We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Vaquero

El Vaquero
Ranked #8 of 169 Restaurants in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

best steak I have had in Mexico. Glad I decided to go. We where on second floor loved to watch world go by while I relaxed to great food and some Mexican singers

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michadam325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    56
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A group of five of us wanted to eat off the resort - we had heard good things about this restaurant so decided to give it a try. Coming from beef country in Alberta, we know and love our beef and I can say we were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. All five of us raved about the tenderness of the meat - the steaks are delivered on a skillet and the portions are very large. They even brought us a complimentary side order of cactus, which was an interesting touch and we all got to try something new. We didn't think the prices were out of line - with a generous tip, we were all able to have some wine and a great meal for 400 pesos each, or about $33 Canadian. After a few days of resort food, this was a great way to add some local flavour to our visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had dinner at the El Vaquero on the recommendations of a friend. A great recommendation it was. The rib eye steak was cooked to perfection. The service was exceptional and the ambiance noteworthy. Rather pricy but all considered, well worth the price. I will visit again when in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler9485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Arrachera!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

You must have their arrachera - steak made the Mexican way! It's fabulous. Rather than a baked potatoe with it, it comes with a cooked onion - delicious - and again, the Mexican way! There are two locations - one on the main street close to Walmart, and one further down the street towards Manzanillo. The one further down the road has the best ambience - really nice - pick a table beside the fire. I go several times every time I visit Manzanillo, and I have yet to be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magnoliagrandiflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The steaks are very good. The portions are huge. We had leftovers for the next day. It is close to the hotels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murphy100904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vaquero also viewed

Manzanillo, Colima
 
Manzanillo, Colima
 

Been to El Vaquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing