We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent First time Visit To Mexico!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent First time Visit To Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Thank you to all the staff of the Villa Blanca for making my first visit to Mexico perfect in every way! What a wonderful hotel! Walking distance to the beach and a quick cab ride to town! Food was first rate and rooms were comfy and clean. I think this is a great choice for anyone wanting to experience Huatulco!

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge - stores in walking distance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    149
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
120
264
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

After several trips to Huatulco, I decided to try somewhere different. I prefer to stay at the smaller Mexican hotels within walking distance of everything, and this was a great choice. The check in process was quick (I book my own flights, so I don't have to wait for shuttles and line ups) the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The room on the second floor overlooked the pool and every morning I was greeted by another beautiful sunrise, and the sound of various birds, as I watched the palm trees outside the window swaying in the breeze. Breakfast was always good - fresh, fruit, yogurt and a nice variety of Mexican favorites. The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and efficient at all times. I would have liked a fridge in the room, but not a big deal, as the staff provided me with ice any time I wanted. They were very quick to come up to the room when I had problems with the TV and lights. The air conditioning is great - as it is remote controlled with temperature display and various fan speeds (Some of the other smaller hotels in the area have older systems without remotes and various fan speeds). The rooms were very clean, have a safe for passport and valuables and I had no problems. As mentioned, the location is perfect with currency exchange, OxxO and SuperChe less than a 5 minute walk. Huatulco has started to experience several changes over the years and I hope it doesn't loose its charm and become another Cancun. If you really want to experience Mexico, take advantage of these smaller hotels while you still can. A definite gem and I look forward to my next stay at this wonderful hote

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AngelSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

First I would like to say that I take personal offense to Sven from Waterloo insulting Canadians that choose to travel with Sunwing. Sven you need to educate yourself on the difference between gringos and canucks. Gringo = Americans and Canucks = Canadians.

Breakfast at the VB is excellent. The only difference from last year is that there is no smoothy blender. Otherwise it is exactly the same and has not gone down hill as Sven implied. In fact if you don't see anything on the buffet that you like you can order off menu without any problem at all. The food is always fresh and very good.

We just returned from 2 weeks at the VB and we didn't see anyone being overly loud or having parties at the pool as Sven implied. Except for the locals who came on the weekends to stay at the VB. They had a blast at the pool and yes maybe they did have their little parties in the evening. But after all they are entitled like every other guest at the VB to have fun. Everyone that we met were very considerate and polite and were not noisy or rowdy.

Everyone is entitled to have a good holiday no matter what price they paid for it. The VB is an lovely inexpensive hotel who offers you the best of Huatulco. VB has the best staff who do go out of their way for you and this is why Canadians keep coming back. They are all very lovely people.

I'm sure Sven stays as long as he does at the VB because it is a very affordable hotel to do so.

The music at the VB is very tasteful and mostly Mexican. The entertainment at night is also really good. They are a really good variety of performers who come and play. I have never heard any loud hard rock or soft rock music being played at any time of the day or night.

We met many locals who came on the weekends to stay at the hotel. They were very lovely people who we enjoyed watching have fun with there families. Also we met many other guest from many place who also were very lovely people. Some of which we will remain friends with. But that is what makes the VB so special, you meet so many different people from all over. You don't get this at the 5 star all inclusive resorts.

VB offers water aerobics and yoga a couple times a week. Yoga is usually at 8:00am and water aerobics are at 5:00pm. I think this is a really nice touch and the guest seem to really enjoy a little bit of exercise.

Ourselves as well as other guest from what I could see did spend their money at the VB and at various other places around the area. We saw many guest as well as ourselves eat at the restaurant at lunch and dinner. They have a great menu and the food is very delicious. I highly recommend the Mango Banana Boat, very yummy. The group of 12 that we were with left very generous tips and that is because the staff deserve them.

I'm certain that Sven didn't eat everyone of his meals at the VB otherwise he would have missed all the wonderful cuisine Huatulco has to offer. There are some very good places to eat in Huatulco, one being Elsa's hamburger stand just outside of the VB.

The VB is an exceptional hotel with some of the best staff that we have ever experienced in Mexico. This hotel has the most amazing Manager, Hugo who goes out of his way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. His staff is very helpful, polite, and welcomes you with a smile everyday. They all should be very proud of the job they do, because they do it very well. We will miss them all dearly until I return next year.

Thank you once again VB for the wonderful experience we have had at your hotel. We will look forward to seeing you all next year.

I would like to end in saying that I think it isn't a good idea to charge people for the use of fridges in rooms like Sven suggests. I think every room should have a fridge simply because some people do travel with meds or supplements that need refrigeration. Some guest might like to refresh with a cold drink in their room at night or they might have a diet that requires them to shop at Super Che.

I don't think these reviews were made to judge or call people names just because we can't get what we want.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hola-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I once thought this hotel was an under utilised hidden gem and penned several reviews to sing its praises. Not so since Sunwing started sending guests there. Their one week all-inclusive patrons are often mistakenly looking for a party place and would probably be happier in a larger resort in Tangolunda Bay. The VB is a small quiet Mexican hotel, frequented mostly by a repeat older patronage. In the past, it was quieter and almost abandoned during the day when guests went off site. The newer clientele don't do that as much so the poolside is now busier and noisier. So is the buffet area. And it's getting smokier, too. I wish the hotel would ban all smoking in the restaurant because it drifts from the small smoking section across the full room, And limit smoking to your patio, or a section on the far side of the pool.
My partner and I were at the VB for our 7th month-long stay and we noticed the VB experience has dwindled.as follows. The breakfast buffet is not as good as it used to be; probably to save money given how cheap its 1 week Sunwing packages cost. Another change is that the hotel now plays soft American pop music in the dining room instead of Mexican music, jazz or universal new age stuff. Sunwing might have mistakenly said this is what we gringos like. We were also disappointed that we didn't meet any Mexican tourists tat VB this year because Sunwing is filling VB with gringos, displacing the Mexican families that used to stop over on tour bus packages. IMHO, these kind of changes, along with events like pool aerobics, have diminished the 'Mexico experience' at VB. As did some of the new guests who were toting coolers to the pool area, hiding them under tables, so they could sneak drinks into their 'big bubba' mugs and avoid spending a buck for a beer: how low brow, boorish and inconsiderate of the hotel. These guests pay rock bottom price for their stay, yet complain they didn't get a pool side room or a room fridge. And when they bring their coolers to a table or palapa at a local beach, they're annoyed when the beach restaurant owners charge for use of the table. Really? The Mexicans have 4 months at best to make a few tourist dollars off of you, which they need to survive for the next 8 months, in return for the pleasure you get to stay in a hot, safe, idyllic beach zone, in their wonderful country. As an aside, I get a fridge but I wish the hotel would charge a daily rental rate for them, to make up for the times when I drink my own beer or have a snack bought at Super Che. This way, all rooms could be fridge equipped and the hotel would still benefit financially,
Overall, if VB continues this general downward trend, my wife and a few friends from VB are looking at other Huatulco Mexican hotels. I hope it doesn't come to that as the VB is charming, staff are wonderful and they, along with the former VB experience, would be missed.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet choose the third floor multi-level rooms or a scond floor with balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SvenfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Villablanca hotel for 2 weeks. It was a beautiful and amazing experience. The high quality staff was incredible and bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as was possible. The staff had a beautiful, kind, and happy demeanour that made us feel very much like they cared about their jobs and the visitors to the hotel. The daily breakfast buffet was not only enjoyable because of the amazing food selection, but it was amplified by the smiling faces of the staff each morning who greeted us. The room service and poolside service was half the price of your average luxury hotel but the food and drink quality was 5 star. We very much enjoyed the seafood pasta, handmade salsas, and Aztec soup. The cleaning staff did a consistent and thorough job each morning and the front desk staff was always attentive and helpful when called upon. The management was present most days and would check in to make sure that guests were having the best experience possible. During almost every day, you would find a variety of local artists, instructors, and musicians visiting the hotel to showcase their talents.
We feel that it is important to make a few notes about the surrounding Huatulco community. Huatulco is an amazing town that values the environment and ecology of the area as well as managing pollution and recycling. The seemingly hundreds of city staff were consistently tending to the common green areas - the parks were immaculate with a luscious feel, the beaches were incredibly clean, the boulevards and sidewalks were constantly being tended to by hand, street upgrades were regularly happening - In Short, the entire community seemed to value the beauty and cleanliness of the area. As a note, be prepared for pedalling by locals In the markets, who you will find selling handmade craft, foods, and trinkets - on a positive note though we never felt harassed or threatened. Beaches are, for the most part, marked daily with flags indicating the level of danger and often beaches had full-time lifeguards. In some more remote areas, be cautious of vast areas of coral, undertows, and somewhat unpredictable wave patterns that may result in unsafe situations. It may be advantageous to hire a local guide to ensure your safety and increase your knowledge and enjoyment - there is no shortage of locals to hire for this purpose! Overall, we not only highly recommend Huatulco as a destination, but specifically the Villablanca hotel. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool area were very nice. Be sure to ask for a fridge upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nothing fancy but totally wonderful. The highlights-great staff who appear happy and respected, fabulous daily breakfast buffet, close to supermarket (ask for a fridge), quiet and clean. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and special. We had lovely candlelight dinner by the pool, ordered eggs our way at breakfast, good coffee and yummy margaritas for a very reasonable price.
Our experience was enhanced by the other guests who mostly came on a charter from Canada. Friendships evolved making the stay even more fun. There were also some Mexican families and a handful of well-behaved children.
Location is just far enough from town to be quiet but close enough to walk or take a short cab ride.
I would go back here in a minute.
This is the perfect hotel for those of us that eschew all-inclusives and like a more eclectic experience. Very safe environment.
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a little patio by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just returned from touring around Oaxaca and stayed here from March 11 to 18. Flew Sunwing, and for all the flack they take should be commended for a great travel experience. Can't say much more than has already been said about the Villablanca. Staff is extremely accommodating, rooms are basic but very well maintained, and the restaurant offers great breakfasts as well as a good variety for lunch and dinners. Pool is small but well maintained.

Like others have advised, make sure to duck out the left side of the hotel to visit Elsa's hamburger stand. Very nice lady who makes a mean burger and fries.

If you're travelling during charter season, expect that this hotel will be populated by mostly Western Canadians who are very friendly and sociable. I met many people who I had dinners with and took many excursions together. On the weekends, many Mexican natiionals come into town and many stay here. They love the pool area and the kids have a blast. They are very friendly and gracious.

If you're looking to get away from the large and antiseptic all-inclusives, you would do very well to visit the Villablanca.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itravelutour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.9 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#9 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villablanca Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Property: Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez | Esquina con Zapoteco Bahías de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villablanca Huatulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villablanca Huatulco has an atmosphere of rest with careful details of Mexican architecture and style that stand out in the Bay of Chahue. During your visit you will be provided with warm comfort to experience perfect relaxation during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villablanca Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Blanca Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Hotel Blanca Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing