We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was Fabulous!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2007

Our family was at Club Maeva from Feb 17 - 25th and it was fantastic!

We had no problems with the rooms we were given (2 - 2 bedrooms suites) the only issue we had with the rooms was the phone not working properly and that was fixed right away. As for a description of the rooms.....my husband called them Hacienda Flinstone.....they are pretty basic and not "plush" but honestly we were there to sleep and shower and that was about it.

The food is great if you are willing to try something new....if you are a burger, hot dog person.....well then yes it would get boring but our family had no issues with feeling like the food was ho-hum or for that matter cold or anything....it was great.
Be sure to book a few dinners at Alfredo's...the food and service was excellent.
Oh and for the bar......bring your large thermal cup or mug....any of the bartenders will gladly fill it with whatever drink you desire....its alot better than the little plastic cups they have.

We never had any issues with language barriers and we definatley found tipping helped....the servers got to know who we were and brought us a basket of baked goods each breakfast etc to our table.

We were in 502 and our children in 616....it was a little walk up to our room but not as bad as I think many people are making it out to be. Yes there were steep stairs to climb to the one bedroom in the room but if you go slow and hold on the wall it was fine. As for the complaints of fridges etc in the room......it was not an issue for us....its all inclusive....why would you want to worry about having a fridge in your own room.....just go get what you want when you want it at the bar or restaurant.

The water was purified in the resort so there was no issue with using ice etc in the drinks....I have a very sensitive stomache and it never affected me at all. They did recommmend not using the water brought into the room taps as they added chemicals to it and it did not taste very good....so we used bottled water to brush teeth etc.

As for entertainment....the Amigos are very fun and many are very easy on the eyes. Almost all of them are Canadian or American so language was never an issue. They always put on a fun entertaining show each evening which we always enjoyed.

Down at the beach....well Maeva does not have enough cabanas there but if you do not mind spending $8 a day and having a guaranteed cabana daily....see Armando just off to the left as you enter the beach. He has many cabanas for rent and we just guaranteed one for the week for us which was great because with the crowds it did not matter what time we got there....he had our cabana waiting. Be sure to bring your $$ to the beach though....there are many items brought around that are for sale pararo's. silver, bracelets, fruit etc....sit there long enough and you can avoid a trip to the market all together.
When at the beach...be sure to see Sabrina for an Ocean side massage $20 for 45 mins and it was amazing....you will know who she is....she has her massage table there everyday 10-6.

All I can say it is all about having a positive attitude and being on VACATION!!

We cannot wait to go back there again!!

  • Liked — Service & Food were excellent
  • Disliked — Beds were not the most comfortable
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Geora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    161
    155
    99
    118
See reviews for
324
90
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SASKATCHEWAN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

I went with my in-laws who were there ten years ago and loved it. This time was nothing like the first. The service manager was rude and they were not very accomodating or concerned with problems. We went with a large group to get married. The hotel did nothing special to accomodate our day. Our friends (with two kids) were put in a suite with two single beds and two couches, yet a single friend of mine was given a two bedroom villa. My fiance and myself were put in the farthest room (although we all specified to be in the same cluster by the pool. My fiance and I also got the worst and least updated room out of our group. My two year old daughter was served bathroom cleaner in place of orange juice...apparently they are kept in the same type of bottle. Fortunately my fiance had a sip before she ate it. I was late for my wedding as we had to phone the front four times to have a ride to the beach, which was apparently pre arranged.... The disco was way overly priced and the workers tried to say that we did not pay for our drinks. We went with a 15 person group which cost about 20,000....if it weren't for my wedding (which was very special due to an excellent wedding coordinator, Luis Alvarez), we would have been much happier spending our time and money elsewhere.... BUT the serving staff were really nice and the food was good.

  • Liked — Serving staff was great
  • Disliked — Did not try to accomodate guests needs
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOLERENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

Fonthill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

This was our third visit to Club Maeva and once again, we were more than satisfied with our vacation. The resort is extremely clean and the meals are quite good! It is nice to make reservations at Alfredo's a couple of nights during the week - just for a change. We did notice, however, that since we were there during a slow period, some of the regular activities were cancelled due to low capacity. We had always enjoyed the dinner shows in the past and were disappointed that they didn't take place, as usual. This resort is excellent value for your dollar. We'll definitely return for their warm hospitality!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Maeva from 2/10/07 until 2/17/07. Our flight got in late and we were told by the charter company agent right off to expect bad rooms as there were many families staying for the weekend! Consequently we tipped the woman at the check in desk and asked for a nice room. What we got was a room in the 500's, way up the hill. There were 3 of us, meaning that we paid 1/3 more for our room than couples did (no per person discount for 3 people in the same space 2 people got). We had specifically called the charter company to be sure that we had a single beds, a kitchen and a fridge and were assured that we did. Not only did we NOT have a kitchen or fridge, our unit was adjoining another with an open door in between! We had a chain to put on the flimsey door but it still opened about 2". The bedroom was very steep, very narrow stairs. It was frightening!
The next morning we went right down to the front desk to ask for a different room. We were told to check back at 4:30. We spoke with other people who had been with us on the flight and were also booked through the charter company. Three couples reported that they had lovely rooms, near the pools, on one level and with a full kitchen and fridge! The charter company representative told us all kinds of lies.......the new owners are taking ALL of the fridges out etc. and was not helpful in getting us moved. Finally, at try number four, one of the women at the front desk told us we could not change rooms unless there was a physical ailment or drastic problem with the room. When I told her that I had back problems and had trouble with all of the stairs a much more appropriate room magically became available. The room had a full kitchen, fridge, bedroom and bath on one level and living room/kitchen area down 3 broad easy stairs. It was great! It was a bit further to walk but walking is fine for my back, climbing isn't. Once moved, we were quite happy with our stay, loved the adult pool and friendly staff.
As others have mentioned....the food is quite ho-hum but how much can one expect from a buffet? This would be a great resort for families, if you get a decent room!

We noticed that staff were searched before they were allowed to leave the resort. While this did add some feeling of safety, it also seemed insulting and demeaning. We had been leaving tips and small things....candy, hair do-dads etc for the housekeeper each day and worried that they might have been taken away from her. On our last day, we decided to leave some things behind and were specifically instructed that if she was to be allowed to keep the things (including tip $) we should write a list of items and that we meant them for her (by name). We were also instructed to sign the list and add our room number so that this could be checked on!!!!!

All in all, the Maeva can be a great place to stay or a really difficult vacation based upon where your room is located and your attitude. It was not the perfect resort for 3 single women but was safe, quiet and fine once we got a suitable room. Oh, the massages by the adult pool were cheap and wonderful.....highly recommended!

One more word of warning/advice. The charter/tour companies try very hard to get you to purchase tours. We chose to talk with a taxi driver at the gate of the hotel, Daniel Aguila Rodriguez. He gave the 3 of us a private and much nicer tour for significantly less than the tour company. We went in his taxi to Colima and Comala. Daniel spoke perfect English, was delightful and eager to please us by showing us what the tours offered and anything else we requested. I would highly recommend going down to the gate and asking for him before booking any tours through the hotel charters. Daniel did say that he could rent a larger vehicle than his taxi to accomodate larger groups

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank traveliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We spent a week at the Club Maeva from Jan 24 to Jan 31. I would like to say that we have been to Mexico 10 times and are not at all complainers. First, I will get to the good. The grounds are beautiful and kept immaculate. The beach is one of the nicest along Manzanillo. It is very long and sandy, making it a great beach to walk on and swim in. The vendors sell their wares and there are great flea markets to shop at. However, there are no lounge chairs at the beach club and there is an awful sewer smell on the beach at the club. There is only a small bar at the beach club with one bar tender, which when busy, gets very lined up. The restaurants although clean, offered very cold and repitive food. I realize that all inclusives tend to get repitive, but there was very little choice other than Mexican food. The only thing that was hot were the breakfasts where you could get made to order omelettes. The fruit was plentiful and very good. However, everything else was cold, even if you were the first one in the restaurant. The service was good and the waiters were very friendly. I found english was not a problem. We ate at Alfredos one evening and it was better.
Now the rooms!!! We asked to stay in the 600's, as we wanted to enjoy the view. There are 115 stairs from the bottom, which on a very hot day can be a long walk. After arriving late we were taken to our room and it was a disaster. The kitchen had a rusted old fridge and a very dirty stove. The staircase going to the bathroom was very narrow and had high stairs. There were 2 very small single beds in the bedroom upstairs and the mattresses were absolutely filthy as they didnt have mattress pads, only sheets and in this case no bedspreads. If the air conditioner was on it made for a very cold night. The bathroom was also filthy. The mirror hadn't been cleaned , the shower curtain was extremely moldy, the walls were dirty and there were piles of dirt in every corner. We have stayed in a lot of places in Mexico, but this one was disgusting. We decided that we would ask to change rooms immediately. We were told at the desk that all the rooms had single beds and that they would be remodelling as they have lots of complaints about the beds. We decided that we would suck it up as we would only be there for a week and we wouldn't be in our room a whole lot of the time. Upon talking to other couples, almost everyone of them that we met changed rooms on arrival. Some more than once. I think this hotel in its day was a very grand place, however the rooms are in dire need of repair and remodelling and cleaning. I do believe they cater more to the Mexican families as the hotel guests are predominatly Mexican. I definately would not rate this as a 3 1/2 star hotel, as it does not compare to others we have stayed at, although as I said before the grounds are beautiful and very well kept. It's too bad the rooms are so dirty. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The Beach it was on
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of the rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Janinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We stayed at Club Maeva from Jan. 10 to the 24th and had an awesome time.

Our villa 128 was perfect. Our cleaning lady did a terrific job. We had 2 bathrooms, a bedroom, sitting area with tv, a dinette and a kitchen (which is the only place that needed some tender loving care).

The 90 acre grounds were very well kept and there are always people cleaning and doing yardwork. It is a bit of a hike to the beach but once you get there the first thing that greets you is the bar and a wonderful view of the ocean. The buffet at the beach is excellent. If walking is a problem, a call to the front desk results in a bellboy picking you up at the door and taking you to the beach.

The food was very good. Breakfast was fresh fruit, eggs any which way you wanted, Mexican fare, french toast, pancakes, pastries, cereals, yogurt, bacon, sausage etc. etc. Lunch and dinner always included fresh fruit and veggies with several choices for the main entree. They always had hamburgers, french fries, hotdogs and spagetti for the kids ( and adults). The waiters were excellent!

Alfredo's is their ala carte and it is worth going to more than once. Their food is awesome!

We are retired, and although there were many families there we found the Mexican kids very well behaved and the adults very friendly. If the hustle and bustle got too much we simply went to the adult pool where it was very peaceful and tranquil. The bar here provided bottles of water anytime you wanted one.

The entertainment amigos were very good and provided a fair standard of entertainment. These kids work very hard, usually from 9am til 1 or 2 in the morning. The Fiesta Night was awewome and we had the opportunity to try samples of traditional Mexcian food.

IF you want 5 star then this is not the place for you, BUT if you are looking for somewhere clean, cheap and where the food is good, then Club Maeva is the best deal. We will go back again!

  • Liked — They were very clean.
  • Disliked — The kitchenette could have used some tender loving care.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Hroobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina,Sask.
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We stayed at Club Maeva for two weeks (Dec.20/06 to Jan.3/07). We wanted a relaxing mother-daughter vacation.It is a family resort and is rated three stars (Transat Holidays) After reading the reviews on trip advisor, we decided to give it a try. For two weeks, the all-inclusive price was great. We have no complaints -- we loved it ! Two weeks flew by too quickly.

Ninety percent of the people staying there are Mexican families, but this was not a problem for us at all. People were friendly and the children were well behaved. Communication was not a problem. Tipping did not seem to make a difference. We got very good service from the waiters and bartenders. If we had any questions or concerns, the staff was very helpful. Maid service varied from day to day.

The villas could use updating and the beds are hard . Furnishings are very basic. We stayed in the 300s which was close to the pools, lobby, shops and restaurants. We had a two-bedroom - two bathroom villa. It was nice cause we did not have to share a bedroom The air conditioning kept the place cool. There was a small kitchen (with a fridge that worked very well), table with 6 chairs, living area with 2 daybeds and a tv (with some English channels including movie channels) and a balcony. One of the bedrooms had two beds (twin-size), a desk with a mirror, a closet with shelves and a safe. The main floor bathroom had a small shower stall. The other bedroom was up a narrow flight of stairs, with a queen-size bed , large closet w/shelves and a bathroom with a large shower area. There was also a roof-top terrace. For a two week stay, this was much better than a hotel room.

Make sure you get a map of the resort upon check-in. You can get plenty of exercise exploring this large resort. The grounds are beautiful with well-manicured hedges, bushes with flowers and lots of trees. There are many pathways going in all directions. It is a short walk to the beach. Club Maeva has a walking bridge over the street to the beach. The beach stretches far in either direction.There are flea markets on either side of the walking bridge The beach was crowded but it was the holiday season (Christmas-New Year) . The vendors did not bother us and not once were we approached by time-share people.

Club Maeva has a seafood restaurant on the beach (open from 1 to 5).There are three other places to dine around the pool area. The only restaurant that was enclosed w/air conditioning was Alfredos, the a la carte restaurant. We had reservations at Alfredos three times and really enjoyed the food and service. We were disappointed that, Alfredos was not open during the holiday-weekends. We had to reserve in the morning, in order to dine there the following evening. All the other restaurants are buffet-style. We never had problems finding something good to eat. Items were grilled daily. Twice a week there were barbecues (sausage, steak, porkchops, chicken) at Café de la Place Mexican Fiesta night was a special treat with games, stalls selling crafts and food, music and an entertaining stage show.
Other nightly stage shows were also enjoyable.

The bartenders made all types of drinks and drinks were strong! If you have a thermal mug, they will fill it up with your favorite drink. It would have been nice if the bars had stayed open later at night. The bars were closed after 10, (by the time the nightly stage show was over). After that the disco opened and that is the only place you could get a drink. The Boom-Boom disco is no more -- it is now a night club where you have to pay. But there is still the Tropical Hut (allows families). We were far enough away from the disco so we could not hear the music from the discos at night

Other services at Club Maeva ---

Internet services are adequate. There are only two computers so we had to keep checking to see if one was free. It was 40 pesos to purchase an hour of internet access. You did not have to use up the hour at one sitting.

The mini mart is a handy store which sold large containers of water (which we refilled from the cooler in the gym), snacks, ice cream, etc.

There is a huge pool w/deeper adjoining pool and childrens' pool plus the waterslides. Our favorite place to relax was the Solarium or adult pool. You had to be an early bird to get a cabana.

New Years was a treat -- tables were set up on the soccer field, they served a wide range of international foods, and drink service was excellent. There was a great band and a large area for dancing. At midnight we were given bottles of champagne and watched the fireworks It was a night to remember.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank jgluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.8 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
243 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Mar Celeste
Mar Celeste
#5 of 53 in Manzanillo
35 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort

Property: Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort
Address: Km 12.5 Carretera Barra de Navidad - Manzanillo, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#9 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort Manzanillo .. a beautiful property located at Miramar beach facing the blue waters of the Mexican Pacific. 32 acres of fun. An unique all inclusive experience. ALL INCLUSIVE• All meals buffet style plus optional a la carte dinner dining/domestic beer, wine & mixed drinks from 11 am-1am/4 restaurants (dress code applies)/4 bars. And beach club.• Entertainment/disco (adults only)/dance hall (children allowed)• 5 pools/children’s pool/adult pool/water slides/gym/archery• 10 tennis courts (6 lit) scuba & snorkeling lessons.• Children’s program (ages 4-12). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Maeva Manzanillo
Resort All Inclusive Maeva Manzanillo
Club Maeva Manzanillo Mexico
Maeva Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing