We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Villablanca, Huatulco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel Villablanca, Huatulco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for an all inclusive 900 room hotel....keep searching. But if you are looking for a great little hotel, breakfast included, close to downtown, 5 min walk to the beach, 7 minute walk to the marina, amazing service, friendly faces...look no further. This isn't a 5 star hotel & I Love It! Only a few Canadians and the rest were Mexican Tourists. I explored so much more by not being in a mega resort. Much prefer to eat lunch and dinner at local diners than eating at the same resort for every meal. Thanks to Villablanca, Huatulco for making this vacation so memorable. Wifi in the room was excellent, live entertainment Wed & Friday nights was exceptional, rooms were clean (old mexico look). Had a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool, loved it. River tour and Waterfall tour were well worth the price. Really enjoyed the mud bath at the end of the river tour.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Nomad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    149
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
120
264
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esterhazy, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 2 weeks At the Villablanca in March and returned for a week the 9th of Dec.The pool has been redone , very nice now . Good for both kids and older folks ! The menu also updated, we ate most of our meals right there as the food was great and the service excellent. We were given a very warm welcome by the staff . They remembered us from March. Made us feel as if we were visiting family. In larger hotels it seems harder to get to know people. Here guests make an effort to get to meet other guests and lasting friendships are made. All the staff do their best to satisfy their guests and appear to enjoy their jobs.A huge thank-you to Hugo and Anna-- you are the best !!!We look forward to coming back to enjoy your outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 947Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Like so many others who reviewed this hotel, i was a bit skeptical about the 2.5 star rating, but like them, I was delighted with the hotel. I have travelled extensively, and visited many parts of Mexico, and have to say I loved the hotel and the area.
Hotel is very well-maintained, clean, with friendly and helpful staff. Buffet breakfast was included in my package -- ample but not great. excellent coffee!
Room was very well-appointed. Bottled water re-stocked daily, coffeemaker with coffee. and I only had to ask to have a mini-fridge put in my room. With a supermarket around the corner, it was easy to have my own supply of drinks and snacks. Wifi was very reliable from my room or poolside.
Other guests were a mix of families and older couples, quiet. Closest beach is a 5 minute walk, where the hotel has a beach club with snacks, bar and swimming pool.
All in all, it was everything I could ask for, and as a single woman, I was completely comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SusanC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Enjoyed our stay to the fullest thanks to the extremly friendly staff and the marvellous breakfast. Rooms are big and clean although we would have loved to have the TV upstairs instead of downstairs and a little fridge but apart from that, we felt like home at the Villablanca. Renting a car has been only usefeul for a day to check out the beaches in the east, and the Villablanca offers free parking behind the pool. We booked a jungle-trip to the cascadas magicas through Interjet and it was a blast thanks to the crew and the people travelling with us. I would love to visit Huatulco one day again as its perfectly for couples who are needing a rest for a week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutschito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We just returned from an 8 day stay at this property! The rooms are very clean and well appointed. Be sure to ask for a fridge - the SuperChe is a block away and you can stock up on snacks and drinks there. The pool area is cozy and well maintained. The guests at Villa Blanca become like family comparing excursions and adventures of the day! The restaurant on site is very good - the breakfast buffet is excellent and you can also order from the menu. What makes this property extra special is the staff - Annaee and Hugo have a terrific team! Inparticular - Giovanni is a gem! Always with a smile he is more than willing to answer questions about the area, restaurants or just chat! He is fluent in English and is very helpful. A new staff member - Daniel also speaks English well and is cheerful and helpful! Francesca at the front desk, and Lala in the restaurant were sweethearts. We had fantastic service from everyone but that is all the names I remember A big plus of this property is the location. You are just a five minute walk to the beach club and only 10 -15 minutes into LaCrucecita or Santa Cruz. Cab's are always available and a mere 25 pesos into town. We found Huatulco to be very safe and the people friendly. Not as crowded or locals pressuring to buy things as the Mayan. We had always stayed at all Inclusive resorts before and I don't think we will go back to it. Hoping for another deal to Huatulco next December and we will definitley go back to Villa Blanca!

Room Tip: ask for a pool side room but those generally go to return guests - and there are many! The junior s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Hotel Villa Blanca Huatulco from December 3rd to the 10th 2013! we booked our vacation package through i travel 2000 and paid $695 per person including taxes leaving from Calgary International Airport!

We booked our vacation 1.5 weeks before going, and paid $695 but the price did go down to $555 a couple of days before we left, either way, we thought we got a good deal on the vacation and had a great time at Hotel Villa Blanca in Huatulco Mexico.

The hotel itself states it is a 4 star, but honestly is more a 3 star hotel! and this is why:

Rooms: 3 star, beds are a little on the hard side, and the rooms are a little dated, but VERY clean, and smell fresh! the air-conditioning system is new and quiet, slough ours leaked when set below 20C. there was a new in room safe which was free and a flat screen TV with average channels!
The bathroom had a tiled shower with seat that was a little dated, but had new toilets!

Pool: 4 star, was recently re done, very nicely done and a nice place to relax for both kids and adults!

Restaurant/Breakfast: Breakfast was included and was excellent like everyone else has pointed out, a decent variety traditional mexican breakfast better quality then the all inclusive places in my opinion and there were never any shortages on certain items. Also fresh squeezed orange juice, carrot juice and an interesting kiwi/herb juice as well as coffee was offered!
For lunch/dinner the menu offered everything from mexican to north american dishes that were all excellent and rivalled any north american restaurant! price are a bit more and range from $120-$240 peso's (similar to eating out back home, but better quality)
Drinks were excellent as well, the pina coladas were great, as well as the daiquiris! we didn't have anything else but no one complained!

The staff at the hotel are great, very friendly and accommodating! everyone that asked for late checkout got it for free!

Beach Club: The beach club is a 5 min walk and is a little dated, peeling paint, rust spots, and missing tiles in the pool. The freshwater showers did not work so everyone just jumped in the pool causing a bunch of sand to be dragged in, but we only used the pool to rinse off so we didn't mind. there were plenty of loungers available, but you have to drag them down onto the sand yourself and bring them back. there are no palapas or any other from of shade on the beach which would have been nice, we actually dragged one of the umbrellas from the beach club onto the sand one day but dragging the 150lb concrete base across the sand wasn't much fun!
The food and drinks at the club are excellent and very well priced, the Hamburger and Clubhouse sandwich we had were every bit as good as the ones served in the restaurants back home but only cost $65 pesos each! a bucket of 5 corona beer was $100 pesos and everything else was well priced. the staff at the beach club are friendly and try hard to please you!

The beach: the beach is nice, the water is warm, access is a little steep for the elderly and some complain that its not good for swimming, but in our opinion it was fine, but then again we are young, (30)! We did have jelly fish that stung a little (felt like a mosquito bite) for several days brought in by a colder current, reactions differed between people, and ranged from no reaction to them to blisters. we were in the water more then anyone else, and only had a couple of red bumps one day to show for it, but the jelly fish were everywhere, even in tangolunda and playa la entrada as well as in santa cruz bay!

Location: Excellent, 5 minutes to the beach club, 10 minutes to santa cruz bay where the cruiseships come in as well as shops and restaurants on the beach. 15-20 min walk to el Centro, the centre of town or town square with numerous shops and restaurants, we ate a a bunch of them, prices are very cheap (we ate a dinner for 2 including beer for $93 pesos) but averaged around $170 pesos for a nice dinner for 2 including drinks in el Centro.
Santa cruz bay, restaurants were excellent as well but a little more pricy, but then again i had a bacon wrapped filet mignon with fries and rice for $140 pesos, and it was excellent!

The weather: the first day we arrived at 9pm, and just had dinner at the hotel, it was cloudy 28 degrees and around 95% humidity, so it felt HOT, the next day was the same, we actually were happy the sun wasn't out as we were laying on the beach in the heat

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, December 3rd to 10th, it was very clean, staff are friendly. For my husband and I, we liked the rooms ( try to get ground floor ), no clock radio though. Asked for fridge and got one no problem. Very quiet and layed back, too much so for us. Would highly recommend for anyone just looking to kick back and read a book, but too boring for us. Guess it all depends what you want.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twoblue_iis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.9 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#9 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villablanca Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Property: Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez | Esquina con Zapoteco Bahías de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villablanca Huatulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villablanca Huatulco has an atmosphere of rest with careful details of Mexican architecture and style that stand out in the Bay of Chahue. During your visit you will be provided with warm comfort to experience perfect relaxation during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villablanca Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Blanca Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Hotel Blanca Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing