We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Palmas Villas & Casitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Both the staff and the accommodations were world class. This was the best family reunion that we have ever had. The town of Hualtulco and whole area is very laid back and friendly. Having not traveled to Mexico before and knowing very little spanish, alongside the recent news headlines, we were slightly concerned about traveling to Mexico, however we felt very safe the entire time and we are already looking forward to returning next year. Although relaxing was on the top of our agenda, there is a plethora of activities for all ages year round. We went ATVing, Fishing, Snorleking, but the highlight was watching the Leatherback Turtles hatch live on the beach, an experience that i will never forget.

Room Tip: Bring your own snorkel and mask as there is limited places to rent quality equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetahoedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

My partner and I brought our two families (about 35 people) to the Las Palmas property, the whole of which we rented, for a week for a family reunion on each side and for an opportunity for our families to get to know each other. We have been fortunate to travel extensively and stay at beautiful properties around the world, and we both felt, as did every member of our families, that Las Palmas was perhaps the most gorgeous place we have ever stayed at. The two cliff-front villas (Turtle Bay and Dolphin Cove) have spectacular views. The casitas are so charming and have the same views as the cliff-front villas though slightly further back. And the House of the Rising Sun has beautiful views from a more elevated point in the villa.

We could not have asked for a more gorgeous, serene, tranquil and spectacular place for our two families to meet and bond. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Palapa daily which was an ideal place for groups to mingle; we had some individual meals at the big villas, and we spent time in all four of the gorgeous pools there.

The staff at Las Palmas was among the kindest and caring that we have seen. The place is leanly staffed as they do not serve food etc. unless you rent the entire property. Yet, the accommodations are cleaned spectacularly, the concierge is ever-present, and any and all needs are seriously addressed! In our case, because we had rented the entire property, we were able to purchase meal coverage which was cooked by two women and they were absolutely delicious. All the meals were prepared with care: we had a delicious breakfast buffet daily; lunch and snacks everyday; and then dinner at the property most nights. Although the staff’s forte was Mexican food, they were so gracious in obliging when we got a little tired of Mexican cuisine. They were receptive to hearing our needs and making what we wanted (and doing an amazing job at that!) At our request and with a little guidance, one night they made the most delicious bbq shrimp; another night grilled fish with Indian spices; a third lunch was delicious grilled chicken and salad in order to give us a break from heavy cheeses and meats. They are very talented at making the meals they know and quick and gracious about learning what they don’t.

Las Palmas' beauty is really unparalleled and the extremely caring demeanor of its staff makes it an incredible place to visit. We will say that there are of course a few things to note when booking Las Palmas. First, the the accommodations are wonderful and charming but they are somewhat basic; the beauty of the place is outdoors so the rooms are not accessorized with the finest and some rooms are sparsely decorated, but this works just fine given the quaint tiles and colors used in the rooms and given the beauty outside; also this comment applies more to the casitas - the villas (Dolphin and Turtle) have really beautiful living areas. Second, given the location of the property on a cliff etc., there are minor recurring, maintenance issues to be deal with: occasionally non-functioning ACs, one toilet leaking episode, occasional strong flourescent halogen lighting without shades over the lighting. These were minor issues and the staff is wonderful about addressing them but they do occur and one just needs to be prepared for it. Lastly, if you are renting the whole property, it does get strenuous for less energetic visitors in Turtle Bay and Dolphin Cove to come to the Palapa for meals, joint events, etc.

While we think it is important to point out these issues just so that people are aware and can address them appropriately based on the maintenance level of their group (these issues can be problematic for high maintenance folks), we do not think that these are material in any way to the wonder that is Las Palmas. Both in physical beauty and heartwarming service, Las Palmas remains possibly the most wonderful place we have visited and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fizz808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We cannot say enough good things about Las Palmas. It is in a prefect location. The whole property is spectacular with it's gardens, villas, casitas and views of two bays. You are surrounded in beauty! The staff was excellent and extremely customer service oriented. This place is ideal for our small family of three or even better for larger groups that want a person touch to their trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kato08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Las Palmas Villas will never disappoint even the harshest of critics! My husband and I just returned from our destination wedding and amazing weeklong vacation with our family and friends. Las Palmas is even more beautiful than the pictures are able to capture. The amount of detail Ron, the owner, put into designing Las Palmas is unbelievable. I could never have dreamed up a more perfect place for a destination wedding.
The location of Las Palmas is on a hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Violin Beach. The beach below the resort was beautiful and my guests enjoyed morning swims, afternoon snorkels, and even the daily workouts by climbing up the hill back to Las Palmas. Well worth the hike down to the beach! Other guests enjoyed Entrega Beach, which is a 5 min walk down the main road and Bocana Beach for the amazingly big waves. There is so much to offer in Huatulco.
This vacation was so memorable not only because we were married in Huatulco, but also because we were able to spend so much quailty time with our families at Las Palmas. We can only hope to one day return for another family vacation!! Feel free to email me with any questions if you are considering a vacation or destination wedding at Las Palmas!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbarker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We travelled to Las Palmas for a family wedding. My husband and I and our 7 month old son stayed for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. The pools are beautiful, the views unbelievable. My recommendations would be for those travelling with small children - bring light weight clothing (Long sleved and covered feet for sleeping to prevent as many bug bites as possible) and mosquito spray. The staff was wonderful, and the facilities were exceptionally clean. The travel into town is easy and affordable. This place is truly a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjenbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Outstanding.... I went surfing, deep sea fishing, snorkling, shoping and relaxed at a couple of their pools. Staff was great, rooms were clean, food was amazing and the view was beyond words... I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This vacation will be one of the most amazing vacations I will ever be on. I can say that with many more vacations in my future!! My friends and I couldnt have imagined how unbelieveable our stay would be, if we had drempt it in our minds. Kiely, the resort manager took car of our every need and provided us with services we would have never discovered. Our housekeeper IRMA wa outstanding. She had fresh fruit and breakfast prepared for us each morning, pico de gallo and cold beverages all afternoon. The authentic mexican cuisine was out of this world! All the food and water was safe, fresh and decadent. We felt like royalty from the moment we were picked up at the airport to our ride back. The best part was how affordable this resort truly is! Staying in a villa, with a personal housekeeper, while enjoying the local beauty and culture of Huatulco, was priceless, yet affordable for myself, a single 30 year old teacher from Massachussetts! I loved every second of this trip, and miss las Plamas everyday!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
2.5 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.4 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
4.0 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
98 reviews
3.5 mi away
Camino Real Zaashila
Camino Real Zaashila
#12 of 47 in Huatulco
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Villas & Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Villas & Casitas

Address: Camino a Playa La Entrega, El Faro | Playa Violin, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Huatulco
Price Range: $120 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately gated Las Palmas Villas & Casitas is nestled atop a dramatic hillside overlooking the ever-blue and at times emerald glistering water of the magnificent Violin Beach. Only a short walk down to this semi private sandy beach. The infinity pool, poolside palapa, bar and barbecue, will invite you to relax and take the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. "This is Luxury Living." Las Palmas Oceanfront Villas & Casitas is a Boutique Resort that features 3 villas and 5 casitas, you can rent the whole resort or just 1 casita or any combination of villas and casitas that suits your group.Each villa includes; one-way airport transport, 4 bedroom-suites, 4.5 bathrooms, daily maid service, cook available, living room, kitchen, ocean view terraces, roof-top deck, private infinity pool, concierge, beach access, parking, in-villa spa service available and much more! (Rising Sun Villa has an additional small bedroom)Each casita includes; 2 ocean view terraces, roof-top patio, 1 bedroom-suite + bed in living room, 2 bathrooms, living room, kitchen, concierge, daily maid service, infinity pool, beach access, in-casita spa services available and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Las Palmas Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing