We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and memorable holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Brisas Huatulco
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and memorable holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed February 22nd through March 1. I emailed the resort prior to our arrival to ask that my daughter's room could be near ours as the resort is quite large. I also asked if something could be arranged for my daughters 22nd birthday the evening we arrived. Within an hour they responded to my email and asked me to see the concierge upon arrival. The concierge arranged all of our ala carte dinners at that time and our meal that evening at the mexican restaurant. After our meal a cake was presented to my daughter with her name on it and was serenaded by Frankie with his violin while we sang Happy Birthday. Frankie then played a couple of songs for us while we ate birthday cake. This event set the tone for our stay at Las Brisas. Each and every staff member had a smile and an Hola each time we saw them.
The beach was clean and the coral reef with fish wonderful to see. The scenery of the bay and the Sierra Madre mountains a gorgeous backdrop for the greenery around us. Yes, it's the dry season so some areas are brown but constantly being attended to.
The rooms are older but immaculate. Each day a lot of time was spendt cleaning the rooms. My only complaint was the pillows were really soft but I'm sure if I had asked for other pillows they would have been provided.
The food was different in the buffet a couple of days. One night Italian and one night international cusine. There are may Mexican dishes available as well and they were very tasty. Sometimes they looked a bit repetitive but I think it's because many dishes are made with tortillas. The ala carte restaurants were good too. If you are coming for five star dining you will be disappointed but if you are happy with well prepared tasty food you will be happy with the choices.
We went to town and felt safe and enjoyed shopping with the locals for souveniers and basics like sunscreen (bring lots, in town the suncreen was 180 pesos or roughly 18.00)
A cab was 400 pesos there and 300 back why, don't know.
We took a side trip to the Pre Hispanic ruins of pyramids and a rafting trip that was great fun. The ruins are interesting but not large but the museum is very nice and the walk around the ruins is very beautiful and educational about the area and birds and trees. The rafting trip was lots of fun and the lunch after very entertaining. Be sure and wear you bathing suit for the rafting as you can swim in the river half-way through the trip. Our guide Michael was very informative and articulate and a papamedic so you are safe and lucky if he's your guide.
All in all we had a wonderful relaxing holiday. It's a quiet place to rest and relax. If you are looking for discos this is not what you will find.
We had a wonderful holiday and would highly recommend Los Brisas Huatulco.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
February 7th, 2011.
Bahias de Huatulco, Oaxaca.


Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Las Brisas Huatulco!

We are happy to know that we fulfilled your expectations, your comments are
without hesitation the best reward for all of us here at Las Brisas Huatulco, as they show us we are on the right direction in guest satisfaction.

We have taken note of your observations about the pillows and we can assure you corrective steps have been taken.


We are all proud to have earned your positive comments and look forward
to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again.


Sincerely,

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,103
    366
    121
    80
See reviews for
1,083
1,058
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

Las Brisas was a great place to stay. Huatulco is consistently hot, so no worries there. The resort is very large, but we loved the walking, even the stairs didn't deter us. We hardly ever took the shuttles. We prefered to walk off the extras from the buffet.
The food was fine, always something to please, and the Solarium Steak House was very good too. The Mexican was disappointing as we never did get to eat there; they seated us, took our drink order and 25 minutes later we never saw them again....so we left. I did complain to the conceirge, and they were going to 'investigate' it, but we never heard back about it. We ended up at the buffet and were able to get a good meal.
The room was great, the Beach Club rooms had awesome views of ocean, and a little restaurant that was just for those room guests where you could get a very decent continental breakfast, or go in the evening for appies and drinks before dinner. The staff were great everywhere, no complaints on that, other than poor/non-existent service at Mexican. The beaches were great, with superb snorkeling. You could kayak and sail as well. For a 4.00 cab ride in to town, there was lots to see and do. We went several times. We would not hesitate to return! Thanks Las Brisas for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Needs improvement in the food category. We were here from Feb.22 to Mar 1/11.
The weather could not have been better. The grounds although very dry and brown were well taken care of and very very clean! It is the dry time of year for Huatulco. I can't wait to see it decked out in all of it's glorious greenery. My room was immacuately kept although we had ants, lots and lots of ants.......There must be something that can be done about them.
The food was this resorts biggest downfall.Neither of us are picky about food but after 7 days and many many food options not one met our expectations. It seemed like rehashed mush served in pigs troughs day after day. We were saddened by this as we both loved this resort overall and already want to rebook for early fall 2011.
We had 10 family members staying at Dreams during this same week and they absolutely loved every aspect including the food. 4 of these same family members had stayed at las Brisas 3 years ago and had no problem with the food. I am wondering if there has been a change in cooks or cooking method, or both. This will definitely be a factor when we book our yearly trip for Nov-Dec this year.
We both loved he terrain although you sometimes felt as if you were scaling a small Everest after 3 or 4 times of going to your room each day...definitely not for the out of shapes or physically challenged in any way. Ther are shuttles available but walk if you can, great for working off all those drink or "food "calories.
This resort is showing it's age but very well cared for as i said so if you are looking for ultra modern facilities and upscale service go elsewhere as you will not find that at Las Brisas.
I just hope they change the food so I can feel confident in going back althugh I will probably give one of the other resorts a try on my next visit.
Best of luck Las Brisas for the most part I (we)really enjoyed our stay in Huatulco!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teejaie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
March 5th, 2011.
Bahias de Huatulco, Oaxaca

Thank you very much for your recent visit to our Resort.

First of all please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your recent stay.

We have taken note of your observations and we can assure you corrective steps have been taken.

Thank you for your attention and we look forward to service you again next Fall.


Thank you again for your preference.


Best regards,

Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Not a fancy place, nor a 5-star place in the luxury sense but very under-rated. I highly recommend it. We had a rental car so it was very easy for us to come and go to see the rest of Huatulco. Which is good since I wasn't all that impressed with the restaurants at the hotel. Anyways, great service, nice rooms in a condo like setting. All rooms from what we can tell had great views. A great value.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

This was our second time to Las Brisas as we had been there before in 2007. The quality at this resort is still top-notch as it was in 2007. Basically, Las Brisas rocks! It is the best hotel on Tangolunda Bay in my opinion.

The grounds are beautiful with lots of awesome flora and fauna. We got a beautiful room in the Sea (blue tower) section and it had amazing views right across the bay. Unlike other resort areas in Mexico, our room and king size bed were ready when we checked in. There is never a hassle getting the room you paid for at Las Brisas.

The beaches are amazing, and the staff extremely friendly. I honestly have no complaints about Las Brisas and my second time there was even better than the first!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindtballz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
March 2nd, 2011.
Bahias de Huatulco, Oaxaca.


Thank you very much for your recent visit to our Resort.

We really appreciate your comments, we are happy to know you enjoyed your room in Sea Section, beautiful beaches, and variety of flora and fauna around Las Brisas Huatulco and that you considered it the best hotel in Tangolunda.

Thank you again for your preference and we look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again and again in this your home Las Brisas Huatulco!!!


Cordially,


Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We just returned from a great two weeks at Las Brisas. This was our fourth trip to Huatulco and the third stay at Las Brisas. Some would ask “why do we keep going back to the same place?”

Here are some reasons we plan to go back for a fifth time.

1. I would like to see how they continue to improve Las Brisas.
We saw a lot of work being done to improve the resort. They are putting in walkways beside some of the tighter rods to make them more pedestrian friendly. They are redecorating the rooms. In one we saw, they had totally gutted the bathroom. We were told all the rooms would be done by next year. They have redone many of the public washrooms, new chairs in the snack bar, and new stone risers on the steps of the public area steps. I am sure more is going on that I didn’t see.
2. I would like to see how La Bocana develops.
They have built a new market there are it looks fabulous. There are only a few vendors right now, but there is room for many, it is all outside with a lot of shade and super cool washrooms that are totally modern - perfect for this girl with high standards for bathrooms. It looks like there is some other new development in the area as well.
3. Return to Hagia Sofia and see the growth of the plants.
We took a trip to this Eco agricultural area in the mountains past Santa Maria. It is a different take on progress in the area. They are self sustaining and growing many types of plants. We had the best fruit of the trip upon arrival here. Later, they cooked us a very nice lunch.
4. Take another trip with Pablo.
Pablo does the bird watching tours at the resort and has became our friend. The “husbands” were up before the sun every morning Pablo was on site, plus we took a couple other trips with him. He is a wealth of information on birds, the area, the culture, and speaks english very well. He took us to Pluma Hildago, the village on top of the mountain and we were literally above the clouds. My husband also went on another hike with Pablo to his home town and was definitely one of the highlights of the trip.
5. Still need to see more of the different beaches.
We had planned to go to San Augustine and a couple other places but ran out of time. So many beaches, so little time.
6. To be treated with courtesy, respect and joy.
The staff treat us so well and they really seem to love their jobs and work well as a team. There is a great integration to see that the guests needs are met. Fortunately this welcoming spirt does not end at the resort. We enjoy interacting with the locals. A little bit of Spanish, accompanied by charades goes a long way here. Even very poor Spanish makes their faces light up.
7. To check if the weather can really be that great. Every time we go they weather is pretty much perfect. Can it really be that hot every time we go?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dharmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
March 2nd, 2011.
Bahias de Huatulco, Oaxaca.


We are happy to know that we fulfilled your expectations, and it helps you to keep going back to this your home LAS BRISAS HUATULCO!!

Your comments are without hesitation the best reward for all of us here at Las Brisas Huatulco, as they show us we are on the right direction in guest satisfaction.

We are all proud to have earned your positive comments and look forward
to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again in this paradise Bahias de Huatulco.

Sincerely,


Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kegs605
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The rooms are a little far from the pool and beach, but the carts come pick you up all the time so you dont have to wait.. The food got a little boring, a little disapointed that there wasnt a theme nite at the buffet.. so that got a bit boring.. The pool awesome and the beaches awesome, clean hotel, nice pleasant people.. the only think we went with another couple and i emailed the hotel before we left and want us to be in the same complex but we were not, so get a confirmation, not helpful on this part..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kegs605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
March 2nd, 2011.
Bahias de Huatulco, Oaxaca.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your visit to our Resort
on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed pool and beaches in Las Brisas Huatulco.

First of all please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your recent stay.

We have taken note of your observations and we can assure you corrective steps have been taken.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again in this beautiful destination: Huatulco.


Cordially,


Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Property: Las Brisas Huatulco
Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#9 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing