We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Barcelo Huatulco(Huatulco)
$197
$166
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Fa-Sol(Crucecita)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Royal Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$145
$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$76
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$64
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Posada Chahue(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$79
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Mayev Hotel(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$57
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Binniguenda All Inclusive(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$77
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,623)
Filter reviews
4,623 results
Traveler rating
3,180
1,005
318
85
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,180
1,005
318
85
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barcin cinmarket cafebarefoot grillspice restaurantfrench restaurantswim up roomcastaways restaurantpreferred clubswim up barfrosted glasssugar reefocean viewhydrotherapy circuitcoco cafequiet poolcoarse sand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,025 - 2,030 of 4,623 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Been all over the world for work and been to all major places in mexico , was getting old going to Mayan , so we went here , so relaxing i was always tired lol great checkin , no wrist bands, excellent service all around, Magdelina at the pool bar and the staff there were great. Maid service is incredible, if you leave or give them something of value (keycahin or hat) you need to write a note saying you gave it to them.GREAT FOOD . town is as clean as singapore, all around tha best vacation we have had . rooms were awesome as well. Bring ur own music to pool u will drown cuz u fell asleep in pool due to love music lol would not pay 2000$ for trip

Room Tip: 3rd floor easy access to restaurants and spa
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your message, it is really important for our team to receive the experience of our guests. As these comments help us to know if we are working well, and to make changes if needed.

In this frame we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Your message will be sent to all our staff, and for sure it will be a source of motivation for them to continue working well.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us if your plan to come back, we will be more than pleased to answer any request you have.

Warm regards from Huatulco,

Aurélien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
a_gerencia.sechu@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The best of this hotel is the ocean view. Unique small bay just for you. They also bring high quality restaurants all inclusive. Recommended for couples that want a quiet place with a wonderful view. The only negative aspect I found is that internet is very slow with very bad signal.

Room Tip: pick the building in front of the pool. lower level
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidViajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your message, we are pleased to know that you had a great stay here at Secrets Huatulco.

We are taking in account your message about internet.

Best regards,

Aurélien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I don't even know where to begin. Was hestitant about flying with Sunwing, as had heard such bad things. We had absolutely no problems, flight left early going there and home. Of course yes the plane seats are narrow but aren't they all. The food could have been better, but at least there was food included. But hey the price was right, so can't really complain.

As for the hotel...OMG, amazingly beautiful and well maintained. We booked a swimup room and it was totally worth it for the view and daily dips to cool off. We went right at the end of the tourist season (beginning of May) and the hotel was quiet, think only 35% of capacity. Which we found perfect as we had our choice of pools, chairs, towels, restuarants and the service was amazing. Only a few negative comments: room service which took forever or not in time when we had to leave for a surfing excursion. The upside was we dashed into the breakfast cafe right before they opened and had homemade fresh warm chocolate crossiants! They were to die for delicious. Also, internet connect was hit or miss, but also didn't care too much as we were on vacation. If absolutely necessary just go to their beautiful Sky bar and had no troubles connecting and facetiming with my 1.5yr old daughter. We didn't go on vacation to be on our devices...and didn't hinder our experience one bit. I was disappointed that they advertise Yoga at the property and was greatly looking forward to going daily and not sure if it was due to the time of year we went, but not even 1 day of yoga was offered. Lastly the resort gift store was overpriced and wouldn't bargain even a little. Go into town and shop if you want anything. $6 cab ride.
Strongly recommend lots of sunscreen and sandals for the beach as it is HOT! But the ocean is fantastic. We just watched for the red flags ...yellow was fine. We did some snorkelling and even watch the locals fish and diving on the next beach over. All the restuarants were fantastic, had no problem going to any of them and due to the season again just had to watch your daily info to see which ones were open.
I will agree with comments that preferred club status isn't worth it for the extras you get, but for the upgrade room...totally worth it! recommend Building 5 or 6 as pool level and building 6 is by the swimup bar and actvities and building 5 is a little farther away for those that want more quiet.
If you're into Spas GO!!! It was superb and just watch for their daily specials.

Lastly, if you are reading this and use tripadvisor to determine which hotel to stay at based on reviews...please review whatever place you decided to go with as the reviews helped you and you can pass on the favor to the next person. Thanks.

Room Tip: Building 5 or 6 swimup room. Building 6 puts you closer to the swimup bar and activities.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear guest:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Secrets Huatulco, Mexico Review: May 21-26, 2014:

Our rating - 4 Stars - (It would be 5 stars if we hadn’t gotten sick!!)

We booked through CheapCarribbean.com and paid $1900 total for two of us for 5 Nights including flights from Texas. It seems like an incredible deal since the flight alone shows to cost $1400 if booked separately. We had no problems with anything booked through CheapCaribbean.com, despite a few bad reviews online, and would do it again. The flights went smoothly and our AMStar van was there to meet us. Check in was a breeze. Our room was exactly as we requested and amazing. We couldn’t have been happier with anything. We were in Room 5301. Top of Building 5 on the Sky Bar side. I think this is the best view available, although they are all good there, I think. The view was completely breathtaking from our balcony.

The first day we arrived and were checked in very quickly and ready to explore by 5PM. We looked around in awe of the beauty and ate dinner at the Italian restaurant, Cin Cin. It was very good, similar to a cruise dining room experience. We went to the beach and sat under a palapa and watched the beauty all around us. In the evening, we went to the Sky Bar and sat on a comfy couch and listened to a very good singer play the guitar and sing familiar songs.

On our second day, we slept til 9 and had a late breakfast at the Market Café buffet. We ate breakfast there every day. There is a very large variety of choices in the buffet, and there is also a quesadilla grill and an egg grill where you can get made to order food. The service staff is absolutely wonderful and attentive no matter where you go. We spent the day going between a palapa on the beach and enjoying the massive pools. Service was impeccable either place. Servers are constantly asking if you need anything whether on the beach or in the pool. For lunch we went to Castaways (best view on the place) and for Dinner we went to Bourdeaux, the French restaurant. (Our best meal, although all were good) Nightly shows were very good, not cruise quality, mainly dancing, but very good and impressive, we thought. We ended the long day again at the SkyBar where there were more good singers and the evening ended with a parade around the plaza terrace. We went to bed at 1130, it was a truly great day!

Day 3 began with a 3 hour private boat charter for the two of us with Gilberto (he will be there daily near an umbrella and his boat will be nearby). We paid $180 for 3 hours in his boat. It was fantastic! We traveled up the beautiful coastline and saw the 7 Bays and other resorts and attractions of the area from the boat. He set out his fishing poles, and we caught Mahi Mahi and Mackeral! He took us further out and found Dolphin, and we lay in the front of the boat as they jumped all around us! We could almost touch them. We also saw a couple of sea turtles. The boat has a shade and drinks, and it was very nice! We got back in time for another nice lunch at Castaways, and then again to the palapas and pools for the afternoon. We took a long nap from 5PM – 9PM! Then we went to the Mexican Buffet they had in the plaza terrace. Afterward, we went to "Desires" where there was Latin Dancing and ended this long and wonderful day.

Day 4 was another day in paradise, but trouble was on the horizon. We got up early and sat on our balcony, which has the most amazing view. You could just sit there and stare in disbelief forever. A note about the weather. There was no rain at all while we were there, although it was the beginning of the rainy season, which they call the off season. It was perfect though. It clouded up one day and was cooler, but very nice weather all around, we thought. Some reviews mention how HOT it is here. We are from Texas and did not think it was hot at all, especially for the beach in Mexico. It was no hotter than home in late May, and with the sea breeze, it was very, very nice. The course sand was HOT as others have said and flip flops or the ability to run is a must! Neither of us felt very good today. We went to the town of La Crucasita to look around and shop in the morning. It is a $6 taxi ride each way. We walked around and shopped, but came back to Secrets in a couple of hours due to not feeling well. My wife went to the Spa for a massage, and I lay under our palapa on the beach. We felt better. The poolside grill "Barefoots" reopened today. It had been closed the whole time for renovations and enlargement. We had lunch there. It has burgers, hot dogs, Nachos, wings and ribs, simple but very nice atmosphere and staff. Again we retreated to the Palapa and Pools for the afternoon. For Dinner, there was an outside barbeque, but we opted for the Mexican restaurant, "Tamarindo". The food and service was excellent, but we felt bad that we left so much on our plates due to not feeling like eating and the fact that our server brought us things we didn't order for us to try. He didn't know we were feeling back and couldn't even eat what we ordered. We did not eat much this day, nor did we feel very well for most of it. Our bed was adorned with rose petals, which was nice and very romantic, but honestly we did not feel well enough to care.

Day 5 began with us feeling a little better, and we went to the Spa and did the Hydrotherapy session. It was amazing! Sauna/Steam bath and several water massage stations in the pool with the most amazing view in the world. It was very nice, and it was only $75 for me. My wife was free because it was included in the massage cost ($125 for and hour) from the day before. Well worth it. I would do it twice if I stayed a full week. The resort was not crowded, and they said off season had just begun due to the wintering Canadians leaving the week before. There were more people on Saturday, but many started leaving today, and it was very sparse. Very nice not to be crowded after all the cruises we have been on where there is wall to wall people and lines everywhere. The day kind of went down from here. We went to the beach and pools again, but we both began feeling really bad in the afternoon and it just got worse. By dinner, we tried to eat at the Italian buffet that was in the plaza terrace. (The food was always everywhere and amazing!) but just smelling food made me nauseous, and I almost passed out before I got to the room to lay down. The rest of this night was a nightmare. We were both alternately suffering from cold sweats and then cold chills and back and forth to the bathroom. (I have to say, we are seasoned travelers. We have strong compositions when it comes to eating in foreign places. We have been all over the world on vacations and mission trips and have eaten home cooked food for days in locations where there are no toilets and barely running water. My wife has even lived in Latin American countries and neither of us have ever been this sick and here we are in a spectacular 5 star resort. Not sure why or what we did wrong. We are not as careful as most due to our experiences, but if we return here, we will be much more cautious. This is the reason I gave a 4 Star rating. We should not get this sick at a 5 Star resort!) We had an awful night. Our sheets were soaked with sweat and when the chills came we would just freeze due to the wet sheets! Terrible! We have been home 7 days and are still suffering from it. I am getting better, but my wife is still in pain and had to get medical attention when we got home. This is very unusual for us! Having said all of this, we would probably still go back, but the longer this sickness goes on, the more doubtful we are.

Day 6 was our last, and we stayed at the resort until 2PM and began the 12 hour trek home. We were feeling a little better, and at least we made the long trip home ok.

Some observations not mentioned before:

There was very good security all over the resort as well as constant lifeguard protection warning people of the strong surf. Wifi was spotty, and no phone service, but we don’t mind that as we trying to get away from all that when we are on vacation. The whole place is geared toward the amazing scenery and there are glass walls and balconies everywhere to allow a great view from no matter where you are except mostof the restaurants. The whole place is beautiful inside and out. Everyone is friendly and geared toward service. Top notch! They will take tips, but no one acted as if they expected them. For those who drink, the bars were very open and servers were eager to give out as much as anyone wanted. This was NOT a party place, very quiet and peaceful. Adults only, so no kids and very quiet, another attractive feature you don't find on a cruise. There was music playing softly all the time, and the activity level was very much to our taste. Many daytime activities were offered that we didn’t participate in because we like the palapa and pool so much. We noticed the small amount of algae in the expansive pools that some have mentioned, but thought nothing of it, as they were constantly cleaning parts of the pool and the pool is made of billions of 1 inch square tiles with grout in between each one. It would take a hundred people with toothbrushes to scrub all of that continually. The pools were beautiful and unbelievably expansive! Very friendly room service is available til midnight and there is a privacy delivery door in the closet in case you don’t want to stay dressed waiting for it. We are used to cruise cabins, so the expansive room, bathroom and tubs and rainshower were such a treat, especially after we got sick. Final Tip: Take some Imodium and electrolyte drink packets (I took Spark) just in case. I’m so glad I did!

Secrets Huatulco is amazing and beautiful ! If I knew we wouldn't get sick, I would definitely be going back.

C&J Stewart TX

Room Tip: Building 5 top floor. 5301 is excellent!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stewpapa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

No internet except for top level , had to pay for all phone calls . Secrets advertise total connectivity but secrets was not. Dreams down the ocean was but was not told till check out . Adult only complex very nice , but very very quiet. Little night life, swim up bar also low keyed. Swim out exceptional as well as the food. 12 th. Stay with Secrets best food . Ocean almost unusable , sand extremely hot & ocean no one used .

Room Tip: Swim out suite
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear guest:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews