We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grounds were beautiful, the room not so much.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The grounds were beautiful, the room not so much.”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The Grounds of this hotel were stunning. Exactly like the pictures. Our room reminded me of the "Bat Cave". It was a shell of a room, no clock (we went to wal mart and bought one) , art, Iron, spare anything. It had a kitchen, but no cupboards or dishes. It did have a safe in the room which we liked having. The lighting is also very bad in the room and the grounds at night. I wished I had a small flash light. We had a 2 bedroom villa, it was very musty, almost smelled like fresh dirt each time you walked in. I was disappointed that it was an all inclusive resort and the food was the same mush every single day. I finally told the bell boy we were going out to get something different to eat.( La Pergola, and La Toscana were both fabulous places to eat.) We went to La Toscana on my daughters 13th birthday and brought a cake with us, the staff made a huge production out of it and the band got in on it too, the whole night was fabulous. Back to the hotel......there was a HUGE language barrier. Almost NO ONE spoke english. There were no signs posted with events for the day, so we never knew what was going on. The nightly show was primarily in spanish so we attended maybe 2 out of 7 nights. My 14 year old went to the bar to see if they'd give her a drink (for her dad) and they did, so keep an eye on your teens. The resort boasts all kinds of activities which are only open on certain days.If you don't inquire at the front desk about everything you want to do, you'll miss out. Again, there is no information regarding hours or days of operation. My son wanted to go on the virtual ice, we found out on Tuesday that its only open on Friday and Saturday. The city of Manzanillo is pretty. Very under developed. You definitely don't go there for the shopping because there isn't any. There is a huge Flea market on Saturday and any store you do find is a replica of the market. To sum it all up, I think this resort caters more to the Mexican tourist than the foreign tourist. If you're looking for a laid back kind of place, you speak spanish and are not interested in shopping you would enjoy this hotel otherwise, I'd skip it. The Barcelo Karmina was way more appealing. We picked up people there when we went on tours and they raved about the place. (My family is 5 people, kids are 10, 12, 14)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    156
    151
    99
    117
See reviews for
317
88
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Loved the shows they had in the evenings, they are a perfect and entertaining end to a great day at maeva. You had to cross a bridge over the highway to get to the beach, so theres a bit of walking that needs to be done, but found it wasn't too big of a deal for us. We were able to use some of the amenities without paying for the all-inclusive so we were content. This may be due to the less busy time we arrived. The slides were a fun addition to the resort, and the beach was beautiful. It had lots of vendors, but took the opportunity to explore the little markets for trinkets and souvenirs. I loved the sand, its volcanic; it has a black and copper hue. Beautiful. I also loved the room we stayed in, a little outdated but nonetheless, I loved it and you've got experience everything once I always say. The food was average, loved the buffets. The first day we arrived, there was some kind of festival with a huge amount of food being served out and people gathered for the live entertainment. We met some great people who worked for maeva who performed in some of the live shows, very friendly. Overall, we had a great time and will look back on thememories of our time spent at Club Maeva.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hot-foxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

A little background- I have lived in Mexico for the past 3 years and traveled to several beach areas and stayed in probably 8 different resorts & hotels in that time everything from top end 5 star to a basic hotel on the beach. Club Maeva is somewhere in the middle. I do think, the experience could be greatly enhanced with some relatively simple fixes, but the place has something to offer just depends on what you are looking for.

I was at the hotel Jan.3-7, most Mexican schools are still on Christmas holiday so the place was packed. This was a last minute trip on my part, traveling alone with 2 boys ages 7 & 5. I was looking for a good value all inclusive with things to keep the boys occupied.

One area in need of improvement is check-in. The agent claimed she did not have my reservation (I booked through Expedia a few days before) they said they didn't have my reservation but they gave me a room anyway. That was the end of it, when I checked out no problem. I arrived around 1:30pm and the room was not ready, they told me to come back around 3:30. I came back at 4:00 and waited over 40 minutes for my key. It was a complete mob scene. The agents were harried and bothered, a lot of people had issues and there just has to be a better way. There were also only 3 people working the desk and the could have used some more help for the amount of guests staying this week.

The most frustrating thing though was the lack of information, no map, no schedules, nothing except 3 towel cards, a room key, and lock and key for the safe. No information in the room either. This place is huge and while there are a few huge maps posted around the property something to refer to would have been really helpful! There was a basic activity schedule posted next to the big map but there was no information on the special activities like horseback riding, high adventure activities, etc.

The room was a one bedroom villa. I found ours to be clean, the big plus was the amount of space you get- a bedroom with 2 singlebeds, an open sitting area with 2 couches and a table- a kitchen area which was not usuable had a sink and 2 burners no refrigerator, no pots & pans. There is also a balcony with a few chairs and tables. Up a very narrow (no more than 15 inches wide) and twisty staircase up to a second bedroom with a queen bed. These stairs were trecherous. The unit was not particularly well lit, if you did not shower during daylight, it was pretty dark. The water pressure and temperature were fine during our stay. The linens however left much to be desired. No kleenex in the room either.

The main pool & surrounding area are kept fairly clean but the deck needs some maintenance- cracking and large pieces coming up in some places. It at is more than 4 feet in all areas so if you have young children, you probably want to go to the kids pool directly behind it but it is very small or the lagoon pool on the way to the beach.

The slides were great, we enjoyed them.

The beach is accessed by a pedestrian bridge over the main road. The sand is very dark on account of the volanic activity in the area. Not nearly enough umbrellas and chairs for the hotel. We arrived around 9ish and nothing. There is a restaurant and bar out there. We had to wait most times for a drink at least 10-15 minutes. There is a towel service at the beach, but after 15 minutes they were out of towels every day and I never was able to exchange my towels for clean ones there and we were at the beach for several hours 3 different days. The beach itself was great for the boys, they were able to go out quite far and jump the waves, not much of an undertow. There are a million vendors. My boys rode horses on the beach and thought that was great ($200 pesos for 2 for about a 15 minute ride). Once you cross the bridge, you walkdown a multilevel stairway, it is not lit. We stayed at the beach until dusk a couple times and it was very dark going back in that stairwell.

Also the stairs in the compound are red Spanish tile and they get slippery. We had a rainstorm and several people fell. This is a very big resort, there are a lot of stairs, a lot of hills and lots of uneven surfaces. If you have any mobility issues, this is not the place for you. I did not mind hiking around but I know some would.

I found the food to be below average. Breakfast is the best- omlette station, french toast and pancakes every day. The fruit was hit or miss the pineaplle was good 2 of 4 days, the melon was not, we ate a lot of bananas. We ate at the Mexican buffet which I thought was better than the regular buffet and I thought service was much better there but nothing was exceptional. You also have to go get your own drinks except in the restaurants- no wait staff in the pool area or at the beach.

The boys went to the kids club for a few hours when it was raining and they enjoyed it. They are bilingual so language was not an issue for them. I can't speak to how much English is spoken. They staff was very nice, and it is very secure.

In general, I felt the whole place was understaffed for this busy time. There were a few employees who were down right grumpy, some that were merely indifferent and a few that were really exceptional. The housekeeping staff was great, the bar tenders at the beach were exceptional (and really busy), the woman who worked in the main towel area by the pool...Consequently, even first thing the morning some areas (the lagoon pool, the foot baths at the beach, bathrooms at the beach) were not clean.

The shows didn't start until 9:30 which was just too late for my little people after a whole day of swimming, sun and surf but I have heard from several people including townspeople that they are very good.

A few other notes the fitness center has a rowing machine, 2 spin bikes one with out pedal baskets, and some weight equipment. The ATM does not work and they do not expect it to get fixed.

I would recommend this hotel with qualifications to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marylandkathy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I just came back from this resort. It was OK, the place does need a make over. After reading all the reviews I really did not want to go to this resort. I was not able to change my plans. I exchanged my timeshare thru RCI & was unable to exchange resorts, So, basically we ended up in Maeva. The Maeva amigos are the best part of the Hotel, great people, we had a blast! Remember this is MEXICO, you will see Mexican people. If you want to see Canadians, Americans, Euro, African, Etc, go to those countries.

I guess what i'm trying to say is don't listen to these idiots, your vacation is what you make it. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marylandkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Our third time here. Not many gringo yahoo rowdies from the U S and Canada like in Puerto Vallerta. Good. Mostly middle class Mexicans with children. Lots of activities to keep you busy if that is what you like. Good food. You can visit the local Manzanillo suburbs of Santiago and Salahua by cheap bus transportation and the big port city of Manzanillo too. To the north are Melaque and Barra De Navidad to visit -- also by cheap bus. All very close by actually. It was originally a Club Med. A fun place that now caters to Mexican families.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I live in Mexico about 3 hours from the pacific coast and we go to a resort probably 5-6 times a year. This is the only resort that I have ever actually called the booking company I used and asked them to remove it from their available properties. I love the "culturally aware" reviewers from California and Canada proclaiming the authentic cuisine at the resort. I eat locally in Mexico everyday and this stuff was awful. I will not go on a rant and rave about this and that, but, trust me, do not stay at this resort. There are countless decent to excellent resorts available, this is just not one of them.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mexicoajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I stayed at club maeva in march for 10 days, i must say the people, food, maids, entertainment is fab i would strongly reccomend this hotel we had a fabulos time nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff they were most helpful we stayed in villa 128 which is at the rear of the tennis courts & is ideally placed for all amenities, The maeva amigos are simple the best & work really hard to make your holiday a truely enjoyable one & you come away from there thinking that you have known them all for years, the shows they put on are fab, jenny, jafet, Danny, Ryan, Jess, Rachel, Kelly & Chris ( Bond ) & all the others sorry forgot all your names,luv you guys & thank you so much For making my holiday THE BEST xxxxx

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
3.6 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.3 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#3 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort

Property: Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort
Address: Km 12.5 Carretera Barra de Navidad - Manzanillo, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#9 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort Manzanillo .. a beautiful property located at Miramar beach facing the blue waters of the Mexican Pacific. 32 acres of fun. An unique all inclusive experience. ALL INCLUSIVE• All meals buffet style plus optional a la carte dinner dining/domestic beer, wine & mixed drinks from 11 am-1am/4 restaurants (dress code applies)/4 bars. And beach club.• Entertainment/disco (adults only)/dance hall (children allowed)• 5 pools/children’s pool/adult pool/water slides/gym/archery• 10 tennis courts (6 lit) scuba & snorkeling lessons.• Children’s program (ages 4-12). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Maeva Manzanillo
Resort All Inclusive Maeva Manzanillo
Club Maeva Manzanillo Mexico
Maeva Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing