Address: Blvd. Miguel de la Madrid | S/N, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill side, across the street from the beach, this beautiful hotel resembles a Mexican village town with cobble streets and clay tile roofs. This family-oriented All Inclusive resort is at only 15 minutes from downtown Manzanillo and only 20 minutes from the international airport. It has 250 rooms, with Mexican contemporary decoration. Services included are one Buffet Restaurant, one themed restaurant with alternated Italian and Caribbean menu. four bars, Palapa snack bar, Beach snack-bar • Tennis courts (not lighted), two Zip-lines (One for adults and one for children), Wall climbing, Children’s Club, Baby Club, Pool tables, Gym , Mini-golf, Safety deposit boxes at reception, wireless internet in public areas. The property also has a nice beachfront restaurant with a seafood menu, for an additional charge. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is also open for locals. All rooms feature one king sized bed or two twin sized beds. Maximum occupancy per room is three adults or two adults and two children. Children under 11 stay for free, one child per paying adult. Maximum 2 children per room.Activities for children also include a weekly camp-out night, supervised by our entertainment staff, as well as a fun Pirate Treasure Hunt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Playa De Oro Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing