We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop reading reviews and make your reservation now!”
Review of Villa Sol y Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sol y Mar
Ranked #1 of 41 Huatulco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was our second visit to beautiful Huatulco in recent years and after trying a highly rated local resort our first time we decided to try something more unique (Villa Sol y Mar), which turned out being a great decision! We had the pleasure of staying at Sol y Mar for one week and we will certainly stay here again soon.

Highlights include the clean, comfortable and spacious accommodations combined with very caring and attentive service (muchas gracias Elsa & Pedro!). The location is fantastic, secure and well maintained, with an amazing ocean view and peaceful surroundings filled with positive energy. We enjoyed spending our time in the refreshing infinity pool, reading, doing yoga, watching the amazing sunsets and gazing at the stars -- and eating as much of the fresh local produce as possible. Having access to the kitchen and grill was important to us, as we frequently took advantage of the ability to cook our own meals (note that breakfast including local coffee is served daily). We did not really feel any desire or need to leave the Villa, other than to buy produce and supplies so that we would not have to leave again!

Note if you are a beach person (and somehow not satisfied with the ocean view infinity pool) the Villa does have beach access but it requires some steep stair climbing (bonus=exercise). The Villa has air conditioning, but we never found the need to use it and thoroughly enjoyed the cool evening breeze coming into our room along with the tranquil sounds of the ocean surf.

Suggest you stop reading the reviews and make your reservation now!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sol y Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Another seamless stay. Clean Comfortable and Luxurious, Villa Sol y Mar is the only place I want to stay in this area of Mexico. Writing this review , I feel a little selfish. The villa is so great, a part of me doesn't want anyone to know about it. Proprietors Wayne, Marcy and Ace have a unique and classy home. Check it out. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scsiemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Villa Sol y Mar is a fantastic home built in a lovely location, owned and operated by two fantastic human beings (Wayne and Marcy), plus a great doggie (Ace). My wife and I were lucky enough to enjoy all of the above, alas, only for a short time. During our stay we got to talk with both Wayne and Marcy, and our lives were enriched by the experience. If you are looking for a quiet retreat with a breath-taking ocean-view and good vibes, look no further than Villa Sol y Mar.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WillowyNicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay at Villa Sol Y Mar was suddenly interrupted when my wife suffered a life threatening stroke. Wayne stayed by my side for the ensuing 21 hours. We were taken to the local clinic which was primitive at best. Thankfully, I am retired MD and was able to aid her and arrange air ambulance to Houston. Wayne even loaned me money that was needed to pay for her transportation. She is now in rehab and slowly recovering. Before this happened we felt Villa Sol Y Mar was the best place we had ever stayed and we still feel that way. I cannot thank Wayne and Marcy enough. We would return there in a minute if we are able.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggiebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had tried for 2 years to find "our" place in Huatulco, and last December we found it at Villa Sol y Mar. We rented the whole Villa for the last week of the year and we really enjoyed ourselves. Wayne and Marcy were fabulous hosts. The villa is really comfortable, with a great view. We really enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was a nice treat, by the way....we surely recommend it and look forward to coming back next year

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilaPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We agree with all the wonderful reviews of Sol y Mar. Wayne and Marcy are gracious hosts. Quiet, beautiful, easy access to town. Huatulco is a wonderful place for those who want to experience Mexico in a safe, comfortable, crowdless beach environment. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

At the risk of sounding repetitive I just wanted to add my glowing praise of Villa Sol y Mar. Thank you Wayne and Marcy for being such wonderful, caring hosts. We felt at home the moment we arrived.
Set in a gated residential area a short taxi ride from everywhere but far enough from the crowded all inclusive resorts we realize we chose well. The view is awesome, the pool so inviting, room immaculate, breakfast just perfect.
If you want to do nothing you are in the right place. However Wayne and Marcy are a feast of knowledge and will happily assist you in any plans you may have whether it be fishing, golfing, visiting coffee plantations or just finding the best beach!
We heartily recommend Villa Sol y Mar and look forward to our return.

Room Tip: We had room 1. Largest room and in my opinion best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bestie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
98 reviews
4.3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,675 reviews
1.9 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sol y Mar

Address: Lote 16, Mza 7, Residencial Conejos, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Huatulco
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful ambiance of the Villa Sol y Mar is the ultimate in a relaxing vacation. Every room is designed to capture the tropical breezes and beautiful ocean views. With only five suites, there are no crowds or fighting for space at the private 40'infinity pool. Each of the 5 spacious suites features queen size beds, private bath, mini-fridge, air conditioner, ceiling fan and large private veranda overlooking the ocean. The poolside gathering area is a great spot to visit with other guests while watching the setting sun. You receive a complimentary breakfast and have the opportunity to share the use of the kitchen. The beach access is a block away from the villa and well worth the adventure climb up and down the hill. Like a lot of secluded beaches in Huatulco you'll find these gems formed between the mountainsides of the Oaxacan coast. Your hosts, Wayne and Marcy, are available on site November through April, and our administrator Pauline from May through October, to make sure your holiday is one of the best ever! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Sol y Mar Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing