We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Most relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Huatulco from March 4 - 18th and we loved Huatulco and Secrets. Go for the weather, none of that late afternoon rain you experience on the Caribbean side. The towns of La Crucecita and Santa Cruz still offer great charm and we found the people friendly and not as pushy as other destinations.

Our flight with Transat was great, we upgraded to Club Class and it was well worth it. Bit of a minor hiccup on the return with a delay waiting for a flight crew who were delayed because of weather in Toronto, so got into Edmonton a couple hours late. No biggie, it was weather and not like their competitor who cancels flight.

Now the resort...

Check in

Very smooth. They had an envelope with our name and room keys, so we were in our rooms within 5 minutes of arrival. Surprisingly they took no credit card imprint. Our luggage arrived within 10 minutes, and we were off exploring.

The Room

Very clean and modern. Much ado about nothing with the controversial shower. I loved to have a shower and look out of the balcony doors. No way could anyone but the birds see in. We were in Building 3 and in a room far from the Sky bar and everything was quiet. Awesome views from the balcony and loved to have our morning coffee out on it. Wifi worked in the room a little slow, but worked well on the balcony. The room was cleaned everyday and most nights we had turn down service.

The Restaurants

For breakfast we ate most mornings at Tamarindo. It was quieter, hardly used and had all the essentials food wise, maybe less than the Market Cafe, but the serenity made up for it. The staff provided great service and we loved to practice our Spanglish with them and they would help us, and they asked words in English. I recommend passing on the lineups at the Market Cafe.

We tried Barefoot Grill for lunch for the first week, but soon tired of it. We didn't want to lose out on precious beach time. It would be nice if they would changed the food offering occasionally. We both got our only case of the trots here, but after a couple of Imodium were raring to go again. Lunch at the Market cafe or Castaways was awesome.

We only ate at the a la Cartes. Being both in the service industry we are not big buffet people. We never had a bad meal. The portion sizes were perfect for the health conscious. The presentation was also very good. No real favourite food wise but we enjoyed Oceana and Castaways the most as we could enjoy the outdoors and hear the ocean. Tip, it's not on the menu but the coconut ice cream is heavenly. Serving staff was always good and friendly, and obviously proud of their jobs. The wine was very good by AI standards, the Chilean Sauvignon blanc was good and the red wine served at the proper temperature and not the ambient temperature.

The beach

We are beach people, so can offer no comment on the pools. During the first week their were jelly fish. I scuba dived and they were present in other Huatulco locations, so not specific to Bahia Conejos. On those days we just went over to the cove on the left and there were no jellies. In the second week no jellies to be seen. Drink service was awesome. Look for Christopher, he is the best. Man does he work hard, wish I had half his energy. It was funny to watch the towel game start at 7 AM as we viewed from our balcony. We would go down from 9-10 and have no problem. We did see staff removing towels from saved loungers. Yeah! Wifi worked, but was weak, and you would have to reconnect often. The vendors on the beach were great, not pushy, except for Pepe. My wife found that George and Thomas had the best selection for silver. It was nice to connect with these people, get to know them and learn of their lives. We take so much for granted.

The Spa

We went twice, once at the beginning and once at the end. Spoil yourself and give it a try. We had an 80 minute couples massage. The hydrotherapy was awesome as well. Interesting that the credit card terminals took credit card chip cards. Awesome, nice to see for security reasons.

I would like to thank all contributors to these reviews and the forum. It helped us tremendously in choosing Huatulco and Secrets. It helped us know the do's and don'ts and insured a most relaxing vacation.

Just a side note on the complaining on the filming. Chill out! We found it interesting to see the filming, and see the stars. If something little as this ruins your vacation, wow that is really sad.

Room Tip: Choose a room over 10 (example) be far enough from the sky bar. The higher the number the further aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Que_Pasaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear guest:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,576
    846
    268
    79
    29
See reviews for
366
2,657
81
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from March 16-23, 2013. Air Canada was amazing, great flight and crew 5.5 hour flight from Toronto....We had to wait for our room to be ready over 2 hours....we booked the Jacuzzi preferred suite, we were put in building 4, view is very nice. Our Jacuzzi outside we had only used once...just to cool off. FOOD....Is OK, u will not starve, we ordered room service for breakfast only once. Supper buffets were better then some of the restaurants. The staff are very hard working, speak very little English in the restaurants, but u will get by. Lots of pool chairs are available, no worries. If you want bring something to float on maybe a noodle or air mattress cuz there is nothing to float on, a nice gentleman gave us his noodles when he was leaving and we are passing them on to someone else when we leave. The beach can be very dangerous, so be careful of the under toe, especially if u cannot swim well, my hubby got caught in the under toe along with many others though-out the week.
Just a FYI, sun very hot, had on 40 SPF and burned the first day, have been in the shade since. Took a tour of the area, very clean and eco friendly.....Enjoy your self it really was amazing....

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The resort itself is very pretty. The hotel is fairly new, extremely clean and architecturally quite beautiful. The views are amazing (unless, of course, you are in a preferred club room which are located on the ground floor of each building resulting in the vista being blocked by the roof of the building in front of you). Don't waste your money folks on the preferred club unless it's imperative that you have a jacuzzi on your patio (which, by the way, your neighbours on either side have full view of) or a swim-out.

The actual preferred club itself was a bit of a joke. We stopped in there one night to sit and have a nightcap and the particular bottle of premium alcohol we like was empty. When we asked if they could get another bottle, they just said no. I guess it was too much trouble for them to run over to the lobby bar or the Skybar and get a replacement bottle. This would not ordinarily bother us but we had paid the upgrade for the preferred club.

We tried all the restaurants. The food ranged from bad to average and was usually oversalted. Steaks were horrible whenever we ordered them, no matter what restaurant. Room service was pretty good - they pretty much got the orders right and it was never longer than they said it would be.

Service at both the restaurants and bars was pretty good for the most part, however, there was one night at the Skybar and we were starting to think we were invisible. The bartenders were just ignoring us. I know they were busy, but when you've been standng right there at the bar in front of them for 10 minutes, come on people, I thought this was a 5 star resort? Another evening at dinner, we waited 15 minutes for a waiter to come to our table after we were seated. When he finally came over, we started to order drinks and he said he was only taking food orders and would send someone else over to our table to take our drink orders. 10 minutes later, the drink waiter showed up. I wouldn't even expect this to happen at a 3 star resort, let alone at a Secrets.

I had a bit of an issue with my stomach, nothing major but I haven't experienced this before at any other AI resorts that we've stayed at (always 4 or 5 stars).

Rooms are very nice but the maid service was hit and miss. We would leave our room around 10 in the morning (and no, we did not leave our "do not disturb" light on). We would return around 4 in the afternoon and the room had not been done - this happened two or three times during our week stay. I think we finally got turndown service on our fourth night there. I found the beds very comfy. As others have said, you can hear quite a lot coming from your neighbours rooms.

Trust me, we are not picky, hard to please people but when we pay top dollar for a 5 star resort such as Secrets, we expect to receive the quality of service and food that they advertise as providing. We have been to other 5 star resorts in different parts of Mexico and the Caribbean. Secrets is supposed to be the high-end resort in their chain, however, I beg to differ. We are firm believers in "you get what you pay for". Sadly, this does not apply to Secrets Huatulco. Would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackburnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent March 5 - 19 at the resort. On arrival, we were offered a room near the swim-up bar (Building 6) and then a room up by the Sky Bar (Building 2). We declined these rooms as we wanted a locale that would be quiet, restful, and oceanfront. We ended up in Building 5 around 6 p.m. on the arrival day. Building 5 is located by a quiet pool and the lunch/snack restaurant (hot dogs/hamburgers/taco chips) that is covered by a palapa. The hotel room was very clean. The ocean was inaccessible the first week because of jellyfish. We were not informed of the takeover of the resort by the soap opera cast/crew and were constrained by the lighting and audio equipment. We would suggest not splurging on the swim-out or jacuzzi. Swim-out pools were mirky and dirty. Norma is the best concierge and Jeffrey at the front desk is the "go to" MAN! Magdelena in the Market Cafe is a wonderful waitress for breakfast/lunch.

Room Tip: Don't splurge on a swimout - they look like cess pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Secrets on Tuesday February 5th at 3:30pm. Our room was not ready and after waiting for two hours we were able to check in and were looking forward to enjoying our stay.

On Friday February 8th my husband became seriously ill with frequent vomiting and diarrhea. By 4:00am, it was clear he was in need of medical attention so we called the hotel doctor.He was not allowed to eat for 24hrs and was on a diet of Power Aid only. Shortly after, I fell ill with the same symptoms and was also treated similarly by the doctor. The doctor said my husband had bad luck and when I got sick he said we had “food intolerance”. I was on the same Power Aid and no protein diet.

We barely ate any of the food at the resort and we did not participate in any of the evening activities. We spent most of our time in our room, close to the bathroom.

At 9:00am on the morning of our check out day (February 12th), we spoke to the head of concierge, Louis. We told him of our story and felt that we should receive some compensation for our ruined vacation. He said he would speak to the doctor and get back to us. By the time we needed to leave at 4pm he had not contacted us. We spoke to him again in the lobby as were leaving and he said he had not yet spoken to the doctor. He assured us that he would send us an email with a decision either later that day or on February 13th. We gave him both our email addresses but have heard nothing. In our reduced state, we failed to get his direct contact information. We never heard from him.

When we got home I also filled out the hotel's evaluation and also never heard back from them.

We have lived in and traveled to many parts of the world including Africa, Asia, Europe, Russia, other parts of Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean. We have stayed in all-inclusive resorts and traveled on cruise ships. Never in all of our travels have we experienced the type of deathly and severe sickness as we did on this vacation. We are thankful for the hotel doctor's medical treatment but very very disappointed in the hotel's customer service. It does not matter how beautiful a place is when you are that sick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean499146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went in May 2012 for our honeymoon. First the bus didn't pick us up and we were told they had no record of that company. $65 bucks out the window. After 2 hours, got to the resort which was beautiful. We ate at the oriental restaraunt on the second night and got food poisoning. Really bad food poisoning. $285 doctor visit and $76 spent on meds we were miserable. Nothing was edible in the restaurants. Food was marginal at best, not even taking into consideration that we got food poisoning. Everything tasted the same and was not consistent. We ordered room service to get the chicken soup, and it tasted different every time, a couple of times tasting horrible. We have been to other all inclusive resorts and there were plenty of guests to hang out with, we were one of just a few couples who spoke English (most had experienced stomach distress as well!!). 95% only spoke English. Needless to say we will not be returning. That being said, The area was very beautiful, the resort was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathrynowyckoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Huatulco is a great destination - you can count on great weather! In fact, a cloudy day is a welcome reprieve!
This resort has a beautiful layout. Minor complaints - they enforce the men must wear long pants at the restaurants - but the a/c either doesn't work or isn't adequate - it was very warm!!! Some nights dinner took much longer than others. The staff were very courteous; some speak English better than others. Overall the food was very good to excellent.
Julian at the pool bar rocks - be sure to ask for Rainbow Shots - amazing! Christopher gave great service at the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms except the swim-outs have an ocean view. We stayed in building 5 - loved it. Building 6 ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing