We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Despite the size this hotel ohe beach is tucked away in a secluded cove and is very clean. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The shower/bath is somewhat dated but you get over it. The pool area is nice, but the bar tends to get busy and lineups occur but tip the waitress and she will bring drinks to you. This hotel would be good for a family, seniors, and the disco provides a setting for the younger people. The a la cartes are good too, book in the morning you want to go. And one good thing as well NO TIMESHARE people, or people selling trinkets on the beach. Overall a nice resort, it exceeded my expectations, and those who complain, why don't you just stay home, and quit your whining.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Simmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for Tesoro Manzanillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Tesoro hotel was about average. The rooms were decent but a little out dated. As for the food, is was the same everyday. The restuarant outside was clodes all week, even though the message board said it would be open the next day.. ( EVERYTIME ) the actual date was listed on the board. Pool was a little crowded but they only have 1 small one. BUT they do have a excellent beach! With great snorkeling.. All in all not a bad resort.. Just needs a updating.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our family spent the last week at Tersora in Manzanillo and it is really a hidden gem. We went with two young children (10 months, 3 years) and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, food was very good, the views were spectacular, pool and beach were wonderful, and they had a water park just for children with small water slides and pools. The area is smaller and much less commercial and all the staff were extremely friendly.

A couple heads up comments:

1. The bathrooms were dates but completely functional.
2. Most of the nights there were parties on the beach that went past midnight. We were so tired from the days activities that we slept fine.

Bottom Line: We had a wonderful time and recieved mazing value. Big thumbs up from us.

If you are looking for hoity toity 4-5 stars don't do. You will be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

you just can't beat it. This all inclusive is fabulous and the service is number one. The beds are so comfy, and the beauty of the beach, the culture, everything is unique and quite an honor to be there. The staff deserve applause. I just can't say enough about that. The structure of the building is lovely but the humidity and age of plumbing will be an issue within the next couple of seasons, and that is why this is not rated higher.
One should be fit and able to do go with a flexible attitude and that kind of tourist will have a great time. If one cannot take part in the many activities, or jaunt across the sand to the ocean, or visit the mexican surroundings it may not be so kind of a trip. What a paradise to enjoy. The food and drinks were plentiful and fulfilling.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor. It had a humid smell but when air conditioner was turned on, it left. Th...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank valwoofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We just got back from Manzannilo. What a beautiful place to visit. The hotel is small but once you get used to it, is perfect.

Room Tip: The nightly music is really loud. We stayed in room 201. It was perfect, at the very end of the ho...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ihappyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Well......what can I say. I have been a member of trip advisor for some time and use the reviews as a guage of what to expect. Am glad I did not listen to the negative reviews when we went to the Tesoro February 22, 2011 for 1 week, with family. We had an awesome time at the Tesoro. Food (buffet/Al la Cartes) were all great with great selections. The breakfast is to die for, and yes you can get bacon even though it is not out. I asked the 3rd morning we were there and was given a large plate for the table. Each morning after the server (who recognized us) had a plate of bacon on our table within 2 minutes. The staff are wonderful as long as they are treated with the respect that you yourself would want. Hotel and grounds were constantly being cleaned and worked on. Longest wait for an elevator was 20-30 seconds and we were on the second floor from the top. Huge rooms, did I say huge? View of the ocean and grounds was breath taking. Forgot to mention, 4 balconies. Yup, 4..It is probably a 3.5 star resort at it's age, but still very nice. Could do with some new furniture (no big deal) as I only seen the furniture at night when going to bed and in the A.M. when heading out for another beautiful day sitting on the wall between the pool and ocean. Humm. Trying out the Barcelo this year, just for another view, but would definitely go back to the Tesoro in a second. Fun was had by all 7, of varying ages. P.S. As a Canadian I like my Cesars. The first one is really different, but once you ask for less lemon, yumm. ENJOY.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank crickWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I, both seniors(73 & 64) stayed at this hotel for two weeks in Feb, 2011. Firstly, I would not recommend it for anyone with any mobility problem. There are steps everywhere, including the walk down to the beach. The walk down to the main road is quite a feat as the hotel is located in the hillside. The setting of hotel is beautiful, the beach is breathtaking, however, swimming is not recommended as there are very heavy undercurrents. The pool was nice and clean, staff through the entire hotel were friendly and helpful, except the bartender in the lobby could have used some training in PR work. Generally speaking the hotel is charming if a little dated. Our room was quite a walk from the centre of the hotel but we managed. Our accommodations were exceptable but as seasoned travellers we tend to be a little more liberal and as the saying goes you get what you pay for. We stayed here because we got a good price but it is certainly not a 4 star hotel maybe a 2-1/2 or 3. The one big complaint we had was the invasion of local tourists every Thursday to Sunday. They overrun the hotel especially the pool area, drinking and children running around, sometimes with no supervision. Instead of using the kiddies pool they use the adult pool, which is inconvenient as they only have one big pool. The locals some go in to the pool with clothes on(women in shorts/tshirts as well as men), kids in diapers, and there is no one to stop them. In short the weekends were usually very noisy and uncomfortable. I have to be honest that this has happened to us in the last little while when we travelled to Mexico. It happened in Puerto Vallarta also. The fact that the locals come down to these resorts is not the problem, the problem is that they do not know how to behave and show consideration to the other tourists. Mind you we have also encountered other North American Tourist that have behaved inappropriately, especially when they start drinking. I guess that is the pitfall of AI.
All in all, we made the best of it, the weather was +A, that was the most important. Food was quite good, plenty of choices, however two weeks it becomes repetitive, but it was no big deal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank belasimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#18 of 51 in Manzanillo
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#15 of 51 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 51 in Manzanillo
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 51 in Manzanillo
126 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: $92 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing