We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is Castillo called a two plus star hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Why is Castillo called a two plus star hotel?”
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Our stay Jan.2-Jan 16 2009
Rooms:
Very clean, firm beds (a bit too firm) but have slept on harder. We stayed in an updated room, new tile, floor, shower. Always plenty of hot water and pressure. A basic plain hotel room, nothing fancy, but perfectly suited, as we averaged staying in our room about 1-2 hours daily. Sleep, shower, relax before bed. Bottled water left for us when the previous was gone. Soap, lotion, kleenex, toilet paper. towels changed daily as well as linens. Hairdryer. Air condition worked really well, had to turn off as it got too cool.

Food at the hotel: Buffet style. Breakfast consisted of Mexican Oxacan style of food and included other items if it was not suited such as pancakes, french toast. pastries, omelets, fresh fruit, toast , as well as juice cereals and yogurts. Very good breakfasts.

Then off to the beach club. Transportation provided by the hotel but we usually walked as it only took about 15 minutes to the Club de Playa Castillo. Other days we sampled other beaches such as La Entraga, Maguey Bay, San Agustine. Great snorkel beaches.

The first week we ate the lunch buffet at the Castillo beach club, good selection. No tummy issues. The second week as it was not busy we ordered off the menue. Great food again club house with fries, oxacian food, fish fresh, chicken , soups. Really tasty food. As well the supper buffet. We both gained weight on this trip!!!

Staff were a real gem, wonderful hardworking people. Really went out of their way to make our stay the best. When it was not so busy we got to know them and really missed them when we had to come home.

Great locality, close to downtown, as we did not pay an arm and leg for this holiday it allowed us to sample food outside the hotel, not saying there was anything wrong with the food because that was not the case. The first week we ate the majority of our suppers at other places. The next week we ate mostely at the Castillo buffet. Some of the places we sampled were as follows:
Dona Celia, located Santa Cruz Bay, across the street. Sampled langosta (lobster) tacos, seafood tacos, fish. We ate here 2x.
La Crucecita
La Crema- again, great pizza
Tipsy Blowfish- great hamburgers, fries, meatball subs, fries
Tostadoes- Delicious aztec soup, fish ,chocolate crepes

Bahia Maguey-taxi
El Zarape- at this bay we snorkeled, sampled raw oysters, scallops, fresh roasted peanuts. Had a fine meal of shrimp and fish tacos and cold beer. To use the bano's, cost of 50 cents per visit. Visited this bay twice.

Bahia de San Agustin: Bus (drop off to Escondito) from depot just past entrance to airport (60 cents) then taxi to the bay. $5-6 dollars. Interesting drive. About 8 miles. Snorkled and ate a 4 lbs. lobster. Fed 4 people. Very good again. At Elia Carmelita
Julia Herandez Policarpio. $80 dollars for the 4 of us.

The first place we went to was Entrega but did not stay as there were jelly fish in the water.

The last place we ate out at was:
Alebrijes-Baahia de Tangolunda- Beside (Don Porfirio0
2X Dinner, once for lunch
English spoken, Hi Mouse!!!!
Also very good food, French onion soup, giant blue shrimp (the size of lobsters) cooked to perfection, BBQ ribs,

Also for something to do and relaxing , try the Bano de Temazcal massage, sauna, mud scrub.

The conclusion to this review is we loved staying at the hotel and enjoyed the area. We are sending a big hello to our new friends. Rupert& Mel, Lilla , Les&Muriel, Barb& Randy and to all the special people at the Castillo. We will be back to the Castillo next year!!!!

  • Liked — great staff and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tocomec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    214
    68
    18
    16
See reviews for
143
218
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

what a great place this is if you want a quiet,relaxing atmospher.The food was good and place was clean.Eleven of us enjoyed the fact the area is still not commercialized and the little towns and squares made you feel like you really were in Mexico.The local people were very nice even thou a language barrier.We are working on our spanish for next trip.Area of mountains and beaches are beautiful and there were many excurions offered.If you are looking for late night entertainment you will need to provide this yourself as not much in the way of night life.Would definitly return

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — jaccuzi and pool bar were not open
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tominator2ThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

We stayed at the Castillo for one week and enjoyed every minute. The staff are very attentive and were very accomodating to one of our family with a food allergy. The beach club is beautiful although do not plan on swimming in the ocean much here as the riptide is awful. We found the small size of the hotel and the large number of locals staying there a refreshing change from other trips to Mexico where the American and Canadian tourists can take over. We were on a charter plane and were the only party out of the entire plane to stay at the Castillo. The rest were at Las Brisas and I cannot say that we felt left out.

It is highly recommended to make your way down to the marina and hire a boat for the day to take you to San Augustin beach. We paid 'Gilbert' $120 for the day and were lucky enough to have him, his wife and son as company. Gilbert snorkeled with us and showed us the more interesting parts of the reef. The people in this region are super-friendly and made us feel welcome. I cannot say enough about our trip to Huatulco and our stay at Castillo. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tufa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2008

Great location. Clean. Friendly staff. Good food. What else can you ask for?

  • Liked — location, beach club
  • Disliked — facing busy road
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank podrozniczkaEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squamish BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

It was very good and I will be back

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is an excelent hotel, it is NOT a resort but you get all you can wish for the very affordable rate you get.

THE GOOD!

1. The staf is always kind and helpful
2. They try to satisfy all your demands "asap", for example I needed one baby bed and a king size bed, and they got it for me right away.
3. The room is clean.
4. All the rooms have a little safe you can program the combination
5. There are 4 banks 1 or 2 blocks away
6. They have a swimming pool at the hotel that can be comfortable if not many people in it
7. Allways hot water
8. The cleaning staff never took anithing
9. Sometimes we leave a 2 dollar tip and the cleaning staff did not took it, supouse they thought it was not intended for them.
10. It is very near a Kiosko where you can get very good coffee
11. It is very near from the place the big cruises arrive
12. You can go to the center of Huatulco, where the restaurants and stores are on a taxi for about 1.20 USdollars!!!
13. My son (2y) wife and I were outside getting arround about 11 or 12 at night and it felt safe and nothing happened out of the extraordinary
14. This hotel has a beautiful Beach Club with a BIG bar, palapas at the beach, swimmingpool, games for the kids, todlers and teenagers, and there is a transport free of charge every 55 minutes.
15. By taxicab or rental car, this is maybe the best located hotel, near every mayor and most famous bays at Huatulco
16. This hotel is at 22 minutes away from the airport
17. There is a arts and crafts market near the hotel, ask about it on the front desk.

THE NOT SO GOOD:
1. I think there is not any room with sea view, but you can ask for the ones with a "terraza", where you can dinner or simply drink a bottle of wine as we did. Also you can ask for a room with an inside view to the hotel swimming pool.
2. The hotel is being remodeled and resized.
3. It is an old hotel, so do not expect brand new intalations
4. The restaurant buffet opens at 7 and ends at 1130, and the food is not excellent but has good flavor and at least they change one or two plates everyday.
5. The sea at the beach club may not be suitable for the young ones (10 and below) it is a riugh sea.

TIPS:
a. Always try to use taxi cabs, are cheap, secure and the drivers are friendly, helpfull and can give advise on anything.
b. Go eat at "Restaurant El Pata" (Foot restaurant)
c. Try the train ride at the main park at the center of Huatulco
d. Visit the church that allocates the biggest (world record) Guadalupe Virgin in the world

Google Earth location:
HOTEL AT: 15°45'22.00"N 96° 7'56.54"O
BEACH CLUB AT: 15°45'32.84"N 96° 7'26.70"O
EL PATA RESTAURANT AT: 15°45'51.23"N 96° 8'13.98"O
COFFE @ NIGHT: 15°45'15.44"N 96° 7'56.89"O

  • Liked — Its location near all
  • Disliked — The fact of not having a beach right next to the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Renan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My boyfriend and I traveled to Huatulco for his brother's wedding. Months before, the bride booked to have her wedding at the Beach Club and so everyone was booked to stay at Hotel Castillo. Since I had been staying at all-inclusives the past few years, I was actually looking forward to staying at a boutique hotel and enjoy restaurants and walking around town instead of being trapped in a compound. Overall, the hotel is definitely a 2-3 star as it is rated. If you know that coming in, then you'll be satisfied overall as the staff is very friendly. If you like AC, I recommend staying on the first floor whereas the second floor isn't quite as cold and the third is even worse. We did not do all-inclusive so all I had was the breakfast there each morning. It's $10 for the buffet so I really recommend going down near the beach to Dona Celia's for breakfast because it's much better for less. The hotel is conveniently located by the beach and there are some touristy shops nearby. La Crucecita is only $1.60 (16 pesos) by cab. The wedding we attended was actually at Hotel Castillo's beach club. The wedding was on the beach and it was beautiful. The reception was at the club with a buffet dinner, band, dj, etc. I'm sure it had to have been pretty inexpensive compared to U.S. prices but I don't have any numbers. Overall, I had a good experience there so I hope you do too if you choose to stay there!

  • Liked — Location, very nice staff, great beach club, very quiet & relaxing place
  • Disliked — Wasn't too crazy about the shower, AC not cold enough
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Mayev Hotel
Princess Mayev Hotel
#10 of 47 in Huatulco
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Binniguenda All Inclusive
Binniguenda All Inclusive
#5 of 47 in Huatulco
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Blvd Santa Cruz 303 | Bahia de Santa Cuz, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, located in the main Bay of Santa Cruz, just a few steps from the handicraft market, area of banks and the main dock of cruises and tours, car rental and travel agency and only 5 minutes from the Centre of the Crucesita. 112 rooms, including: standard rooms with two double beds, rooms Junior with two double beds and a King Size, rooms Juniors and room Master Suites; Beach Club, two Restaurants, two Bars, two Swimming Pools, Children's area featuring all inclusive plans and plan E.P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Huatulco
Hotel Castillo Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing