We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had an awesome time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Sol y Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sol y Mar
Ranked #1 of 39 Huatulco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We had an awesome time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had tried for 2 years to find "our" place in Huatulco, and last December we found it at Villa Sol y Mar. We rented the whole Villa for the last week of the year and we really enjoyed ourselves. Wayne and Marcy were fabulous hosts. The villa is really comfortable, with a great view. We really enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was a nice treat, by the way....we surely recommend it and look forward to coming back next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
144
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We agree with all the wonderful reviews of Sol y Mar. Wayne and Marcy are gracious hosts. Quiet, beautiful, easy access to town. Huatulco is a wonderful place for those who want to experience Mexico in a safe, comfortable, crowdless beach environment. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

At the risk of sounding repetitive I just wanted to add my glowing praise of Villa Sol y Mar. Thank you Wayne and Marcy for being such wonderful, caring hosts. We felt at home the moment we arrived.
Set in a gated residential area a short taxi ride from everywhere but far enough from the crowded all inclusive resorts we realize we chose well. The view is awesome, the pool so inviting, room immaculate, breakfast just perfect.
If you want to do nothing you are in the right place. However Wayne and Marcy are a feast of knowledge and will happily assist you in any plans you may have whether it be fishing, golfing, visiting coffee plantations or just finding the best beach!
We heartily recommend Villa Sol y Mar and look forward to our return.

Room Tip: We had room 1. Largest room and in my opinion best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wayne, Marcy and Ace were gracious hosts and very knowledgeable regarding Huatulco and the surrounding area. They were intune to all guests' personalities, variety of interests and made helpful suggestions for dining out.

During previous Mexico vacations my husband and I would typically seek out a location to watch the sunset and enjoy a cocktail, here we had the best view right from Villa Sol y Mar every evening. Marcy, Wayne and other guests made us feel like were among friends. Several mornings I accompanied Wayne, Ace and other guests to Bucana Beach to walk the beach as Ace got in his run and also witness the breathtaking sunrise.

I would definitely recommend this location for travelers 55+, you can do as much or as little as you wish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55plustraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is our fourth trip to Huatulco and our second stay at Villa Sol y Mar. Going back to the Villa was like coming home... to family you really like!

We had a very unique experience, as we were the only guests at the Villa until the end of our trip, due to a cancellation.

The Overbys’ let us choose to be involved in as much or little of their daily lives as we liked. We joined Wayne and Ace every morning to walk the beach watch the breathtaking sun rise over the ocean. We loved the breakfast beverages fresh squeezed juice and coffee (grown locally on the mountain at Pluma Hildago).

We were invited to join them and their friends on a drive up the mountain to purchase coffee, had an opportunity to join a group for a delicious breakfast. They toured us around the area and were taken on an informal tour of a local garden that grows the most amazing orchids.

Hubby and I spent our days in each other’s company enjoying the beaches peppered with a few days lazing poolside.

There were also some unexpected adventures when we were invited to Join Wayne on trips to Zipolite. A great place to paint, sketch, meet new people and explore your inner mermaid.

Another unexpected bonus day was a trip to Puerto Escondido. We all piled into Wayne’s Jeep and had a fun and scenic drive, ate the most delicious meal, saw amazing surf and enjoyed their company so much.

Again, we would not have experienced this had there been a full house at the Villa. We realize how extremely fortunate we were that everything aligned perfectly for them to give so freely of their time.

The same spirit of generosity was also extended by their personal friends who went out of their way to include us in everything from Super Bowl festivities to looking for accommodations’ to rent long term.

The things at the Villa that have not changed, is wonderful breakfasts, the sound of the ocean outside your door, plenty of space, comfortable and clean rooms, amazing views, a pool that I cannot drag myself out of and comfortable outdoor living.

Our host and hostess were exceptional; they effortlessly maintain a “Vacation Oasis.” All glitches are handled quickly and efficiently. They genuinely care about each guest’s personal experience and go above and beyond anything I have ever experienced.

Would I go back? In a heartbeat!

Would I recommend it? Absolutely!

Can Wayne jump more than a half inch? Yes, he can, I have seen it with my own eyes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Villa Sol y Mar for one week, just after the New Year. Our only gripe... we did not book our stay long enough!! The Villa was located about 5 miles from the city's center, which was fine by us! It sits atop a hill, which allowed for an amazing panoramic view of the bay below. While not entirely steps away from a beach, a short drive would place you near really good swim and snorkel spots. The infinity pool was a plus, and we were in in daily. We appreciated the peace, quiet and serenity that the location offered. After just one day, we came to recognize that each day and night was a true work of art. Our hosts, Wayne and Marci could not have been more welcoming (plus we had the added bonus of meeting and hanging out their children and grandchildren during our stay.) Wayne and Marci our a wealth of information, and helped us with questions we had during our stay. Suggestions were helpful and well received. The Villa is nicely appointed and comfortable. Our room was spacious and bright, which was welcomed by us both. We had access to the full kitchen, which was helpful when we wanted to eat at "home" and enjoy the magical sunsets also served as evening television. :-) A light breakfast was served daily, with the coffee from Pluma Hidalgo the highlight. Bring lots of books, and a mindset that is focused on relaxing! Would we go back? The better question is "why would we leave." But since relocating is not YET in our plans, we would and will go back without reservation. An honorable mention has to go to "Ace" the Villa's family dog. He was sweet and adorable, and nice to have around, especially since we left ours at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SocWorkerSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great experience! Wayne and Marcy’s beautifully designed Villa Sol y Mar will spoil you with comfort. They are gracious hosts with tremendous knowledge of the area. (We felt like we were visiting family—Wayne and Marcy tailored suggestions to our personalities and invited us along when they ran errands, they even gave us warm hugs as we said our goodbyes.)
Their residential location is just a fifty peso taxi ride to most anywhere you want to go. We enjoyed our morning walks in the quiet neighborhood and floating in the pool at night under the stars. The hillside location provides a cooling sea breeze at night, so we never turned on the air conditioner, and the tropical sunset views were breathtaking. If you’re looking for a safe, relaxing home base to explore the Huatulco area from-- this is it.
Some of the things that we did while there were: visiting the ruins at Copalita (a guide is recommended), a day trip to Pluma Hidalgo, where we visited a delightful woman whose garden is filled with 130 species of orchids, and a day spent snorkeling and exploring the bays and beaches of Huatulco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlando151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.5 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sol y Mar

Property: Villa Sol y Mar
Address: Lote 16, Mza 7, Residencial Conejos, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful ambiance of the Villa Sol y Mar is the ultimate in a relaxing vacation. Every room is designed to capture the tropical breezes and beautiful ocean views. With only five suites, there are no crowds or fighting for space at the private 40'infinity pool. Each of the 5 spacious suites features queen size beds, private bath, mini-fridge, air conditioner, ceiling fan and large private veranda overlooking the ocean. The poolside gathering area is a great spot to visit with other guests while watching the setting sun. You receive a complimentary breakfast and have the opportunity to share the use of the kitchen. The beach access is a block away from the villa and well worth the adventure climb up and down the hill. Like a lot of secluded beaches in Huatulco you'll find these gems formed between the mountainsides of the Oaxacan coast. Your hosts, Wayne and Marcy, are available on site November through April, and our administrator Pauline from May through October, to make sure your holiday is one of the best ever! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Sol y Mar Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing