We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but, not as good as the other Secrets Resorts!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Ill
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good but, not as good as the other Secrets Resorts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We liked the Secrets Huatulco, but the need to make improvements to compare to the Secrets Resorts in the Riviera Maya area!
Rooms, well appointed, beautiful view of the ocean. The balconies made for an unobstructed view, but, the glass worried me! JUST DID NOT SEEM SAFE!
in fact all the bacony and railing structures throughout the resort are glass. KINDA SCARY!
Pools, Not kept clean, black algae growing on the bottom in certain areas.
Never witnesses the pools being scrubbed to remove this.
Pool area is extremely large, with lots of loungers. There were only 2 days out of the week we stayed, that we were allowed to use the umbrella all day. The staff comes around if it's windy and puts them down, so they don't get damaged! BUY BETTER Quality Umbrellas then!
Food, Good selection, but, we both got sick! not sure if it's the combination of the sun, food and alcohol, but, while we were there many people were ill, all with exactly the same symptoms!
Not sure if we would return due to this!
Activities Group, great...very friendly!
We overall enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukieakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,366
    794
    252
    78
    27
See reviews for
335
2,448
72
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is quite nice, good food (not great) and everyone is extremely serviceable and polite, however the entertainment staff absolutely steals the show. Miguel (Mike) in particular with Fabiola ensure every guest has a fantastic time, Amanda and Maya are also great but didn't talk with them as much. The beach is beautiful and I would recommend this hotel for couples planning a romantic getaway. (If you're not in a couple I'd recommend you find somewhere else since you'll find it to be a bit... uncomfortable...)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to host your holidays. I am glad to know how much you enjoyed spending time at our hotel and spa highlighted by our staff’s attentiveness. Our mission is to create memories by exceeding our guests expectations and I'm very pleased to read that we accomplished this goal during your stay. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future and provide you another incredible experience.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We traveled to Secrets Huatulco March 15th - March 22nd and I have to say...we really enjoyed our trip! Having done the Sandals thing a couple of times as well as the Dominican, we felt like the bar was set fairly high and Secrets gave us everything we could have hoped for and maybe a bit more. As with any resort, you can find something to "nitpick"...but the pros absolutely outweigh the cons at this beautiful resort.

We stayed in one of the Preferred Jr suite swim out rooms and we felt it was a worthy investment. The room was well appointed and decorated very nicely (quite contemporary)...and the swim out allowed us to relax away from the big pools at the end of the day (great time for a late day happy hour drink and dip!). The Preferred "status" gave us the opportunity to check in quickly (in an air conditioned room) and access to appetizers/drinks every day...

The service was excellent - most everyone wanted to make sure you had everything you needed (Salvador and Walter were great ambassadors of Secrets!). Room service was extremely efficient and with a little prodding/tipping, you could get almost anything you might want! Speaking of tipping - that was a little something we had not experienced at previous places. It seemed as though money talked - good idea to bring a number of singles with you...not saying it isn't deserved, just know you'll see quite a bit of it.

About the food, it was consistently good to very good wherever we went...the breakfast buffet had a wide selection of items and Sofia's smile was a wonderful way to start the day. Oh, and seriously, do yourself a favor and hit the French Toast with caramel sauce along with a mimosa, all good! The only thing we can say that might be considered a complaint is the "possible" long wait you might find when heading down to dinner...be prepared to adhere to the dress code and know that it could take an hour or two to sit inside some of the restaurants. Truly enjoyed the Italian restaurant - our waiter was amazing...and lunch at Castaways was very nice - strong selection of items while taking in the gorgeous view.

The pools, cloudy like a number of people noted, are being constantly cleaned and maintained...very tough to keep them pristine in high 90s everyday. Also, the chair/towel game is definitely in play - get up early to find a good spot.

Finally, the Spa - do it. It is beautiful. Sally, located in the lobby, set us up and the place lived up to her high praise. The hydrotherapy was very relaxing and the massage was very nice. Well worth it!

Secrets Huatulco offers beautiful grounds, great views, and wonderful service...we truly will consider returning to relive some awesome memories...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmynEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We travelled to Secrets Huatuclo April 1st to 8th to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have travelled to many of all inclusive 5 star resorts through out the carribean but this one tops them all. It has become one of our favorites. Huatuclo is just beautiful and this resort is fabulous! Where can you go and have 95-99 sunny weather every day? The service was exceptional, the food was excellent, drinks were great, and the rooms were so clean with a breathtaking ocean view. We really liked how you could help yourself to as many towels through out the day as you liked. This was a nice touch compared to other resorts. The only complaint we had was the "one cloud" on Saturday from 5 to 6 pm lol. We met so many nice people from all over Canada and a few from Chicago. Cheers to our new friends from Barrie, Stayner and Fort Erie. We had a wonderful and relaxing holiday in Huatuclo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlog48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We travelled to Secrets Huatulco March 22- April 5.
For the first time in our lives, we had bought a package with transfers and were worried about a busload of guests arriving at once instead of the two of us in a taxi. The staff handled it with great ease so that our check-in took less than 15 minutes. Within a half hour, we were by the pool in our swim suits.
The room we got was on the 3rd floor of building 6 and was perfect except for the 2 double beds instead of a king. We could've asked for a change but loved the location so we stayed with it. It was a good size and was clean which is all we ask for, not spending any time there except for sleeping and showering.
The pools are huge for a 399 rooms hotel and with the spring heat, we understood why fast enough. With the temperatures is the 30s (90s F) at 7 a.m. we got to spend a lot of time in the water. It is too bad that it isn't more clear to some guests that there is an activities pool and a tranquility pool, some people complaining about the music during aérobics or volleyball games.
In all AM resorts we visited, this was made clear and you wouldn't get a senior sitting in front of a speaker complaining about the music (the Entertainment team had to penalize 30 ball players and watchers who wanted music to accomodate one person that sat at the wrong pool). The hotel should better identify the pools as tranquil and active thus avoiding pleasing no one by trying to please everyone.
The beach is beautiful but the sand is coarser than some other beaches but that has nothing to do with the resort, it is nature...Also, few people seem to know that in Mexico, the beaches all are federal properties, and that resorts cannot build or install anything past their property line. We read complaints about the little hill in front of the hotel but it isn't on hotel property and it is easy to walk around it to a less steep path.
Being there 2 weeks, we tried all restaurants more than once and although the Tamarindo was our favorite, they were all very good. The steaks at Castaways were huge, enough to feed a family of 4. The pasta and risottos at Cin-Cin were very tasty, the sea food at Oceana was delicious. We went to Market café every day for breakfast and lunch and the variety of choices was enough not to get bored eating the same thing all the time. With a few exceptions (that were sometimes due to personal taste) we ate very well for those two weeks.
The nightly entertainment was not great the first week because the theater was under renovations and they only had a small stage installed at the plaza. On our second week, the theater reopened and we got the full productions. The dance troop is very professional and the shows they created are highly entertaining. The only problem we had with Entertainment is that there isn't any after 10:30. There is Desires, a bar without a dance floor, so we could sit there and have a drink but it would have been nice to dance at least once on our vacation.
The staff at this hotel is the nicest and most attentive you can hope for, always asking if there is anything more they can do. Whenever we had a request, it was met immediately, with a smile.
All in all, we had a great vacation, and the only reason this resort didn't score a five was the lack of Wi-Fi, only available at the Sky bar and extremely slow....which is a no-no in 2014. This should be a top priority for the hotel. Also, not keeping Tequila anejo in a mexican resort, is strange, all others Secrets visited had it, even outside Mexico.
Special thanks to:
Dulce at Sky bar, cute and sweet as can be
Sofia at Market Café, listening to all the guests' stories, boring or not....
Salvador at the pool, we missed you on your days off
The entertainement team, Miguel, Fabiola, Maia, Amanda, Alex & Victor, who made us feel like family alhough they had to deal with the stress of a new boss...they all work so hard for us all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvanoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just returned from Secrets hours ago! We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary it was amazing! The entire staff from upon our arrival was amazing, you barely put your fork on you empty plate and they whisk it away for you!
Water is plentiful, the pool, beach, bathrooms are all super clean. They scrub the pool lounges nightly, and power wash the cement around the pools.
We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi - amazing!
We opted to buy dinner on the beach with our coupons. It's an additional cost but well worth it. We chose to dine at sunset, it's hard work to carry all that out there - we had an exceptional waiter.
Every night there is a buffet of different menu's, different entertainment in the Sky Bar some nights- or just sit people watch.

The ONLY thing I would like to see changed is smoking policy. I don't like the smoking around the pool, or on balconies when they are so close to one another. We had a neighbor for a few nights that smoked which made it so we couldn't have our door open to listen to the ocean.

We are booking again next year for my parents 50th anniversary! It's amazing, and so relaxing!!!

Room Tip: all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travilgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I'll keep this short since all the great things are said in other reviews.

Pros----
The week we were there....March 22-29....it was mostly Canadians with a sprinkle of Yanks. All was good. You'll meet people from all over this great continent.
It's a 35 minute drive from the airport. Grab a couple of cold ones for the trip. The ride is pleasant...you won't see any slums like other destinations.

Check in is fast, layout of resort is simple to find anything.
AC Preferred had a room for us. Free internet, some top shelf booze. Concierge to answer questions. Where else you going to get Baileys for your coffee at 630 am??

The rooms are spacious, clean. We always tip our housekeeper every morning ($5) so we get what we want. We had a swim up but didn't use it. The water was too hot....no shade.

We had great experiences at all restaurants. No waiting. Dress appropriately. They enforce the dress code to dine inside. No problem with that.
The food is fantastic, portions not too big. We did lunch at Castaways all week. Large selection. Otherwise the fast food pit near the pools will get you wings, burgers, hot dogs, nachos etc.

The pools are very large and not crowded even though no one uses the ocean.

The spa is great. You get hydrotherapy before your treatment.....be prepared to be pampered 2.5 hours for a 50 minute treatment...who can complain about that??

Now for the constructive criticism.....
Although there are umbrella bases, some of them are missing umbrellas. Secrets needs to buy some more umbrellas. Its a newer resort, so the palm trees are only 15-20 feet high so they don't cast enough shade.....especially over parts of the pool. It was (99-102 F) or (34-36 C) so the water was not refreshing at all. Perhaps Secrets could install a chiller on the pools.

It's unfortunate that some people feel more privileged than others, securing chairs at the crack of dawn. We also witnessed a group that secured chairs then went on an excursion all day. Like really????. The guests removed their towels. The staff will only oblige if guests complain.
Perhaps Secrets could offer some pool floaties as there are none at this resort.

The ocean was empty most of the week. There appeared to be some debris floating so guests were reluctant to swim in that. This is the first time I did not swim in the ocean. Not sure what Secrets could do to alleviate this problem??? On 2 separate occasions, toilets backed up at each end the pools so perhaps the ocean water condition is caused by a faulty septic bed.???

The beach sand is hot and a little more coarse than other destinations but it won't harm you if you wear sandals.

We dined inside and found it too warm. Perhaps Secrets could manage the AC better.
The design of the resort courtyard has failed. Why put most of the restaurants in that courtyard where if you dine outside, you get no view and no breeze. Secrets failed here in my opinion.

The staff has limited grasp of English but will only get better as they become more exposed to North Americans.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would go back. When we do go back, we expect Secrets to have taken care of the umbrella situation and the lack of AC in the restaurants.

Room Tip: building 4, 5 and 6 if you plan on staying near the pools all week. otherwise building 1, 2 and 3 if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments through our Trip Advisor Account. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our mission is to offer the best quality services to our guests, and your message is a source of motivation to continue working in this way.

We hope to see you soon at our Hotel,

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
2.4 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
3.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing