We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Terrific Trip”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived on 9/6/13 and left on 9/13.
My wife and I have been to the Secrets chain before so we kinda knew what to expect. And the Huatulco resort didn't disappoint. From the moment we arrived and were given fresh towels, to the day we checked out and were driven to the airport, everything went great. We dined at each restaurant at least once and were pleased with them all. We gravitated back to the French restaurant several times during our stay because it was so good. Due to low occupancy, there were only two restaurants open a night which didn't really pose a problem since we got around to going to all of them eventually. Just a quick tip to my fellow travelers: the week after Labor Day is the best week to travel anywhere. It was rumored that occupancy of the hotel was at 15%. As far as lunch goes. we ate at Castaways everyday. There is also a buffet available in the main Cafe, but we liked Castaways, great food, great view and good drinks. It's a bit of a walk though. We hit the spa one day and made an entire morning out of it. The pool, the sauna, the hydrotherapy were all included in the spa treatment, which is extra. The hotel has two tennis courts which I enjoyed very much. The resident pro is Victor and kicked my but several times. But get there early as there is no shade and Huatulco is hot. The pool was refreshing and the ocean quite warm, but rough. If you're looking for white sand and blue waters, look elsewhere, this is a bay on the Pacific Ocean. Please don't write in your review that you were disappointed in the beach; do your research. I would definitely go back to Secrets Huatulco as we had a wonderful time and created many memories. I almost forgot to mention the coffee bar CoCo, which has excellent Mochaccino.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Third floor has a better view. First floor has a swimout pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that you had a great vacations at our resort & spa.

We will share this message to all our personal, it is very important for us to receive the feedback of our guests and to know that everything is OK.

Thank you again for your message, we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Secrets Huatulco.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,681
    870
    274
    79
    31
See reviews for
384
2,749
83
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

FOOD is absolutely OK. I have no idea why there are people getting sick with the food. I am from Mexico and my stomach is a little weak. If I eat something too spicy or fatty I get heartburn and it NEVER happened in this trip. Breakfast buffet was always fresh, with a great variety and warm. Lunch by the pool or room service was really good. Dinner at any of the specialties was also perfect. Waiters are super kind, if they delay food they apologize.

All the staff is absolutely kind. They treat you like they do care. Everyone. At the front desk, or bars, or restaurants, they are all very nice. Always aware if you need something.

We stayed at a standard room. It is big enough to leave your things, walk around, be comfortable, rest. It has ocean view. It has air conditioning. Extra clean. 32" TV with DVD player. The bath is separate from the shower with a see through door, yes. Just take your turns using it and no problem! Bed is huge, ours was a bit hard and noisy.

The view is pretty, the sea gets a bit mixed with a close river water (that is why the color changes). The sea has rough waves so it is not good for swimming but you can walk bare foot over the tiny waves and is really nice. Sand is a bit coarse, hurts just a bit. The sun is really strong and you can easily dehydrate so you have to drink as much water as you can, even a few minutes can make you feel weak. The hotel provides bottles of water so you don't have to worry about that. Maybe people are getting sick because they don't drink enough water.

Since this resort is in the middle of the jungle next to the beach, there are lots of insects. Not inside the room if you keep the doors closed but outside. Bring mosquito repellent.

We had two days of rain and the staff always encouraged people to get involved in the activities. I had a wonderful carving fruit class with Chef Santiago and we made a swan out of an apple and a rose with grapefruit peel. Business center was perfect, the computers were really helpful.

I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Any room is fine, ours had wireless internet on the first building (room 1307) it is far from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margarita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your message. We are very thankful to receive a positive review from you, because we are working to offer the best quality services to our guests, and we consider this review as a reward.

We hope you will decide to come back to Secrets Huatulco, Huatulco is plenty of beautiful places and Secrets Huatulco plenty of surprises.

Warm regards from Huatulco,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel just absolutely continues to delight. We were here a year ago and enjoyed everything so much that we decided to come back in 2013. If it’s possible, Secrets Huatulco is even better than before.

Everything works. And it works well. When 300 guests checked out the same day we arrived and the occupancy dropped measurably, there continued to be two a la carte restaurants open every night to choose between. Continuing on a rotating basis, you could have a different dining experience every night without having to repeat more than once during the week. Castaways, also a la carte, is open everyday for lunch; no buffet here. And never a bad meal or bad glass of wine along the way, either. The food and the variety of menu offerings is excellent, and not what you might expect from an all inclusive hotel. Even the Italian restaurant, CinCin, that I had been somewhat critical of in my review of a year ago has upped its game. And, by the way, the house red wine, XA, cabernet sauvignon, that comes from Baja California is excellent. No need to dip into the wine cellar offerings (at additional cost, though reasonably priced) unless you really feel the need to splurge.

The staff is helpful, friendly, and there to please. It is quite obvious they are happy in their work, and it’s their attitude that makes Secrets Huatulco a wonderful experience. Staffing seemed quite complete, despite the drop in occupancy. Maintenance, lobby, gardening, restaurants, bars; all were there and working and ready to say hello, or answer a question or fill a request. Just outstanding service!

The Spa is a wonderful place to spend some time. If you book a massage, you start with the hydrotherapy circuit which is relaxing and a lot of fun. You could easily spend a good part of the day at the Spa. Beautiful setting and great views (never a bad view from this hotel; all the rooms face the ocean).

Before booking time at the Spa, pass by the VIP Services desk in the lobby. There’s a coupon book available that will immediately save you $40 on your first spa treatment. The booklet has even more coupons for discounts on romantic beach dinners and bottles of wine. What’s more, if you attend a brief, very low/no-pressure breakfast presentation at the Castaways restaurant for the Vacation Club, you can obtain another set of coupons to double your savings. Definitely worth the small investment of time, and, hey, you’ve got to have breakfast anyway, right?

Try for a room on the top floor of one of the upper buildings. Best views of the bay and the ocean. Swim-out and Jacuzzi rooms sound interesting, but may not be worth the extra cost for the time you’ll actually use those features. Rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and rain forest showers. Upper building rooms require less walking and elevator riding to get to the restaurants, lobby, and bars.

Cocos Café opens at 7am. Best coffee in the hotel.

Pretty good wireless iternet reception throughout the hotel, and a definite improvement over the past. Two desktop computers in the Preferred lounge for those with access. Also, check out computer availability in the Business Center.

I could go on and on about this hotel. I really enjoy it so much. In fact, we’re planning to return in 2014 for our 40th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and we are particularly pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay here at Secrets Huatulco.

We are doing the best to offer the best quality services to our guests, and to receive this review is like a reward for us.

We sincerely hope to see you again here at our resort & spa. Be sure you will not regret to come back, Secrets Huatulco is plenty of surprises.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I say we had NO complaints I mean we had NO complaints other than (lol) the ocean/beach. Directly dead center of the resort is rough waters. No swimming recommended. The sand is very course however bearable. If you're wanting blue water/white sand this is not for you either. I will say when you walk the beach down to a 'cove' the water is more tolerable where you can enjoy snorkeling w/ the resorts equipment. Also a little secret...you can walk a very short trail thru the woods over to another beach which is amazing (un-swimmable). All in all if you're looking for an AMAZING resort where you'll be pampered and a beach to walk day/night this IS the place for you!!! We went for our honeymoon and plan to return for our 10yr <3

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend rooms on the lower level of the lower buildings only because they are basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KW6152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank very much for your review and choose your hotel for your vacations. It ihas been our pleasure to welcome you at our resort & spa, and we hope you will decide to come back soon here, in the splendid mexican coast.

Warm regards from Huatulco,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned home from one of the best vacation experiences in years. All of the service staff including the bartenders, waiters, and room service were very friendly and always kept us happy. The only complaint we have about this hotel is that we found a cock roach in out bathroom one morning. The entertainment at this resort was by far the best part. The three shows we saw were Broadway, International, and a participation show put on by the entertainment staff called Miss Secrets. The entertainment team was so much fun and we are going to be back because of them so thank you Joey, Micky, Fabiola and Ismeal. And also the boys on the beach with the kayaks were great too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tavelfun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are very concerned by the feedback of our guests, in order to make the necessary change when needed.

We are sorry about the cockroach. During the rainy season there are more and we need to be very attentive regarding to this aspect. We will continue working to evitate this inconvenience.

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a week at Secrets Huatulco. We found the resort to be very clean and comfortable. The Room was very nice but the glass door on the bathroom was a little odd. We have never vacationed at an all inclusive so we did not know what to expect for food. The breakfasts were very good but the dinners we found to be very bland. Each restaurant was painted white and felt very uninviting. There were several times we went to town to eat so we could experience the local food and culture.

The resort staff were very nice and were helpful when we planned a couple of day trips. The beach was very nice and the pools were clean and refreshing. I will definitely travel to Huatulco again. I would stay at Secrets again but probably would not be my first choice. We really like finding hole in the wall places to eat and exploring the area when we are on vacation. Being at an all inclusive we felt the need to stay on the resort since we paid for food and drinks as price of the package. This is a personal choice for us. If you Like the all inclusive thing this would is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ochee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor, and sharing your experience at our Resort & Spa.

The comments of our guests are essential for our team, and we will take in account yours; in order to make the necessary change.

We hope to see you again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at Secrets Huatulco.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Traveled as a couple with my wife for our 30th anniversary. Secrets was only about 30% occupied as it was their slow rainy season. No rain during the day while we where their. Experienced an incredible lightning show at a distance out in the ocean during the darkness of night.

Facilities where clean and comfortable, food was good in all the restaurants, but our favorite was the Mexican buffet we had on our extra night there.

Remember this is the Pacific ocean not the Caribbean, so the sand is coarser and the current much stronger, so you will need to wear something on the feet and you will spend more time swimming in the beautiful pools than in the ocean.

The massage and spa experience was very relaxing. I would recommend this to anyone going.

We went into La Crucecita & Santa Cruz. Both were very clean and safe. Cab ride was only $6. Plenty of shopping even outside the main downtown area..

First rate and will someday return.

Room Tip: We preferred the higher rooms for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soccerburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your vacations at our resort. Our mission is to offer the best quality services to our guests, and we are proud to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Resort & Spa. It is essential for us to have feedbacks from our guests, to make the necessary changes when needed.

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope you will come back soon to our resort.

Warm regards from Huatulco,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,289 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
234 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing