We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Western Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Upon arrival last Friday we were given a room where bottle of Febreeze must have been dropped. Having asthma and allergy issues, we went to the front desk to ask for another room. It was extremely busy time, with both Mexican weekend holiday guests and foreign guests checking in. I cannot say enough about the willingness of this hotel to try to meet their guests' expectations and needs. I would like to single out Marta at reception, as she even accompanied me to the room to make sure it would be okay. Thank you Marta!

The location is beautiful! All the staff, from pool, servers in the restaurants, to those who do an excellent job of cleaning our room - are professional and friendly. It is an older hotel, but like a grand dame, she is showing her age a bit. Don't let that deter you from staying here, as everything else outweighs that.

Room Tip: The lower rooms tend to be musty, so you might want to ask for a room in the main tower - at least 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anishinabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    445
    292
    159
    126
See reviews for
494
342
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Tesoro Resort for 2 weeks - my wife had just left 2 weeks at Blue Bay nearby so she could compare the two. Tesoro's rooms were very nice, comfy bed, great view from the balcony. The food was average, though the daily fresh fish was wonderful. After a few days though, the food spread started to look the same each day. The staff was excellent, especially the Front Door man and the staff behind the desk. The beach was okay, but we are spoiled by the wonderful beach at Blue Bay. We walked a lot, getting out to the local Soriano, Walmart and Commercial plazas nearby. The local bus stopped right in front of the resort - but doesn't run in the evenings! The AC was quiet, dripped a bit but was a welcome entity in Manzanillo's hot weather. I enjoyed scrambling up the nearby rocks in the bay, managing to do this almost daily.

The Mexican a la carte restaurant was excellent, though we weren't wrapped in the Italian. The two ping pong tables were a nice feature. We didn't like the fact we had to purchase internet for 75 pesos for 24 hours, which only worked in the lobby. The pool was average compared to Blue Bay's. Everything appeared to be well maintained.

Room Tip: Bring your own racquets and balls if you like tennis - they charge for rentals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just got back from a week at the Tesoro. In previous trips to Mexico, we've stayed at higher star rating resorts, so we weren't expecting as much. Upon checking into our room, we were very underwhelmed. I didn't expect a 5 star room, Deluxe Oceanview room was very underwhelming. As soon as we got in, you knew the AC wasn't or couldn't keep up to keeping the room 22C and it had a very musty odor. Besides that, everything else was well worn. We headed back down to the desk and asked what was available for room upgrades. We were sent with one of the bellmen to look at a Deluxe Master Suite and told the upgrade would cost us an additional 1000 pesos / night. That suite was in a lot better condition than our first room, but still not what we'd typically expect most other places. Being without many other options, we ended up taking the suite for 800 pesos / night extra. The best part of the suite was the main balcony which was a good size and had a great view of the bay. We spent almost every late afternoon on it.
The big thing with this resort is it gets quiet during the week and packed to the brim on weekends with Mexican vacationers. During the week, they remove chairs from the pool area (I'm still unsure why) and while there's enough, you still have to play the "towel game" before breakfast to get a decent spot. On the weekend, if you don't get pool chairs before 9:30 or 10, good luck. Another issue with being so busy on weekends is they have an elevator down that's being replaced and with only 2 working out of the 3, you might as well take the stairs unless you wait 20+ minutes for one that might not be packed to the brim. I see this being less of a problem once they have 3 operational elevators in the main tower, but they have another one to replace.
As far as resort staff, seeing this resort is more geared towards Mexican tourists, the language barrier can be a bit of an issue. Otherwise, we had great service whether is was from the waiters in the restaurants, pool, etc.
Now, we had an issue the one day that did bother us. We returned to our room mid day during the week to find the door wide open. Went in and a repairman from the resort was in there and we had no idea why. He couldn't speak english and we were not getting the gist of why he was there. He leaves, we go and check the room safe (more on that later) and find our code won't work. I call the desk, explain what's going on and they said they'll send someone up. Same guy shows up 3 minutes later with a pack of batteries and we let him in. Now, maybe it was a coincidence that they check / service the safes on a schedule, but something seemed mighty fishy. We weren't missing any items and don't think we were short any cash, but it doesn't give you the most secure feeling. While on the safe topic, they charge you 85 pesos to use it for the week. Not that it's a lot of money by any means, it's the principle of the thing. Just bump the room rate if they really need a buck more per day.
I will give the Tesoro this. They are constantly cleaning the public areas and everything is as clean as possible, especially with as many people they pack in there on the weekends. The food is also pretty good for a lower rated resort. I tend to have a fairly active digestive tract, and I was fine all week long. A first for any of my Mexican vacations. Variety was the only thing that lacked, as the buffet had the same basic dishes daily.
I'm pretty sure we won't be returning to this resort as it isn't our cup of tea. Considering the extra we payed to upgrade the room, a higher rated resort isn't much more money. If you do decide to stay here, just go in knowing that this isn't your typical resort geared towards gringos.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beels339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I Traveled with my brother to this resort , This was are 2nd tyme to Tesoro and to Manzanillo.. The hotel is a little older but still has lots to offer. It sits in a small bay with a private beach, Swimming is great and there is lots to look at while snorkeling. There's always a place to get out of the sun on the beach not much booze service there tho. The Pool is clean and warm and swim up bar tenders were friendly and quick, there seemed to be activities everyday. Breakfast was good everyday, I ate French toast , Fruit & Soup most tymes and My brother really enjoyed the Fresh Omelet bar everyday and the COFFEE is a must every morning looking out at the ocean. (great view). Was not at the hotel for lunch or dinner .. Soup is Delisious - TRY SOME..... Our room was on the 10th floor and was Great last year we were on the 13th floor and it was Great aswell.. Elevators weren't too slow ??? Get a room as high as possible for the sunset view.. our room had pool, beach, ocean, Mountain Veiw and was the best sight I've every seen from a hotel room balcony, Fantastico . Beds were good , blankets kinda sucked but they worked.. A/C barely kept up but was good enough not warm or hot.. Washroom was clean and big.. TIP: (bring air freshner to hang on A/C, works GREAT). TV sucks but who watches TV, The night life dose not exist here but do not fret... MANZANILLO PARTYS HARD.. Take a Cab for like 5 bucks To COLIMA BAY Friday night & SUNSET LOUNGE Saturday night both are night clubs and are owned by Canadians, The most important thing is the party STARTs at 12 so don't show up till then and be ready to go all night long 5am ish !!! so a nap before hand is a must. If you want AMAZING Burritos go see Paul at GODZILLA's big as your head and fantastic oh and GET a chocolate Milkshake the best Ive ever had. Try a Michalada there are all over the place and are like a BEER Cesar .. If you want good chicken wings Check out The WING ARMY always Packed.. The town is completely safe and has 2 Huge beaches running the entire length.. There is tons of stuff to do In town so check it out.. Centro Manzanillo is a little farther but is worth the trip.. to see the giant Sailfish & Dock yard We learned how to surf through Colima Surfside which was a lot of fun good waves 4ft.. Go to the Flea Market on Saturday morning, Great stuff and DEALs.. ask the front desk about it, short taxi. We took a public bus up to EL SALTO Waterfall which was simple amazing.. 100ft tall with swimming at the base.. Also a rain waterfall in the jungle at 150 ft.. untouched and beautiful worth the hour trip. We missed the bus back and had to hitchhike which was a little sketchy so plan out your way home because times of bus were off a bit.. We spent most of our time OFF the resort with friends from the country and had one of the best trips possible.. TESORO IS A GREAT STARTING POINT !!

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View TOP Floors have the best Views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We found this location to be safe and clean. The staff were very friendly always wanting to assist you in making sure your stay was comfortable. We took advantage of the all inclusive benefits for part of the time as we like visit local areas on our own. It is very easy to do this from this location. It is safe and you can get a bus or cab at anytime to take you to where you want to go. The buffet has a great selection of traditional food items. The bay is peaceful and calm for swimming and snorkeling. Its an older building needing upgrades in some rooms. great views, Good pool areas. Weekdays are less busy so plan your relaxing times around this. Locals come on weekends which increases line ups, pools activities etc...A bit musty in some rooms. It is very family oriented so if you are seeking adult only this may not be the location for you.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean. Don't forget to tip the servers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0mpassi0nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited Tesoro Resort Feb 9-16, 2014. Was amazing more then we expected. Rooms were beautiful location was stunning, staff was amazing. Buffet was great everyday. Our balcony over looked the pool and ocean amazing sunrise and sunsets. It was very safe a great place to bring kids - they have lots of activities and a kids play area of their own. Went deep sea fishing was worth ever penny we paid. Boat tour was cheap and also a very good tour. Went to the mall very good shopping and friendly people. Went to the Saturday market was big lots of variety and good vendors. Best trip ever would recommend an go back again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missy5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcupine Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was not expecting much for what we paid but was impressed, we have been to a lot of resorts in several countries and several in mexico, this is my second most favorite. In its day it would have been 4-4.5 star, a strong three to 3.5, only reason not a 4 star would be the buffet is a little lean on selection, but all food was good. The bay is awesome, water drops off quick so for non swimmers be cautious the pool was good but crowded on weekend when resort was full of locals with families.I found staff helpful and very friendly, security was good, wifi works at pool and beach as well at lobby, pretty fast. Never used my safe all week as it was locked and would not open, but never lost anything. Currency exchange at front desk to a limit of $200 a day give reasonable exchange.Rooms were good, beds comfortable as well as pillows, tiles looking a little worn but clean.Air conditioner barely kept up but stayed around 22-23c in room.
as far as drinks being watered down like I heard, its actually sometimes they don't pour a big rum in a glass full of ice, ask for more rum and less ice, they are good.
The shows were mostly good, not terrific a couple days but bearable.
The elevators can be slow, we were on 5th floor usually took the stairs anyways for exercise.
I would recommend taking the boat ride offered there, 20 bucks for a 2.5 hour ride even if you don't snorkel, have a few beer and enjoy the views. The massage offered down the beach is good and good value compared to ones I have saw near resorts before.

All in all a great vacation with our family and will definitely recommend Tesoro if you want hot sunny relaxing time. If you want 5 star food selection then go to one.

Room Tip: Pick a floor close to ground floor to avoid elevator if you hate waiting 4-5 minutes for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#16 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Property: Tesoro Manzanillo
Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing