We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Destination with Spectacular Scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We decided to try a different destination this year and were persuaded by the great reviews that Secrets Huatalco received. We were certainly not disappointed!

This was probably the best arrival experience we have had. Starting with a relatively short bus trip to the resort we were really happy to be whisked quickly through a very efficient arrival and into our room. It's not a big deal but after a fairly long day travelling you are just keen to 'arrive' and spend ten minutes in your room settling in.

Next up was the room. It was fantastic. Very modern, very clean and spacious and it would rival most top end North American boutique hotels. Then you walk through the patios to an absolutely stunning view. This is what you get to wake up to every day, and at least for us, look at as the sun sets (recovering from your day lounging on the beach/at the pool).

Staff were very friendly, food was really good, bar service was great, resort was spotless. There are the usual minor issues (beach vendors a little too frequent, entertainment wasn't our favourite) but this was minor.

The spa is world class! Make sure you treat yourself on your final evening there - it is fantastic to do the hydrotherapy as the sun sets, have your massage and then head off to Oceana for a final meal on the terrace. Perfect.

Other notables was a pretty good gym with a superb view of the resort (it is next to the spa), the Sky Bar for the views and open air, and Sophia who is an incredible asset to the smooth running, friendliness and efficiency of the marketplace café.

Certainly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor of the highest building, very happy with the unobstructed view. However f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hestonpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services. We are doing the best to offer the best quality services, and it is like a prize for us to receive your beautiful comments.

Hoping that you will have the opportunity to come back soon to our resort, we wish you a good weekend.

It has been ur pleasure to welcome you here.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 4,254 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This resort is absolutely gorgeous! We stayed at dreams last week and no secrets for this week. The wifi at secrets isn't the best. You have to be nearby the the centre to get any signal. The food is super good, we haven't had a bad meal yet. I would recommend getting a room with a queen bed. We had to switch rooms because we originally had two doubles and they are just too damn small for a couple. If I were to come back I would probably stay at dreams.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Omek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a good time with us.

We will take in account you comment regarding to the Wi Fi connection, in order to offer a better quality service.

We hope to see you soon at our Resort & Spa,

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Got upgraded from Dreams to Secrets for last 3 days of our holiday, we were 3 couples and all had the basic same opinion. The resort is very nice, spotlessly clean, the infinity pools are incredible, the rooms all have ocean views and very comfortable beds, very nice tub and the best rainmaker shower I have used. The food was excellent, the Italian restaurant was the best meal I have had in any all-inclusive, and I have been to lots. The beach is nice, great water temp and private becuase there are no other hotels nearby. Drinks were good if you got the right bartender, staff were all friendly and tried to make your stay comfortable. The downsides, if you would call them that, whoever thought of glass doors and walls to a toilet, especially in Mexico, has issues! There are some things that don't need to be seen, especially when company is over. Also, there is a lack of shade, need more pallapas and umbrellas as it is very hot and the sun beats in everywhere on every room. Keep in mind the heat of the sand when walking on the beach into the water, your feet fry, water shoes would be a good idea, as well as drink cosies because of the heat. We all agreed the place was beautiful, but lacked atmosphere, almost too nice, the staff were still having growing pains, it definately wasn't run as smooth as Dreams, drink service was much slower everywhere, but the staff really try. We were all glad we went, we had a good time, but all 6 of us said, when we come back, we would stay at Dreams. Just our opinion!

Room Tip: I would choose the second floor, which is 6, not 2, unless you want to have a swim out room, cool bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback, it is very important for us to receive the experience of our guests.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Be sure we will take in account your observations and our areas of opportunities.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a great mid November week at Secrets. Took the Air Canada milk run from Nanaimo(Vancouver Island) because it was cheaper than Vancouver was. (yes cheaper) . Flight was great. Mostly people from Quebec. Yes it had movies and chargers. A little busy at the Huatulco airport with about 4 flights arriving at once. Went on a big bus to Secrets. Road is all dug up and took about 50 minutes each of the 4 times I took it that week. (although lots of paving going on will help)
Had my welcome drink and was given room 5305 which wasn't ready yet at 15:30 so had to wait 45 minutes. Secrets had to clean over 100 rooms that morning. Room 5305 on the 3rd floor had a great view and was a 65 second walk to the upper pool via 2 flights of stairs and a walkway. Great sleep and comfortable bed. Came back to get something from my room one day and my 50 peso tip was gone but my room was not done so maybe give your tip directly to the maid.
Lots of locals with the Revolution Holiday (3rd weekend of every November) during the 3 days so was told 78.5 percent full. Then seemed higher with more Airtransat and Sunwing flights. Lots of wonderful people especially from Quebec ,Alberta and Illinois.
Meals were good and I liked that they turned people away even from the Market Café if guys wore sleeve-less shirts. My favorite place was Castaways for lunch. Ate there 4 times. Barefoot snack bar is too crowded. Favorite dinner was the Oceana (Formal inside, Casual on the terrace)Overall service was very good.
The beach was fine center left once you got past the break, and better the farther you went. I would be in it for an hour at a time. Keep walking a few minutes via a 40 second trail and a guard to the next beach(Playa Magueyito) where the proposed Riu Palace might be. Beach looked overall calmer.
I sat one time on the beach way over at the far side below Castaways and a guy found me in about 3 minutes for a drink.
Great views from the spa but kind of a waste for 5 people on an exercise machine or 3 people on a massage bed. Should have put some preferred rooms with a pool up there.
The only real negative is no towel cards. Some people abuse them leaving towels around all over the place at different spots at the pools and the beach. BRING BACK THE TOWEL CARDS. In the rooms they ask you to reuse a hand towel or face cloth to help preserve the environment. Also a designated smoking area or section would be nice although not many people I saw smoked. Not many towel games by low lives that wake up early.
No bugs at all and the regular 34 C plus temps.
I liked the upper of the 2 of 4 pools. (each on a different level) as it was quieter.
Did the Crocs and Turtles tour and it was great. Cannot believe how long and whiter the beaches are up towards Mazunte and Zipolite
Take the 19 minute leisurely walk from Secrets Lobby to Playa La Bocana. 90% shaded at 8:30 in the morning and 50% at noon when an elderly gentleman jogged past me. .A lot more shops than I thought. Lots of people surfing and you can rent boogie boards.
Went into town a couple times during the day and evening and Santa Cruz was very festive with live music and native dancers, when the Norwegian Star was there . La Crucecita was fun during the holiday with parades , dancing and live music. 60 peso ride back to Secrets. Remember, bring pesos only. DO NOT BRING AMERICAN MONEY.
A coin toss but would probably go back to Dreams Huatulco. Both great resorts. Overall a wonderful stay and would return.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 3 and 5 are 2 stories up from Blocks 2 4 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank solar1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very for sharing us your experience at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. It has been our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel, and we are pleased to know that you had a great stay here,

We read carefully your message and we see that you made some observations, and find some areas of opportunities. We will take them in account, in order to offer the best quality that deserve our guests.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Resort is only a few years old ,nice mattresses and good A.C,the rooms have a room service door for food that is not very secure ,I can fit through it and if you don't lock the inside someone can get right into your room, also the doors do not shut by themselfs and you need to make sure it latches but the room has a beautiful view, the weather was hot and humid and the thing I didn't like the most was the restaurants are on the 7th floor and they are hot and humid ,they do have air but this resort doesn't seem to use it (expect a.c in your room only) And the men need sleeves (not collars at all meals) and long pants unless you want to dine outside.
And they advertise premium liquor but if you dont ask for it by name you will get the cheap stuff, at times the bar service is very slow but the restaurants are very good and the staff is great the pools are nice and the beach is also, and no kids there, 24 hr room service .
I would recommend this Hotel unless you cannot stand the heat

Room Tip: Try and get near the center tower , also many people that got hot tubs outside the room never used i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norm v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest.

We thank you very much for your feedback, it is essential for our team to reed the experience of our guests.

In this frame we will take in account your observations, to make the necessary changes needed..

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really great hotel to stay at. Excellent restaurants and the rooms are really comfy, the service is superb, they treat you like a star. The beach is quiet and has a great coral reef. Really recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
2  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you had the service that you deserve, like every guest of our Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband & myself were at Dreams from Nov 5-12, then moved over to Secrets for Nov 12-19th - we went for a fabulous wedding @ Dreams, then decided to take another week and go Adult only....What an incredibly beautiful peaceful place. Everything was a 6 star, we fell in love with Lucy (Sky Bar) what a little sweetheart and so accommodating, she always remembered what type of wine I liked. Luis (Consierge) was fabulous with us also

Thank you and we will return one day
W&V Compton, Langley, BC

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to welcome you at Secrets Huatulco, and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

The staff mentioned will be informed about your message.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
4,134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 47 in Huatulco
212 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $270 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing