We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value but Better Yet a Truely Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Posada
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Value but Better Yet a Truely Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

We are repeat visitors and enjoy the experience more upon each visit. The hotel is simple but clean and on one of the best beaches in Manzanillo. The waves light and with the right tide - good Snorkeling off the jetty. The breakfast included @ the hotel is simple but made to order and can be either light or a full meal. Lunch is also available / on site . A large array of wonderful restraunts are also available a short drive or taxi from the hotel that vary from taco stands to 5star dinning. Depending on your desires the staff is ready to help and advise. If you want a pizza ordered in, or if you are up for going out for Italian, French or true local cusine. It's truely an adventure you create @ your own pace - Some days we nap / read a book @ the pool /beach. Others days we will venture into Downtown or spend a day on a remote beach. It's all up to you... But just ask and good advise is available.
-PDX

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    73
    14
    14
    14
See reviews for
59
95
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

On a quiet stretch of Las Brisas Beach, this charming little hotel is a great find for people on a budget. Attractive grounds and pool, mere steps to the beach and a snorkelling area, friendly and experienced staff, tasty breakfasts and lunches.
This was our 3rd stay and we plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jktravl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Some things to know...if you fly into Manzanillo airport, a cab costs 400 pesos (about $33) for the trip to the hotel which takes about 40 minutes. This is a cozy older hacienda style hotel with modern upgrades.

The staff is one of the best reasons to stay here. They keep the rooms and grounds in excellent shape, provide meals and are always at your disposal.

Beautiful arches accent the main building with two breezeways into the courtyard. Rooms in the main building are accessible only from the inner courtyard. Tile floors are new and shiny. It was fun to watch the birds drink and bath in the courtyard fountain. Water pressure was quirky at times. Air conditioning worked well. Sliding glass door onto our balcony had broken runners, but we were still able to open it to enjoy the sunsets. The grounds have plants from cacti to bouganvillea to a large fig tree to palm trees.

Breakfast is included in the cost of the room with a good selection of eggs, ham, bacon, toast, pancakes, sausage, omelettes, fruit drinks and a fruit dish. If in doubt, ask for the wooden paddle menu (Spanish on one side, English on the other). Lunch is also served with a small but tasty menu. We particularly liked the fish sandwich and BBQ pork sandwich. We were told they serve the best hamburger in town. They serve mixed drinks upon request.

Bottled water, beer and soft drinks are available 24 hours a day on the honor system. You drop the bottle cap into a cup with your room number on it. At the end of your stay they total up the number of caps.

Several people had laptop computers with them. The hotel also has high speed internet access.

The beach was clean and uncrowded with unimpeded access to about three miles of beach. I snorkeled several times off the jetty among thousands of small fish. The water was slightly turbid but I got some great photos and video.

Eating dinner was an adventure. La Posada provided us with a list of good quality restaurants and hailed us a cab every evening. Depending on which zone, the cab cost 20-30 pesos ($1.60-2.5). We ate at a different restaurant every night and were never disappointed. El Bigotes, El Fogon, Tacos Ramon, El Caballitos, Yakitory, La Pergola, Porto Fino all were excellent. We ate early, about 7:00pm, and most places didn't get busy until 8:00. Fish tends to be very inexpensive compared to the states. Meat tends to be overcooked.

We walked along the main boulevard both in the daytime and at night and never felt unsafe. Another 20-30 pesos for the cab ride back to the hotel.

ATM is conveniently located across the street in the military base and is accessible to civilians.

Highly recommended for a quiet leisurely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unsinkable_maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

If you want high end chrome and glass go to PV. This is an old fashioned inn where the staff becomes family and if you are a frequent visitor you will find them waiting for your arrival. Rooms are clean, price is more than fair, water is warm, atmosphere is relaxing and your hardest decision of the day is "Do I put my swimsuit on before breakfast or after?" By the way breakfast is included. Soft drinks and cervasa is on an honor system,after all you are family. We feel safer here walking down the street at night than we do at home. Why not give it a try. We would love to meet you and we are there for most of the month of November.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoHillsboro_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

I liked the hotel but not the area. The hotel is charming, a little dated, but we liked the room. The AC cuts out any morning noise. The beach, however, has quite a bit of basura (trash) on it and some in the water too. It was a little scary. I did not see anyone snorkeling around the jetty. We stuck to the pool, which is small.
(The maids couldn't wait for us to leave too!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

The owners were in the USA during our stay in Dec. but the staff was great and ran the place with great care. The beach was very clean and just a few steps from our room. I would recommend it as a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim45900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

The owner and staff are very helpful and provide good service. The small and simple hotel is not new, but is well maintained. There is a good beach and one may watch the large container ships from all over the world go in and out of Manzanillo... a major shipping port... as the channel into the port is about 200 yards away. Very entertaining if you are a child at heart like us.

I would like to add a general comment about the current violence in Mexico. This is a big country and the violence is concentrated in specific areas. Check before you go, but we never felt threatened in any way in Manzanillo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69youngatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
3.9 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Property: Hotel La Posada
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas # 201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Posada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing