We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This just became our new favourite place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Brisas Huatulco
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This just became our new favourite place!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We just got back from 2 weeks at Las Brisas Huatulco and absolutely loved it. We travelled with 2 other couples and none of us had been to this area of Mexico so we weren,t sure what to expect. What we found was unbelievable weather, great swimming and snorkeling, awesome staff, good food and overall a very positive experience
We stayed in the Estrellas area or Stars and had a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. Some of the other rooms looked out into the bay which also was beautiful. The rooms were a bit basic but spacious and always very clean with very nice bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and the cleaning service usually decorated them with lovely flowers.
The food was good with generally lots of selections at the buffet. We especially enjoyed the Sea Food and the Mediterrean .a la carte restaurants. Breakfast was always nice at the Mexicano restaurant because it is open air and you are a few steps from the beach. The buffet has more selections for breakfast but it is indoors.
We can.t say enough about the staff here. They were all very friendly, worked extremely hard, and always had a smile or greeting for you. It is nice because even though the resort seems large when you first arrive, the main eating and entertainment areas are all close and you get to know the staff quite well.
We travelled into La Crucecita several times which was a 10 minute, 45 pesos taxi ride. This is a beautiful little town with lots of gift shops, restaurants and bars. We always felt very safe and welcome and even though there are street vendors they were not pushy at all.
Our best day was when we rented a small boat to take us to 3 different beaches for snorkeling and had lunch at a restaurant at St. Augustine beach. Our captain and his son were so friendly and laid back and they had no schedule to follow or any specific tour. We caught fish which he had his friend cook for us at the restaurant along with some Red Snapper that we purchased. It was absolutely fantastic cooked on an open fire right beside the beach! The snorkeling at St. Augustine was also awesome with tons of fish and crystal clear water.
We met many people who have travelled to Las Brisas several times and we will definately be returning.

Room Tip: The higher level rooms definitely have better view of either the bay or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    1,156
    390
    126
    83
See reviews for
1,200
1,099
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our reason for choosing Las Brisas Huatulco is because of the variety of birds around the resort, and because the resort provides an experienced birding guide three times a week, Monday, Wednesday and Friday, free of charge. Pablo Narvaez Munoz is the guide. He has very good English skills and knows his birds. It is lots of fun to join up with other people staying at the resort and have Pablo show you birds around the resort and also outside the resort grounds. Pablo even has some spare binoculars, but it is best to bring your own. Pablo sets up his telescope to give people a closer look at colorful birds such as a pair of white-fronted parrots at their nest hole in a palm tree, palebilled woodpeckers, grey hawks, whitefronted magpie jays, and he is very willing to show you the differences between the variety of colorful orioles in the area.

Las Brisas Resort location is excellent. The staff are so friendly and respond quickly to your needs. It is spread out over a large area of hilly terrain and they have excellent walkways and stairs, but you do need to be fit enough to do this kind of walking - it is not really too suitable for those with serious walking handicaps. However, you can call for carts to transport you from one area to another. Four beaches give you such a variety. Two sandy beaches are great for swimming and give easy access to a coral reef for snorkelling fun. A third sandy beach is good for swimming and where you can take out kayaks and catamarans. A fourth "secret cove" is a good challenge for snorkellers. The swimming pools are excellent for length swimming. Only complaint might be the overly loud music at the pool on occasion. Also wish the whole pool area was non-smoking, but at least the children's end of the pool should be non-smoking at all times. This was our second trip to Las Brisas and we will be back again. Hasta la vista.

Room Tip: If you want a large room including balcony and ocean view, be sure to choose a Beach Club Deluxe Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to Las Brisas Huatulco from Jan. 27 to Feb. 3 2014. First time to Huatulco. The weather was awesome and being the dry season we didn't have a drop of rain. We went fishing 2 times with Gregorio and his first mate Ephrain? (Forgive my spelling). These two days were the highlight of the trip for me. First day out, all 6 of us went out for some fishing and sightseeing. We caught 11 Bonito's. We cruised with the dolphins and saw many turtles. Greg brought the boat along side the turtles. The turtles would dive when we got too close. About the 6th or 7th time Greg dove in under the turtle and brought it on board for pics. It was great! The turtle was not harmed in any way. A couple days later, just the guys went out for the "Big One". We went further out and fished all day. We had a Sailfish on but lost him near the boat. We saw many huge Stingrays just under the surface. The water was very rough that day. Greg was very professional and a great captain. Do not hesitate to hire Greg for a great day of affordable fishing and or sightseeing. He can be found down on the beach next to the beach bar (Las Brisas) most days, if he's not on the water. Thanks Greg, for a great experience and I hope to see you in the future. Darcy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

On our first trip to Huatulco we stayed 4 days each at four different resorts to get a feel for the area and the types of resorts - Las Brisas unfortunately was our least favourite of all the resorts we stayed at. Firstly, the resort is huge and getting around will consume a lot of your time...even if you forsake walking for the golf carts. It is also comprised entirely of cement which takes on a sweat-box aura in 100 degree weather.

Secondly, the pools and other amenities are herded around the central lobby area; this causes everyone to cluster together instead of having multiple areas or pools to thin out the crowds - even the bathrooms are rationed with a single washroom serving large swathes of area.

Thirdly, The food was also very poor - your best bets are the cafeteria buffet or the smaller buffet next to the bar.....all the ala cart restaurants had terrible food both in taste and quality.

Fourthly, if you are not at the resort on an all-inclusive package they don't really know what to do with you....we booked independently and didn't opt for the all inclusive as we like to eat in town etc. They don't accept cash anywhere - you have to set up a "voucher" with the front desk, which is a prepaid credit card tab.....but no one will tell you this when you check-in; you will discover it only by trial and error. It will also take a day or more for their "system" to process your voucher, so plan on not eating for the first 24-36 hrs.

We stayed at much more accommodating and nicer resorts on our trip and have no plans on staying at Las Brisas on our return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrhead, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are just back from a two week vacation at Las Brisas, had a great time. The staff, food, beach and grounds are great. The snorkeling was awesome just off the beach with clear water, lots of different tropical fish and coral. A hidden gem at this resort is the amount of different types of birds, we were amazed. Take the bird watching tour with Pablo Narvaez around the grounds, he is great, very informative, with him being from the area and he spoke English. He will also take you on other trips around the area, we found him trustworthy. It was a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The location was amazing! The tennis instructor ( Francisco) and free lessons every morning made our day. The food was average, except the Kasbah, Mexican and Seafood restaurant. They were excellent.
However; we have a 9 month old and had some difficulty with this. Even with all inclusive:
1. Making dinner reservations early enough. I realize we could have done the buffet every night, but you are given vouchers for these nicer resturants but we could not get in till after 8:30 pm. Way too late for a baby.
2. Two of the nights that we had our reservations my baby was sick and I couldn't go to eat. They would not allow my husband to take my food to the room. We pleaded with the first night and finally they allowed it. The second night, at the different restaurant they refused. So I did not eat that night. Ridiculous rule considering we were all inclusive!
3. The first two nights ( on the weekend) our cleaning service was disgusting. They left the dirty towels they used to clean on our floor and the mop. Threw the bed linen in the closet and did not replace all the towels...during the week however, they lady was amazing!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our 4th time in Huatulco. Our first time to LasBrisas and we will return.
The hotel was great but the best part was the waterfall pool area - a big shout out to our bartender Victoria she is the best......
The food was good
The staff was great
We will return and would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: As the hotel is elevated, request a lower room if you have problems with mobility. Otherwise the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank degen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#5 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Property: Las Brisas Huatulco
Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#9 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing