We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Bailey, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife is the world traveler and I am the admitted typical “American Tourist” so it was quite a shock to check into a true Mexican Resort for me from April 5th -19th. Wow! Is all I can say. What an amazing experience. Great quarters, great food, fantastic grounds and pools along with the beautiful view of the ocean we had from our quarters. If you have never been, you need to go IF you want to experience Mexico from a reality point of view. First thing when checking in is look up Jorge Ramos, the General Manager. Jorge will get you going the right direction. He runs a tight ship and the staff is excellent as well as super friendly. Don’t worry if you don’t know Spanish. While English is rarely spoken, the staff and even the guests will help you figure it out. Behave yourself and Manzanillo is very safe. It’s per capita crime is much less than most larger American cities. We felt safer in Manzanillo and at the Play de Oro than about anywhere else we’ve stayed. In all my vacations, I have never had a more enjoyable experience. Save us a room Jorge, particularly 13-304 cause’, God willing, we’ll be back to see you in November!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvarOjeda, Manager at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jeff.

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad your first impression was positive. Here in Vista Playa de Oro, we feel fortunate to be in such a beautiful city, very safe very quiet. Gladly share your comments with our partners, about how well you perceived our service. Jorge will take care of everything for your return.

Gracias Amigo, and see you soon.

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    124
    68
    52
    67
See reviews for
229
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Jorge Ramos, one of the managers, at this all inclusive has made sure that we have a great time and have a fantastic vacation for the past 12 years for our group of 2 to 12 at the Vista.
The hotel is only $35 ride from the airport and takes about 30 minutes. You can see the banana and pepper fields as you leave the airport

The staff in Reception are good bilingual speakers as is much of the the staff and registration is always easy and smooth. They give a good rate on currency conversion, too, but, we don't exchange many or our dollars as the hotel is truly all inclusive.

We always get the room we want or an upscaled substitute at no additional cost. It is always clean, roomy and in good shape.

The food service in 2 snack bars and 4 restaurants is buffet family style and very good as it includes soups, salads, fresh bakery goodies, entrees such as fresh fish, barbecued beef, turkey, pork, ham and individual prepared eggs. The desserts at lunch and dinner include "milk cake" and flan and other "on I'm on vacation" goodies.

There are 3 all inclusive bars at the hotel and on the beach for guests offering fun soft drinks for the kids, beer, tequila, rum or vodka drinks for the adults. The brands are all Mexican ones which are very good and fun to try.

I prefer the beach, so I don't use the pools very much. There is a large pool for the family and 2 smaller ones for children. The beach is the highlight at the Vista for our group. Umbrellas and chairs are provided and the beach is generally very clean. The surf is okay for surfing and great for boogie boards and body surfing. Waves often crest at 8 feet so be sure to join your children in the water. The sunsets on the beach and at the hotel are quite fine. You can see more than one at your stay as the weather in the winter is clear with an average temperature
of 82-845F.

Each night after dinner there is live entertainment such as musical reviews, pirate shows etc.. These are held in the large outdoor theater on property. The are good fun are are on a par with community theater here are home. There are also zip lines, wall climbing, miniature golf and tennis courts that are enjoyed by many of the teens and younger guests.

It is difficult for us to get good air connections from the US to Manzanillo as the only direct flights are from Phoenix, Houston and LA. Our airfare is generally between $600 to $700.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 1,2,and 3 are closest to the pools and restaurants which makes them nosiest on Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from our 9th annual year in beautiful Manzanillo, Mexico. As usual, Playa de Oro was our "home" for two weeks. We were greeted warmly with hugs and smiles from the Staff and our check-in went smoothly and quickly. The cleaniness of our room was impeccable, the beach warm and welcoming, the food plentiful there was always something we wanted to eat. My computer froze up one of the first days, and George Ramos, the hotel's "go-to guy" arranged for their IT employee to check it out and ultimately install a new keyboard for me. See George for any of your needs or to arrange side trips while you are here. He is fluent in both Spanish and English and tremendously knowledgable. We felt catered to and it was with great sadness that our two weeks were over so quickly. We definitely have our rooms booked for next year and look forward to returning again. The only negative we experienced was not the fault of the resort or of Manzanillo itself, but rather the airline. When we first start going, it was a short 4 hour flight from Minneapolis/St.Paul to Manzanillo. Now, because of there being no direct flights, it takes us over 10 hours to get there and get home. Losing almost a full day to travel both coming and going is definitely discouraging.

Room Tip: Playa de Oro is built on a hill. If you don't mind steps, the further up the hill you go the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired54751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was gratifying for us reading and share with our staff your comments. We are honored that you consider us home here in this magical place in Mexico, Manzanillo certainly has a unique charm. Speaking of Vista Playa de Oro comes with the great work of Jorge Ramos; we appreciate your recognition of his work.
We want to increase international flights to Manzanillo, especially form Minneapolis, St. Paul and Wisconsin; so we hope agencies take action soon on this matter.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you return next year.
Gracias Amigos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The rooms aren't anything spectacular, but the staff was super friendly and it was low key which was perfect for us. The beach is across the street, but they always have someone there to stop traffic (literally!) so you can walk over to the beach. The beach was never busy and there is a convenient bar to order drinks. We opted not to do the all-inclusive (through RCI) but found that big cups of anything were only 35 pesos anyway - such a deal!

We also noticed this hotel is where a lot of locals vacation, so we were one of the few americans at that time, which was not a big deal - just pointing out that it's mostly locals and not many tourists. The rooms were spacious and clean, definitely setup for families.

I wouldn't recommend the all-inclusive if you have that option. We didn't and enjoyed the food elsewhere probably more than at the hotel, but the food was decent so no complaints, we just like variety.

Another great perk about this hotel and probably Manzanillo in general is that we didn't encounter the begging or people constantly bombarding us with selling items on the beach or sidewalks. Occasionally, but not overwhelming compared to other Mexican cities we've been to. We also felt COMPLETELY safe.

Restaurants I would recommend: Juanitos - great for quick but great food, Oasis - nicer dinner and food with great presentation, El Fagaro - great food. There was also a steakhouse now that I can't remember the name of that was just okay. Margaritas (the restaurant close to the hotel) is actually quite good and not very expensive. If you are staying at this hotel, you also get a discount.

Anyway, great place to spend a relaxing vacation and the weather was AMAZING!

Room Tip: The condos are great because they have small kitchens, which also include blenders :) So because we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent a really pleasant week at the resort. The grounds are lovely and well maintained and view spectacular. The staff provided excellent and friendly service. Limited English spoken by the staff, but someone was always available to assist so it was never an issue. The Pacific Coast is a beautiful place and the weather and water temp is great in January. Lots of day trips available if you can tear yourself away from the beach.

Room Tip: The view of the bay is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JournalMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that your last stay with us was positive and pleasant. Our mission is to create memorable experiences, so we will continue working and improving.

Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I read the revieves before we left and thought well not every one will be happy and there were some good comments. Our room was clean and quite nice and overlooked the pool. The beach across the street was the best I've been to in mexico, nice gradual slope nice big waves to play in and no undertow to speak of. The problem was with the food and I am thinking the water (ice etc) as I became very sick the first week we were there until I could be treated with an antibiotic. the then got a terrible flu and cold which I believe came from our airconditioner which i believe may have been contaminated with mold or mildew. There was a very strong smell that came from it. The people are wonderful and the grounds are very nice. Very little english spoken

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for share your comments with us; we believe that feedback from our guests is the effective way to improve our service. We are very sorry for not cover your expectations; we are taking immediate actions to verify and correct the reports on water condition and the air conditioning system.

We sincerely hope you will give us a second chance and consider us as your next vacation destination. Here is my email ecastellanos@playadeoro.com.mx

Thank you once again.
Cordially,
Elias Castellanos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are going to Mexico you dont want to be in a hurry to go anywhere or do anything. Slow down and take your time, but be sure to take your family with you. Funny those words coming from someone who likes to travel on her own. It came to me on my most recent trip to Manzanillo of which I am still on as I am writing this review.

It has been a couple of years since I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, although Jorge Ramos and I have stayed in touched over the years in between my visits. In the two years that I haven't been here I have visited Mexico. I did a review in 2011 about the Royal Solaris, Los cabos, not a positive one in fact. Too much commercialism, too much of the pushy salesman trying to sell you a time share, and an actual segregation of the all inclusive and the time share owners in an all inclusive resort, dinners with signs saying "Members Only"

That's not Mexico!

If you wanna go to Mexico, if you want to eat what the Mexicans eat, hear their language, experience the real Mexico in a safe environment? Then take your family, children of any age to Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo. If you are looking for a great Chinese restaurant you go to one that has the most Chinese eating in it, cause they know good Chinese food, well the same stands for Mexico, go to where the Mexicans go.

You are not going to find eggs Benny at this resort, you are not going to find alot of English speaking Mexicans, they try hard but most just don't speak our language. But then you are in Mexico, and they are however fluent in their language. I have been vacationing in Mexico for more than 20 years and have no problem communicating with the people of this country and I dont know any Spanish. I dont pretend to know anything either, I say hello, good morning and it kind of lets everyone know that I am an English speaking person. I ask them if they speak any English and they normally say no, and they usually try to find out if I know any Spanish, of which I say no, nothing... then the communication begins, in the end we both get what we need, it may take a little more time then if you were to know the language. That is why it is so important to not be in a hurry when you go to Mexico, and so important to take your children to a resort like this to truly experience real Mexico. When they are making announcements, or at night during the entertainment they speak in Spanish, many resort will also say the same thing translated in English, they dont do that here, if you really want to know every word they are saying then learn the language, or do what I do, go by body language, I laugh and smile when I see people happy and laughing and if you really pay attention you can figure out the gist of what is going on. Jorge Ramos and many of the upper management of the Resort are fluent in Spanish and English so there so there is no need to worry that you will not get your needs met and if there is anything that they can do to make your stay better they will move heaven and earth to do it for you no matter if you are a English speaking guest or a Spanish speaking guest.

After 20 years of coming to Mexico it may be time for me to learn a phrase or two of Spanish, but I am definitely not in a hurry to learn anything right now, because my breakfast is done and I am heading to the beach! Have a great day, stayed tuned, more reviews to come..

Room Tip: All rooms are great, if you have any problems they will do everything ot make it better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdviceWriter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us, we really enjoyed reading your review which in our opinion describes the essence of relaxation and peace that we looking for on vacation.
For us it is an honor to welcome tourists from all around the world, we like to make them feel at home and live all positive that Mexico has to offer. In our Hotel our coworkers are part of that mission, especially Jorge Ramos.
We look forward to see you return soon, we will be waiting.
Saludos Cordiales!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
3.1 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo

Property: Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Address: Blvd. Miguel de la Madrid | S/N, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill side, across the street from the beach, this beautiful hotel resembles a Mexican village town with cobble streets and clay tile roofs. This family-oriented All Inclusive resort is at only 15 minutes from downtown Manzanillo and only 20 minutes from the international airport. It has 250 rooms, with Mexican contemporary decoration. Services included are one Buffet Restaurant, one themed restaurant with alternated Italian and Caribbean menu. four bars, Palapa snack bar, Beach snack-bar • Tennis courts (not lighted), two Zip-lines (One for adults and one for children), Wall climbing, Children’s Club, Baby Club, Pool tables, Gym , Mini-golf, Safety deposit boxes at reception, wireless internet in public areas. The property also has a nice beachfront restaurant with a seafood menu, for an additional charge. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is also open for locals. All rooms feature one king sized bed or two twin sized beds. Maximum occupancy per room is three adults or two adults and two children. Children under 11 stay for free, one child per paying adult. Maximum 2 children per room.Activities for children also include a weekly camp-out night, supervised by our entertainment staff, as well as a fun Pirate Treasure Hunt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Playa De Oro Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing