We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Brisas Huatulco
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our fifth trip to Huatulco returning January 20th.

Three visits to Las Brisas. Once to Barcelo and once to the Dreams

We LOVE LAS BRISAS and would return again in a heart beat!! We did not enjoy the other resorts as we enjoy water activities. The under tow and currents are too strong on that side of bay.

A special thank you to the staff at the water sport beach (Jimmy, Eleandro, Tito, and all the rest)
who went out of their way to make sure that we were looked after and treated like family. They always had big smiles for us, made sure we were safe, gave great instructions on kayaks and sail boats and swam like fish!!!

We love this authentic resort. The grounds are amazing.
We had no problems with the food. Always found lots to eat.

Amazing staff, clean resort with outstanding beaches. Looking forward to next vacation here!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lana D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 3,985 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

First the positives. The facility is well maintained both inside and outside. The room was large with plenty of space in the bedroom and the bathroom. The beaches are great with clear, warm water with plenty of palapas and loungers. Due to limited access for hawkers, we weren't bothered on the beaches except to watch the 'oyster guy' swimming in from his boat selling a plate of fresh oysters and the tout asking if you wanted to go out on his boat, fishing or on a snorkel trip but both weren't loud or pushy. We do a lot of hiking and snowshoeing in summer and winter so the stairs and steep roads from the beaches and restaurants to our room wasn't a problem, in fact it is a positive, but if you have mobility issues, consider the impact carefully.

Now the negatives.The buffet restaurant Bellavista was quite acceptable and at lunchtime, they actually served the best cooked fish of all the resort restaurants. The 4 a la carte restaurants need to have a competent manager come and give some direction and adult supervision to the staff. Typically, the main item would be hot but the vegetables and pasta or rice would be cold and or glued together. However in the Kasbah, the whole chicken dish was cold and the lamb dish was 60% bone with cold side dishes. The fruit dessert seemed to be canned fruit (similarly at the Mexicano with their flamed fruit) which is completely unacceptable considering the great fresh fruit they provide for breakfast or for the lunch buffet. The Solarium fish (menu said bass but it was some other type; a staff member said red snapper) was over cooked and almost inedible.
For us the Mediterranean was the best the first time (we were there for 2 weeks so we could go more than once) but the second time the service fell to pieces. Over 60 minutes from being seated until our appetizer arrived during which time we received a small bread roll and a small glass of wine. The main course followed reasonably promptly. The food when it turned up was very good: hot and tasty. and then it was cleared away and we sat watching the staff clean up the restaurant for over 20 minutes until I had to call the waiter about our desert. During this time no-one was sitting around chatting, just ignoring their customers. The dessert was a cold dessert so once the waiter was caught, it turned up in under 2 minutes.

I could go on & on about the a la carte restaurants but you get the idea. We didn't pick Las Brisas for its food but it wouldn't take much to significantly improve the experience with effectively no cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was my first all-inclusive, and thank goodness others in our group had been to others. I have very limited walking mobility, and found this resort to be almost impossible to manueuver around. Waiting for the pink jeeps - yeah - well - good luck with that. The restaurants, all three of them were mediocre at best. Only one real bar to speak of, and pool too. The call it 3 pools but one is for kids, and the other part of the spa. However, the snorkel bay in front of the restaurant was incredible - and we were able to take our chairs, and sit at waters edge while reading. NO balconies or terraces either, unless in the $$$ private bldg. Not worth the $$. I much prefer Marival Resort in Nuevo Vallarta - MUCH MUCH MUCH better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrm523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We travelled from Dec. 30, 2013- Jan. 6, 2014.

Weather was consistently +30 or higher, sunny, with clouds building over the mountains later in the afternoon. Never needed a sweater, even in the evenings or in the air conditioned restaurants.

Great PRIVATE beaches, no vendors. It has it's own reef with very good snorkelling, and if you don't snorkel, but like to see the fish, they swim right around your feet, especially when the tide is low, and parts of the reef are actually out of the water. Nice clean, clear water. Lots of iguanas, crabs, birds, squirrels, etc. Other resorts across the bay had rougher waters as they are not sheltered like Las Brisas.

We took a taxi to snorkel at another bay called La Entegra, near Santa Cruz. It cost $11 American there total for 4 of us, and $10 to come back. We snorkelled the Great Barrier Reef last year, so were not expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. LOTS of fish, colorful coral, and clear waters. Very enjoyable. Busy beach, lots of locals. Many "restaurants" on the beach, but we did not eat at them. Best to arrive earlier in the morning before it gets too busy, although MOST of the people were playing in the water, not snorkelling. We had our own equipment, so didn't have to worry about that. Glad we went on our own instead of a tour, so we could spend as much or as little time as we wanted, plus we have one non-snorkeller in our group, so he stayed on the beach with our stuff.

Bird watching tours included, which kept the birder in our group very happy.

Not for the mobility impaired, but there are shuttles to take you back and forth, and we never waited long for one. We walked at least 1/2 of the time. Regardless of where you go there are lots of stairs, or steep roads, so if that is an issue for you, I would recommend you look for a different resort.

Rooms are a little older, but still fine. Great ocean views. Beds were firm, but we like firm beds.

Internet was sporadic, but no big deal.

Food was not too bad. Some things were very good, others just average. 3/4 of our group did have some tummy troubles, as others have mentioned.

New Year's Gala was quite the undertaking! Lots of fun! The "lanterns" at midnight were lovely. We were waited on hand and foot! Drinks were NEVER empty. Steak, lobster, kabobs, etc. etc. etc.

Pools were clean and very warm. One adult, one sports, and the main pool. Sometimes difficult to find a pool or beach chair, sometimes not.

Evening entertainment was varied. Some shows put on by the staff, some audience participation.

If you go on the "Coffee Experience" tour, make sure you take really powerful bug spray such as Deep Woods Off. We used Off Skintastic, and although we never noticed that we were getting bit, my husband had more than 40 bites to the back of his legs and arms, and I had a few, others none, but they had little black dots in the centre of the bites and remained VERY itchy for 2 weeks.

Nice to be in "Real" Mexico, no McDonalds, Burger King, etc.

We snorkelled often, but never took advantage of the other water sports. Lots of activities to keep you busy. Ceramic painting, board games, water aerobics, euro-bungy, tennis, soccer fields, botanical gardens etc.

First half of the week was about 1/2 Canadians and 1/2 Mexicans.

We are Canadians, but took US $$. Next time, I would just take Canadian.

We really enjoyed our time, and would have liked to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were in the "Mountains" buildings which were not far from the main lobby area. Other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Donnahawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this vacation. We booked for two weeks, from Dec. 27 till Jan. 10 2014. We were glad we did as anything less is just not enough. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with cool fruit drinks as we waited to check in. Check in was a little slow but I was just glad to be warm again! We stayed in room 3230, Nubes (clouds) and, while the view was spectacular, looking south to the Pacific, the only downside we found was that the beds were a little on the hard side. The room was clean and functional and we would always leave a dollar on the pillow for the maids. I hope it was enough as they would place flower petals on our beds and make cute little towel animals to greet us when we returned to the room.
I cannot say enough about the staff. From bartenders to maids, gardeners to waiters to beach servers, they could not do enough for us and always had a smile and a "Hola" whenever we encountered them. These are VERY hard working people who appreciate their jobs at Las Brisas and the hotel should be proud of all of them.
The hotel threw a huge New Year's party in the soccer field which was one of the highlights for us as we were not expecting this. The food was terrific and it was so much fun to party with the band, the tourists, and the Mexican families who were there. By the way, Mexicans like to dress up. The men look smart and the women wear beautiful dresses when they go to an event or out to dinner and we enjoyed dressing our best when doing these things. It is disappointing to see Canadian guests going to dinner at one of the excellent restaraunts wearing their beach shorts and t-shirts and sandals. So come on Canada. REPRESENT!
Speaking of restaraunts, we ate at all of them and very much like El Pescador, The Mediteranean, and the Solarium. The buffet was varied and good for lunch as it was nice and cool in there during the midday heat. We enjoyed the Mexican restaraunt for breakfast each morning.
The beaches are the best in the bay as they are for the most part sheltered from the rip currents that affect the other resorts in the area. The snorkel beach was fun and a great beach for the little kids and the main beach was very nice too. Our fave was the sport beach where we would paddle board, kayak and sail. The staff at the sport beach are excellent and are always watching out for you. Jimmy and the two Alex's are friendly, helpful and will ensure you have the best time. The server at the sport beach is a real sweetheart. Make sure you tip her as she works very hard and is so friendly.
The flora and fauna of the resort was very plentiful. Lots of birds, reptiles, beautiful plants give you lots to look at. Be sure to observe the march of the leaf cutter ants at the secret beach. You can see them at night by the bench. A column of hundreds of thousands of ants carrying their leaves back to their nest. It was right out of a nature program. I also saw an armadillo, a snake, several cool geckos, very strange coconut eating squirrels, parrots, frigate birds, pelicans, buzzards, vultures and so many other birds I've never seen before.
The resort has many excursions to go on though by the time we had decompressed and caught up on our sleep, we didn't feel the need to leave the resort. We went to town one morning to buy Tequila and coffee and souveneirs and then beat it back to the resort. We felt very safe in the town and the resort and never worried about our belongings at the beach. They have security there though they look rather bored which is a good thing.
All in all, we had a wonderful time and plan to return next winter. (We have never said that before).

Room Tip: The quietest rooms I think are in Nubes. (the clouds.) The sound of the ocean will lull you to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited Las Brisas from December 8-15 of 2013.
The resort is older than others in the area, but has true Mexican charm. The grounds are lush and showcase exotic cactuses and other unique plants. There is a botanical garden to stroll through that indicates names of some, and a bird walk that identifies the many species of birds that occupy the stunning grounds. There is a lot of walking, hill climbing and stair walking but there is also the option of calling the shuttle which operates regularly all around the resort. There are four beaches, although one of them is beautiful to look at but not swimmable. There is a snorkelling beach where we saw a sea turtle, a spotted eagle ray and a huge variety of fish and coral. You do have to be aware of the tides so you don’t get caught in the shallows over the reef. There are two other nice swimming beaches and usually lots of loungers available on all of them. The views of the Pacific Ocean and Tangalunda Bay are amazing from almost anywhere on the resort. The beaches seem private here.I think that is more a function of the geography, but there were no beach vendors. And we were not asked about time shares even once.
There were a lot of nationals staying at the resort which told us we had made the right choice by coming here for a true Mexican holiday. The food was very good with a large variety every day at the buffet and excellent served meals in the all of the a la carte restaurants. Our favorite night at the buffet was Saturday as it was mostly local dishes and they were fabulous. Don’t miss the Moroccan restaurant, the food is great and the ambiance is unique. Don’t wear a skirt like I did though as the tables are very low… We did notice at the bars that the sanitation of the ice scoop with iodine did add a different flavor to the drink sometimes, but it was not that bad and you can always ask for no ice.
The service was very prompt and friendly, and although not all staff spoke English, we were always able to communicate. They enjoy it when you attempt Spanish and will help you improve while you are there. The front desk staff was always helpful and when we had an issue with our room on check in they quickly resolved it for us. The upgrade to the junior suite is worth it to have a balcony if you enjoy that -although all rooms have a view even without a balcony. The junior suite we had was roomy and clean, with a large bathroom and double sink vanity.
We were on a relatively short stay so didn’t venture into La Crucecita this time but have cabbed into town before for amazing pizza at La Crema. If you do that, get there early or be prepared to wait in line. Neither did we do any excursions this time (resort had all the snorkelling that we needed!), but did the 7 Bay Tour on a previous trip and it was definitely worth it. Last visit we also cabbed to La Entegra Beach to snorkel. It was great to see the multi-generational Mexican families enjoying a day at the beach. Everyone was so friendly. Our cab ride was more costly on the way back then on the way there even with the same operator, so be prepared for that. We took American cash and never had any problems with that. We never felt uncomfortable or unsafe on our outings.
We will definitely be back again- we loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patty_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Service at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

February 6, 2014
Bays of Huatulco, Oaxaca.

Dear Patty

We thank you for having allowed to be part of your experience at Las Brisas Huatulco, thanks for taking the time to share with us your comments, is pleasant to make our knowledge I enjoy our green areas, beaches and especially a completely Mexican environment. We hope you can visit us soon to continue living experiences in a unique and special atmosphere.
We hope to have her home soon with Las Brisas Huatulco.

Regards
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Traveled with a group of family and friends from Dec 30- Jan 14 2014, and I am still not sure if we would return to this resort. This is not our first AI resort and not our first trip to Mexico. We are not fussy nor have we stayed at 5 star resorts.
The weather and ocean in Huatulco make it the absolute perfect destination. 35 degrees and beautiful clear water make it our new favorite place. (Ixtapa was first up to this trip).
This resort is HUGE, and quite spread out, once we figured out how to get around it wasn't as daunting as it appeared in the dark on arrival but it should be noted that this resort is NOT for anyone with mobility issues. There are carts to get you from your room to the lobby and all of the resort revolves around the lobby area, but then it requires many stairs to get to restaurants, lounges, etc. The beach and one breakfast buffet were a quick walk from our room in the Stars section,(Estralles), but in the heat of the day the hike back up was a hot one. It was also a long wait some days if you wanted a cart from the beach back up the hill.
SERVICE: there were some very hard working people at this resort and a few very friendly staff, (both Roberto's and Edith at the Mexicana, the guys at the watersports and the cart drivers) other than that the staff was fairly reserved and not overly welcoming. The resort did not have enough staff to service the guests, the beach was fairly full at the beginning of our trip and each beach had one server to handle the entire beach, in the morning the server on the snorkel beach was running, but a couple hours in she seemed to run out of steam. We have sympathy, but the resort needs to address this. We had large insulated mugs and it was often a long wait in between. Yes we did tip every round.
FOOD: We enjoyed the buffet and the a la cartes, no complaints about the quality or amount of food although we did all suffer stomach complaints. We know that the sun, the heat, the drinks all play havoc with our systems, (not our first rodeo) but we have never experienced the issues we did here. Food handling might be a problem.
ROOM: Our room had a beautiful view, was spacious for the three of us, and for the most part appeared clean. We did have ants in our bathroom most nights, (large and red, just squished them, it is a hot climate) and one night a cockroach ( husband had to get rid of it), I know this is part of the climate, but in 3 other resorts we never had to see them. Our only complaint is the number of times we had to go in search of our towels and toilet paper that never got replaced. This was not a problem until the second week when the resort was actually quieter! The noise from the lobby and the resorts across the bay were quite loud at night in our room, it wasn't a problem for us, earplugs and turning on the air conditioner was enough to go to sleep, if you are a light sleeper or noise sensitive areas elsewhere might be a better choice.

Wi-Fi was pretty much non existent but there was paid internet in the Gift shop, again not a problem for us, but could have been had we not read reviews before we went.

We really had no major complaints, just something that says this probably wouldn't be our first choice when we come back to this area. The resort has great potential but needs to fine tune. It is a neat concept with the layout but not something we need to experience twice.

Room Tip: rooms facing the bay are noisier at night, but estralles section is a quick walk in the morning to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

February 6, 2014
Bays of Huatulco, Oaxaca.

Thanks for taking the time to make us extensive feedback which we will take into account and will follow up, thank mentions of our staff which externaremos with pleasure, we offer the most sincere apologies for the setbacks that may have had during your stay, we hope allow us to take it back home and deliver the quality service that each of our guests deserve.

Wishing to return soon.
Regards
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.6 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 47 in Huatulco
3,750 reviews
5.1 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#9 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $101 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing