We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huatulco is beautiful....resort is ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Brisas Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Las Brisas Huatulco
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Huatulco is beautiful....resort is ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I preface this by saying that I'm not a picky person. I enjoy R&R. We travelled with our extended family as part of a large group as we do annually.

First, Huatulco is beautiful and by far the best weather we have ever experienced.

We had a beautiful room in Mar area...it was spacious and very clean. The beds are hard as a rock but okay for a week!

I echo what others say about the stairs. We had my 85 year old grandmother with us and despite the prompt and rapid shuttles, there are still to many stairs and not well lit in the evening.

The food far and away is the worst we have ever had. Again, I can eat taco chips and French fries for a week and be okay but everything here was cold. We went to an a la carte restaurant and the vegetables and potatoes were cold, and I mean right out of the fridge cold. Several people in our group and that we knew were sick during the week.

The event staff were really good, they kept everyone having fun by the pool and despite the lack of English spoken here, the staff genuinely tried to help.

It would have been a nice trip if it wasn't for the food, for that reason, the next time I will goto Dreams.

Room Tip: Mar has huge walkout balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wqh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    953
    345
    111
    75
See reviews for
854
963
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Las Brisas over the New Years holiday. We like it hot and sunny, so Huatulco is a great place to go when you only have a week. We have been to other AI resorts in the Caribbean and Central America and feel very fortunate to be able to escape the snow for a week every Winter.

The highlights of Las Brisas for us: the beautiful surroundings – many palm trees, flowering bushes, greenery everywhere; attentive, kind, friendly waiters on the beach and in the restaurants; warm, calm ocean water; snorkelling right off the beach; spacious rooms and double sink bathrooms; comfortable beds; a spectacular New Years Eve dinner and fireworks; free wifi in the Lobby and surprisingly, sometimes in our room as well.

Having been to smaller resorts in the past, we found Las Brisas very big and spread out - we did know that from reading reviews before we booked. The stairs and roadways up to our room were very steep and our room was far from the Lobby and Restaurants. We just had to make sure we had what we needed before heading to the beach for the day. There are always shuttles going around the resort if you need them. They are building walkways parallel to the roads so pedestrians have somewhere to walk – this will be especially helpful at night. Our room was in the ‘Nubes’ or ‘Clouds’ section – not a beautiful ocean view which I had been hoping for, but still pretty looking out over palm trees with the bay off in the distance.

Snorkelling right off the beach is a favourite of ours. Although I missed having a nice long beach to walk along, I enjoyed being able to swim and snorkel. The clarity was average and it's not a living, colourful reef, but we did see a variety of fish below.

We are not ‘foodies’ by any means and generally the buffet at an all inclusive is just fine for us for a week. For some reason this time, the food was a low point. It was usually lukewarm at best and we often weren’t sure what was in each serving dish. The waiters however, were very attentive and the buffet itself had lots of tables and was well organized.

Unfortunately, this is the first time on a holiday that both of us became ill with the runs – my husband was actually sick for three out of the six full days we were there which was very disappointing, and I actually was becoming worried about him – he is still not 100% this week. Several other families at the airport who had been at our resort said the same thing happened to them. It’s the first time we have ever felt relief that we were heading home.

Overall, we loved the Huatulco weather and the beautiful surroundings, but we now know for certain that we prefer smaller resorts with long walkable beaches. I'm sure not feeling well affected our overall view of the trip, but we still appreciated being able to enjoy a week of warmth and beauty in the middle of Winter!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Relaxinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first all-inclusive as we usually vacation in Hawaii, but it was pretty good for what you pay. First off, the second day in the resort our camera was stolen out of our room when we were at breakfast. We called security to file a report and they were no help at all and we never heard from them again. So please make use of the safe! Other than that we had a pretty good time, the beaches are private so it was just people from your resort which was nice. The weather there was perfect between 32-35 C everyday with not a cloud in the sky. We were told that they only get a month of rain and the rest of the year is hot hot hot! Nice pools, good entertainment, food was descent. Definitely a good value for the low price we paid. The rooms are built up in the hills so if you have mobility issues this may not be the place for you as there are a ton of stairs and walking to get to your room. With that being said the shuttle service was always very prompt if we wanted to use it, but we liked the exercise so it didn't matter to us.

Room Tip: Ocean view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Las Brisas in Huatulco for a week over the Holidays, and got gladly surprised of the natural beauty of the place! We were to stay in a room category which we upgraded, once we knew we would not have a balcony or terrace in the room. This was a wise choice! We were toured through the area called "pueblo mar", and showed the kind of room we would be given, which we immediately loved. Once we were installed in our room, we could not get enough of the superb view of the Tangolunda Bay we had from our terrace.
The room and terrace were the cleanest we remember seeing in a beach destination, drawers and shelfs included. The room was very spacious, with a double sink bathroom, amazing marble shower, sitting area, and table with chairs to use if deciding for room service; it also had an small desk, and chairs and a side table were a plus to have in the spacious terrace. Most of the times after the room had been cleaned, we would find some sort of nice decoration left on the bed with natural flowers from the gardens; they also would leave chocolates by the pillow at night for a little sweet treat before going to sleep.
We loved the fact of having gardens and different beaches to explore while going from our room to some area of the resort. Many lazy people complain about the walking and stairs, but for them you can get a ride in a matter of minutes, which at the same time becomes an scenic ride due to the amazing views you can enjoy on the way.
The property is well kept in general, people are very nice and helpful, and the four beaches in the resort offer you a variety of choices to enjoy your stay (relaxing at the Secret Beach, swimming / snorkeling at the Ventura Beach, reading in a palapa or swimming at the Manzanilla beach, or having some aquatic fun at the Tornillo beach). The pools (children / family, semi-olimpic, adults only, and activities) are not huge, but extremely clean and nicely warm to enjoy while overlooking the amazing view of the bay. If desired, you can play tennis, soccer, basketball, ping pong, etc. Every night there is some sort of entertainment at a theater, and also live music for dancing time.
You can go for the all-inclusive plan, get only breakfast included, etc. We did not have the all inclusive, but got to try the food for dinner at El Mexicano which has an amazing view, and also at the Mediterraneo. Our dishes had a nice presentation, good portion size, and were good. Some evenings we tried other choices at La Crucecita, while visiting and shopping; this is a charming and quiet little town, with a very nice church in the main square.
We will be back in Huatulco, and will consider Las Brisas again if available for another amazing vacation time!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank AnaTomSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights on mid December 2012. Our experience was OK, but you need to know what your paying for and what to expect.

1st of all, it is definitively NOT a 5 star hotel. The property is a bit old, some renovation is required, don't expect luxury in any form, service is OK but very basic. Regarding the size of the resort, it is very big and might be an issue to some. The shuttles are somewhat frequent, but occasionally you do need to walk because either the shuttle doesn't arrive, the line is to big, or because simply you don't want to tour the whole hotel dropping off other guests before you get to your room.

The hotel claims to have 4 private beaches, although one of them is extremely small and not suitable for swimming/beaching. The other 3 beaches are nice, good for swimming/beaching, but are very small and tend to feel overcrowded. They're not the type of beaches that are extensive and on which you can take long walks.

The crowd precisely is something to keep in mind. This hotel mainly offers all inclusive plans, some of them must be very cheap because you could tell that some of the guest were also... very cheap!

We had what I believe is one of the Top 5 rooms in the property located on the Beach Club / Mares area. Private balcony, good size, superb view just over the ocean on the rocky cliff. However, the other non-top rooms requiere some serious renovation.

We chose the non-all-inclusive plan. It was important for us as we don't like to be tied to having all meals on location. We're glad we chose this option as the all inclusive food didn't look good. The 'a la carte' restaurants on location are better, but they are a bit expensive for what they offer. You can eat at La Crucecita in a much better place for much less.

The hotel also felt expensive for what they offer... although we had a good time, we probably wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaylern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved the ocean, it was clean, clear, warm and so refreshing with views of fish from shore! The trees and luscious botanical gardens were lovely. The weather was prime! Having 3 beaches to go to was fun and adventurous. Great to be able to enjoy such lovely beaches and to snorkel on the reef right from our hotel beach.
The hotel itself was ok. Nothing special other then the trees everywhere with beautiful birds and walkway along the beach. We loved all the paths and stairs and ease of getting around (if you don't mind exercise otherwise there are shuttles). The rooms were clean but very simple with a wonderful shower!!
The food was nothing special. Just ok. We all did get the Mexico runny behind though! When it's time to go you hope a bathroom is close. Luckily our 3 year old got it once home (not so lucky on plane though) not at the resort. Staff was friendly, especially when tipped nicely! Which I can't blame them.
Our 3 year old and my husband and I had a great relaxing trip. We were on the beach everyday, all day except for nap time.
The pools were nothing special at all. We went one day for an hour and that's about it.
I would only give this resort a 3.5 star.
oh, the table Red Wine was horrible:-(
The BEDS are HORRIBLE almost to the point of wrecking our trip!!

Overall I don't think this hotel was worth what we paid for a week but we did have a relaxing trip and loved the beach and ocean!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice!! We stayed in the 'stars' rooms and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RBCClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been to many all inclusive this being just "OK". Traveled Dec 24-Dec31 2012.
The weather in Huatluco is amazing and I would go back in a heart beat, but I would try a different hotel. This hotel is a hot spot for Mexican visitors so there is a huge language barrier at this property. If you are looking for a truly Mexican experience then this would be a great spot for you.
I was dissapointed in a few things:
Bar not open until 11am.
Rooms very blah with white walls and no decor. Very boring.
Shuttle service was slow at best if it even showed up, evening was the worst we ended up just walking everywhere.
Food was ok. Nothing spectacular but it was edible.
Poolside entertainment was all in Spanish so can't play if you don't understand.

Things I liked:
Amazing views from the beach club rooms.
Amazing beach and a huge variety of activities for people of all ages.
Snorkeling with tons of fish.
Tons of beach chairs.

This hotel is not for anyone with any walking issues as there are tons of stairs and lots of walking.
We are the type of couple that can make do with anything and are truly blessed that we can go on these types of holidays. We have made some great memories and friends on this holiday . Tons of Canadians on property so it was easy to make friends on the beach, any one of them.

Saw no weddings on the property, this in my opinion would not be a good wedding resort as there is no Salon/Spa on the property. We just got married in Jamaica so I noticed things this time in regards to this idea.

If the price was horrid cheap I would consider going back. But there are to many other resorts to try....:)

Room Tip: Always book Beach Club, best views and guaranteed balcony. Deluxe rooms have no balcony it looks lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPIAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Property: Las Brisas Huatulco
Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#9 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing