We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our Cup of Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not our Cup of Tea”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were here from 3/7-14 as part of a trip that went in to Oaxaca for a few days. This was our first visit to an all inclusive resort and we likely won't be doing another one on the future.

The grounds, rooms were all very clean and well appointed.

Service overall was good not great.

Unfortunately except for sitting by the pool and drinking all day we didn't find much else to do at the resort or in town. We like our adult beverages as much as the next person but the drink all day atmosphere really made this like a spring break for adults, if that is what you are looking for this would fit but it wasn't for us.

We found the food to be very lacking. Breakfast was ok and lunch in either Cataways or market Place were ok but most of our dinners were average to poor. The meat in this part of Mexico just isn't what we are used to as far as quality and taste and that made most dinners hard to eat.

We were also disappointed in that there really wasn't a good bar area, Sky lounge was ok but odd layout and a main traffic flow area made it less than relaxing.

We envisioned an AI to be somewhat of a cruise on land but found food better on a cruise and more to do.

Talking to many guests many of them liked the resort and the food but we didn't have the same opinion.

WIFI was available but it was spotty and very slow, ok for checking e mail but would be difficult to get any work done if you had that thought.

We did use the laundry service and it was $3-5 per item and they did a good job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sailwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,576
    846
    268
    79
    29
See reviews for
366
2,657
81
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I chose a Secret Resort to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary in early February 2013. On the second day of our 7 day holiday, I tripped in the courtyard on our way to dinner and broke my ankle. There was no warning for several changes in levels in the courtyard. A guest who had visited the resort on previous occasions told us I was one of at least 80 people who fell in similar circumstances and the hotel has yet to do something about it. In addition, we had booked a superior room with a walkout pool and we both returned home with a skin infection from the pool due to the lack of chemicals in the water. Hotel management promised to follow-up and give us a credit for our ruined holiday but no one contacted us. I also attempted to contact Secret Resorts Management but to no avail. We will not go back!

Room Tip: do not chose walkout with pool as water is full of bacteria
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie-Andree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valleyview, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were there from March 11 to March 25, 2013. There was a group of six of us and we all had a fantastic time. The resort is beautiful and the food was amazing. We ate at all the restaurants except Oceana and we didn't have a bad meal. Oceana is the Seafood Restaurant, they had a selection of fish but not enough shellfish for us. The people were fantastic, there were a few who didn't know very much English but most of them did and I learned more Spanish this trip, after all we were visiting Mexico and their native language is Spanish so one shouldn't expect them all to speak English. I have read some of the previous reviews from other people and some of the issues they complained about were not issues for us. Someone actually complained about the sand being to hot, REALLY!! You go to a place where the temperature is usually in the 30's everyday and you don't expect the sand to be hot, shame on you. I'm not sure where they come from but even here in northern Alberta in the summer time the sand on the beaches gets hot. We didn't have any problem getting a Palapa (beach umbrella) on the beach and no one left their towels on the chairs from the night before, they were always empty in the morning. We have been to other destinations where you had to be up before the sun to get a place by the pool or on the beach, there were some mornings we weren't on the beach until 9 or later and didn't have a problem getting a Palapa and there were always spots around the pool. We all had massages and hydrotherapy at the Spa, this is one of the best Spa's we have ever been too, FANTASTIC, well worth the price!!! The Entertainment people, Daniel, Mickie, Ishmail, Alejandra & Fabiola (I missed a few as I wasn't able to get all their names) were fantastic too!! Had a lot of fun with them doing aqua size, beach volley ball and archery, they also had other activities as well, water volley ball, bingo, horseshoes, dancing lessons, bungie trampoline etc. The people at the concierge desk and the front desk were always very friendly and helpful. Tony with Air Transat was most helpful as well. The first week we were there they were filming a Mexican Soap Opera at the resort and the crew and actors were very gracious, we went to the Mexican Restaurant one night for dinner and they happened to be filming in the restaurant at the time and we still had excellent service, excellent food and the waiter also made us Spanish coffee including the fire show that goes with it all while they were filming the Soap Opera.

We went into La Crucesita a few times to go shopping and one night we went there to a restaurant called La Crema, they are known for their pizza and it was really good, they cook it in one of those stone ovens, it was very yummy. We also went to Don Porfirio Lobster & Steak House at Tangolunda one night for seafood and it was amazing, I had the jumbo prawns and 1lb lobster and then they did an amazing Spanish Coffee show for us, if you've never seen this done it is so worth it they light the liquor on fire and stream it into the cups, fantastic show and tasty coffee.

Went to where the Copalita river flows into the ocean, La Bocana I think it's called, and had a mud bath, Mexican ladies covered us in mud from the Copalita river and after it dried they rubbed it off and then we went for a dip in the Copalita river to rinse off, the current was very strong especially where it met the ocean, we walked up the river a bit and floated down twice, it was a blast and our skin felt so good afterwards. We also went to the Bocana del Rio Copalita Archaeological Zone to see the ruins, paid for a guide to go through with us and tell us the history, it was very interesting. Our guide, Marco, even gave us a ride back to our resort. So far they have uncovered a couple of temples and a ball field. This area is still being developed. We also walked up to the look out point above the Copalita River, what an amazing view!! Our tour took about 2 hours but we didn't get a chance to see the whole area.

For my husband and I it was our second trip back to Huatulco and for the rest of the group their first time and they absolutely loved the area and the Resort. This is our favourite place in Mexico and the Resort was amazing. We are all talking about going back again.

To sum things up we would go back to Huatulco and to Secrets Resort and Spa in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Most rooms have great ocean and pool views except for the lower buildings on the first floor not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this wonderful review! I'm sure this will be very helpful to our guests. I encourage you to keep my contact information and please let me know when you are ready to come home again.

Sincerely,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
a_gerencia.sechu@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This resort is fantastic if what you are looking for is luxury in a resort setting. This is a new resort and reflects so in it's modern architecture, grounds & rooms - beautiful. The beach is long, fairly private & gorgeous. Lots of loungers both in the sun and shade, beach or pool. Large pools very clean and well maintained.
Being adult only, and really suited to couples, created a more romantic vibe. Dressing up for dinner (is expected) and your choice of tastefully decorated restaurants made every evening feel like a date. Live music in the SkyBar as well was a real plus.
The food was good, excellent for Mexico. This resort has a great coffee bar, Coco Cafe, for morning lattes. They have a nice buffet in a good setting open for breakfast & lunch, but they also offered other choices. For sure try Castaways for lunch at least once! The only restaurant we would recommend you avoid for dinner would be Oceania, lovely setting but very disappointing service & food. Not to worry - there are still 5 other choices, all that we enjoyed.
There were many efficient and helpful staff & servers working hard to meet all our expectations. Always a fresh towel for swimming, rooms cleaned twice per day, a ride to the spa if you needed it, beautifully maintained gardens.
*The only downside: there were often not enough bar staff & servers at 'peak' times.
**The Spa and Hydrotherapy Circuit are the best I've encountered in Mexico (and I've been to alot) clean & peaceful with wonderful & caring staff.

Room Tip: If you want a view and privacy pick the higher floors. Elevators make moving around the resort easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSMHBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We vacationed here in Feb.for one week and were a little dissapointed by the lack of Palapas(beach umbrellas) at the beach.Also the towel thing is a little annoying.You can grab as many towels as you want so people do just that.They will claim their spot the night before or very early in the morning,and then we would have to find a spot by the pool.Which would be okay if you are pool people which we are not.The food was not bad but not much better than Las Brisas Huatulco which we have stayed at the last two years before.For the price i believe we recieved more for our money at Las Brisas and it does have a better beach.The service was exceptional at Secrets.The water temperature in our shower was annoying as it went from extremely hot to cold and back to hot every time we took a shower,not everybody had that problem but some others we talked to did.We are not complainers so we didn't report it.Overall it was good just a few issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diver090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear diver090:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The resort is beautiful. The views from the rooms are amazing. This was my first trip to Huatulco. The food was realy good. I would have to say that the Castways was the best dinner I had. The Mexican resturant was that great. I went with a group of 7 people. Some of the resturants were great at accommodating a larger party, others we had to talk to management to get them to push some tables together. I didn't think it was right that there was no open buffet everynight. The wait staff and bar staff were amazing. The maids screwed little this up, like not put more coffee in your room or moving your stuff around so you can't find it! I don't know if it was like this for everyone but in our party no ones rooms, including mine, weren't ever cleaned until after 3pm. The beach is nice, coarse sand and hot, so shoes are a must. (At least until you get down to the wet sand.) We went to into two towns while we were they. Everyone is very friendly. It was nice to sit in the the middle of the park and have a beer, and the shopping was great. The spa was wonderful. I had a Swedish massage and left feeling like a whole new person. It was amazing. We ended up having to stay an extra day due to plane issues. The hotel was great at accommodating our extra night, but the Sunwing rep had no useful information. One of our group members was having a family emergency and sunwing was doing nothing to help us. Us as a group had to try and find flights for him. Overall I would probably go back to secrets, however I probably won't go Sunwing.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. I would pick any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJKK0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your message, it is very important for our hotel to receive the feedback of our guests, in order to take measures to improve our services when needed.

In this frame be sure we will take in account your comments.

We hope to see you soon again at our Resort.

Best regards,

Aurélien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
a_gerencia.sechu@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We vacationed here for 7 days in early March 2013 and had an absolutely wonderful time. It was our first trip to the Pacific side of Mexico. The resort is built so all the rooms have a view of the ocean which was spectacular. It is very clean and safe. The people at all levels were very polite and accommodating especially the bartenders, wait staff and entertainment crew . We had a great time in the swimming pools and swim up bar. I would say the food is above average with many different cuisines to choose from and you always have the choice of a buffet. We also enjoyed our time at the spa where we partook in Swedish massages. Our therapists, Goldino Castilla and Leonor were absolutely fantastic! Entertainment at night was enjoyable. I must say what made this trip fantastic was the entertainment crew consisting of Ismael, Jean, Miky, Daniel and Alejandra. This crew is second to none. They bring so much energy and fun to the resort with all the games, workouts, and crafts they try to get you involved in. We participated in water aerobics, yoga, water basketball, water volleyball, bracelet making, karaoke, and of course bingo at the bar. I would go back here just to hang out with this crew of great professionals!!! The resort also provides many other things for you to do such as tours, snorkeling, fishing, etc. With the exception of visiting a couple of nearby cities one afternoon, we stayed on the resort and found it a great place to just sit and relax. Make sure to bring at lease a 30 SPF if not a 50Spf suntan lotion because the sun can be intense. Also, bring some type of water shoes if you like walking the beach as the sand is a coarse sand and can be very hard to walk barefooted in. The water shoes are also a benefit because 4 out of the 7 days there were a lot of jellyfish (not sure if this is a common problem or an isolated case). Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkSecrets2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,895 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing