We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“11 - 18 Feb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Brisas Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Las Brisas Huatulco
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“11 - 18 Feb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from Las Brisas, and have nothing but great things to say.
Rooms - Mine was delux, basic but not fancy. Would upgrade to balcony nxt time.
Food - They did have issues with the main buffet steam table, but food is very good.
Beaches - Fantastic.
Staff-amazing.
Shuttle service- great.
Massages- reasonable, and very good.
Great tours in area, not outrageously expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marny sanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    955
    345
    111
    75
See reviews for
855
964
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a huge property and a little overwhelming at first. Once you get your bearings, find the shortcuts, and figure out the shuttle system, its great. It took a while to find the bathrooms, restaurants, and bar areas because it is so spread out. Lots of places to go if you want to relax and enjoy the area. The resort and town were very safe. A lot of walking if you want or catch the shuttles. There are lots of stairs, but we enjoyed them to help work off the meals.
All staff was very polite. The shuttle drivers. bar staff, and room attendants were all great.
The food at the buffet was very good, different most days. Supper is later, from 7 pm – 11 pm. There will always some kind of food that does not appeal to everybody but there was always lots to choose from. Went to the A-la Carte restaurants, Mediterranean and Solarium Steak House, and the food was good as well, a change from the buffet.
Good Wi-FI access, was able get connection everywhere but the bar area.
The room was very good, the bathroom was updated and very clean. No ants or bugs in the room. The mini fridge in the room was stocked daily with 3 of each, pop, water, and mini Coronas. We were not in the room a lot but always seemed to run out of drinks in the room. Had to ask for more.
Bathrooms around the resort were very clean and the grounds were kept up.
The daytime music and activities around the pool area were loud and did not cater to most guests. Around 6pm, there was a young lady singing with a keyboard player, near the bar area. They were very good and kept everyone entertained till supper.
A couple of days we caught a cab from the lobby, 420 pesos, and went to into La Crucecita and toured the town. It is about a 10 minute cab ride.
We walked over to the the other resorts around Tangolunda Bay. They all have smaller beach areas over there and a strong rip tide.
We went on the sunset cruise, from Santa Cruz, and it was great. "Pepe" was incredible, very informative, and spoke great english.
Arranged to go out fishing one morning with one of the guys out front of the resort. This fishing was poor, but saw many sea turtles, and went through a school of 200+ dolphins feeding. That was worth the 3 hour boat ride alone.
The weather was great everyday.
We were looking for a safe, friendly, down to earth resort and that is what we got. It was a great trip and we both loved the area, very natural and still not commercialized.
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, as high as possible, unless you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Never2wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hola! We stayed for a week at the beginning of Feb. The weather was always 32-36 C The hotel was great. Staff all very kind and 'running' around to help you out. It is a place that can be a lot of walking but there are always shuttle vans going so you don't have to walk. I think the longest we waited was maybe 5 min. (half way through our trip hubby sprained his foot (not at hotel; jumping off 10 ft rocks on beach at a different bay) and needed crutches but we still had no problem getting around the grounds) So no matter how physical you may or may not be there are still ways of getting around. All inclusive was great. Food was amazing. We only used 2 a la carte suppers because the food at the buffet was soo good and there was lots of options. Even in town it was very safe, easy to get cabs, We would stay in town late and never felt insecure at all. We would go again and bring our kids (2.5, 4) There were a few others that had kids with them from babies to teens and there were activities for every age.

Room Tip: If you want to get up and read from a balcony get a junior suite, if you dont spend much time but sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went to Las Brisas for my sister's wedding on January 15-22nd. I was a little scared to go to Mexico because of all the stories you hear - but it was very safe. We became good friends with the employee's that worked at the hotel and they showed us a great time! The resort itself is very spaced out, I was not prepared for all the walking uphill. You basically need to take a car to your room from lobby. The night entertainment at the resort is okay... seems like the same music just different performers every night. This is more of a family resort. I would not choose to go here to party. By 11PM it is pretty dead. The food here was good, no complaints. The beach was very nice. I would highly suggest going for a massage while your here.
The wedding was beautiful... I would highly recommend this resort for a special occassion. I think it was perfect because the resort had something for everyone.


If you are going to Huatulco you NEED to check out LaCrema. It is a pizza resturant downtown. It opens at 7PM (and there usually is a line outside) Well worth the wait! Cab ride is only $3 US to get there. The pizza is out of this world amazing. The whole wedding party came here the last night and it was a blast. Really cool decor as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms by the yellow or blue tower are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you decide to stay at Las Brisas, be extremely careful on the main stairwell from the lobby to the bar. There are concrete protrusions that protect the side lights that were place too low. 2 - family members smoked thier heads while walking up the stairs. I can only imagine what the more seriouse accidents would be like.
There are many stairs. make sure your room is close to one of the 3 beaches.
Huatulco is beautiful, when I return, I'll stay at the Dreams where we stayed last year.
ALL the best and happy travels.

Room Tip: Stay close to the beach. This resort involves a whole lot of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was very impressed by what this resort had to offer. It had three beaches, one of which had its own reef. We borrowed the resorts snorkel gear and there were plenty of fish varieties to see. The reef was so small I really didn't expect much.
I don't know if it was not busy but there always seemed to be room at one of the beaches. I have only stayed at two AI resorts, here and once before in Punta Cana. In PC it was almost impossible to get a place on the beach and I vowed I would not return. I think it is the size of the property water front that helps.The property is on Tangolunda bay. This means there is not much surf. This allowed an amature sailer like myself to take the Hobie cat boats out numerous times. I loved it. This resort is showing its age but the friendly staff made up for it. Many of the people I met had been there before. The food was fine. I enjoyed the a la carte dining. I got in on a last minute deal so I will be rating the value high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ljb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

So we just got back on Monday night, stayed 7 nights from Monday Jan 28- Monday Feb 4th, my fiance and I plus another couple who are friends of ours that we have been on other trips with.

We decided to go last minute when we found a pretty solid deal and had a friend recommend it. We flew with Air Transat and everything was fine, no delays, everything on time. Huatulco airport is brutal though for arrivals, took forever.

Anyways, first thing you notice is that it is very HOT here. It was pushing 40C many days, so if you dont like the really hot stuff, Huatulco might not be for you.

On to the resort though. Its a quick bus ride to the resort, roughly 25 mins, you will go through the town of La Crucicita on the way which is small but nice. Pretty brown this time of year.

Check in at the hotel was kinda slow but expected with the amount checking in. Cold drink at the door waiting for us, grab our keys and wristbands and then off to the room. First impression of the room was that its nice, basic and clean. We stayed in 1339 in the Mountain section, which is basically top floor. Great view of the bay and ocean, no balcony but with how the big window opens up, you really dont miss it. Kingsize bed like we asked and was pretty comfy, mini-fridge, safe and ample storage and closet space. Air conditioner worked great and ceiling fan as well.

The staff at Las Brisas is very nice and very helpful, always smiling and very friendly. Enough of them speak enough english to converse with but those that didnt always would get someone that did if you needed something. These people work very hard and do many jobs at the resort. One of our favorites was a guy name Eliomar, didnt speak great english and was soft spoken but very helpful and friendly and he served us in many places including the beach, buffet and ala carts....another favorite was Antonio, the younger one as there are a few. Hes very outgoing and friendly and whenever he seen us he was very eager to talk to us and get us what we needed at the bars. Knows quite a few drinks too, try a Dirty Monkey or one of his flaming shooters, very cool.

As I said there are tons of stairs at this place but they have a great concierge service that drives you in carts to most places. Very fast and there when you needed them.

Bars, they have 4 bars, 3 open from 11-5pm and the lobby bar open from 11-1am. Mainly we only used the lobby bar and main beach bar but they all are adequate and fulfilling pretty much whatever you want. They dont have the fancy drink made in pineapples and such like that but thats ok.

Food was very good overall, though like otheres have said, sometimes not as hot as they could be but still fine. Buffets were varied and had lots of good stuff. Breakfast like most places is the typical stuff: omellette station, pancake/french toast station and then various other things like bacon, sausage and then some specialties with a mexican twist. Always plenty of fresh fruit and breads and juices. Lunch and dinner buffets were good too, instead of the omellette and pancake stations, they would have pasta stations, stir fry stations and taco/fajita stations and then a bunch of other things that varied. All quite good.

Ala cartes were good, we actually got all 5 instead of just 4 of the 5 due to an error in their planning of our meals, so it worked out ok. Though me and my buddy missed the one meal on Superbowl night lol, that was the Kashbah night but the girls said it wasnt very good anyway. She will probably put her review of that one in her review. Mexican, Meditereanean, Fishermans and Solarium. Mexican was pretty good, Meditereanean was ok, Fishermans was very good and Solarium was pretty good. Not a ton of variety though really between them aside from the mexican. Lots of seafood, steak and chicken. Strangely enough the best beef was at the Fishermans with the Surf and Turf.

They have room service as well which we never used and they have the lobby restaurant which is basically pizza, burgers, fries, hot dogs, nachos, fruit and salads.

Pools, they have 3 pools, 1 of which is adults only. We never used them as we were at the beach when we wanted sun or fun in the water. They looked clean and well kept though.

Nightly Entertainment, this was where this place falls short. It really isnt that lively of a place. They would run some mini shows at about 9pm every night but they only went for an hour if that. Mini casino which was dead, a circus type show that we missed but heard it was dead, a dance routine which frankly was pretty boring and then a games night which we missed cause it shut down early cause noone was there. Anyway they only went from 9pm-10pm and then they live music started.......which after the 2nd night we noticed is the same songs in the same order for the whole week. They had a little dance competition on the 2nd night which was kinda fun though and my fiance and I got 2nd place. Other than that though, the live music is dull.

They do have a disco on the premises but its not open every night and most nights it was completely dead, though we livened it up one night and had our own fun.

If you want the most fun, I suggest you head into La Crucicita and check out the bars in town, as they seem much more fun. We really liked La Crema and they have the best pizza.

Excursions, they have enough stuff to do. We only did the 7 Bay Cruise which was pretty nice where you cruise the ocean, check out the bays around Huatulco which are very cool. Snorkelling at a couple spots and then stop at the one bay and have lunch at the beachside straw palapas restaurants. This was honestly the best meal of the week, lots of great stuff but a bit pricy as its not included. Try the Stuffed Pineapple, its awesome. Plus the crazy cool drinks made in freshly carved coconuts and pineapples, pricy again but sooooo fresh and good and very boozy plus cool designs too.

They have the waterfall tour, atv beach tour, horseback riding, scuba, fishing, etc. Lots of good stuff. They have a tour of La Crucicita as well. Typical mexican fare: churches, factories, stores, etc. We just checked it out on our own though.

Beaches, they have very nice beaches and water and we spent most of our time playing in the water, snorkelling off the beach and just soaking up the sun and drinking on the beach. Though the beaches arent very big at all. Las Brisas has 3 beachs, 2 small ones and the one main one. Plus a small "secret" beach but its mostly rocks and just someting to check out mainly and possibly snorkell but not a sandy beach for sunning.

The small beach to the left has the water sports such as seadoos, kayaks, etc. You can rent them and head out into the bay. We took a seadoo for a ride. The water is generally pretty rough here though. The area to swim is very small and sectioned off, strong currents outside the area. Plenty of chairs though just not much room on the beach.

The main beach is bigger but still small. Bigger swimming area though and the water is calmer as its protected a bit more in the bay. Snorkelling is good and pretty decent sun. The small 3rd beach is just to the right of the main one, while the beach is kinda seperated, the water area is shared. Nice little coral reef over here though and lots of cool fish and rays.

Overall the water is pretty clear and the sand is fairly coarse overall and not the walk for miles type of beach. Its very nice in its own way but comparing it to our trip to Cayo Santa Maria in Cuba last year, where the white sand beachs go for miles and turquoise waters are so clear and calm, its doesnt even compare at all.......better than the Barcelo and Dreams close by though because you can barely even use the water its so rough over there but the beaches are slightly longer.

This is getting pretty long so I better wrap it up. Las Brisas is a great place, Id give it about a 3 1/2 stars bordering on 4 stars. Its a nice relaxing place with no party crowds. The locals flock to this place on weekends and it gets pretty full, so it'll be all yours on the week days and then packed full on the weekend. Mostly families and couples though, not so much of the younger crowd. The town is close by and that helps. We paid $690 each plus tax outta Calgary, so If you get a good deal on it, it is worth checking out.

Anyway if you have any questions Id be glad to answer them for you.
Cheers

Room Tip: This resort is filled with stairs but if you want less stairs but still want a view, stick with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank RevyRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Property: Las Brisas Huatulco
Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#9 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing