We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Huatulco area but we will not return to this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 7, 2013

First and last stay at Secrets in Jan. 2013, we have been to most of Huatulco area resorts.
Hotel could be in Miami, no Mexican flavor or feel to it, boring decor.
Staff in most cases, do not understand simple English requests but they try.
Food cold and undercooked or nondescript, try ordering a shrimp cocktail at the Oceana restaurant then ask the wait staff what the green stuff is??
Restaurants will add tables in the main open air courtyard for dinner themes, one problem people still smoke while eating or worst yet getting food from the buffet. A NO SMOKING Resort should not allow smoking around food .
Entertainment is bad, but they try. Bad sound system please replace those cheap JBL speakers.
A new one year old Resort should not look so tired,
our chair and couch were badly stained, called front desk on day 1,
by day 7 of our stay still nothing done in Room 3317.
I would like to thank the drunks and smokers from a large
Canadian west coast billboard group, you know who you are Patt.
We would also like to thank SunBrokenWing for the delays from Toronto.
Love the Huatulco area but we will not return to this resort

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anj&Sof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,073)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,210 - 2,216 of 4,073 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great resort - really enjoyed the week we spent there from Jan 26th to Feb 2nd, 2013

The spa is definitely worth a visit - had a great couples massage along with hydrotherapy treatment. Didn't want to leave once done!

Food - something for everyone. Enjoyed the local cuisine the best - fish tacos, pescadillos, grilled salmon. Breakfast buffet was OK, not outstanding, but you could definitely find something to eat everyday. Love the fresh fruit. Most of the wait-staff were great, one or two no so much, but no issues worth reporting. Final assessment - food at the Dreams was better, but Secrets was still very good.

Nice to be able to go wherever and how often you want to each of the restaurants. No reservations needed. They are very strict about enforcing the dress code, however. Be prepared.

Used the fitness room everyday - very well equipped.

Rooms are great - all ocean view, most luxurious we've stayed in - just a bit better than the Dreams next door (stayed there in 2009). Like the idea of a red light for "Do not disturb" rather than a doorknob hangar.

Hotel staff are fully geared to taking care of you. A two person line-up at check-out prompted additional staff to appear to quickly help out. Bellboys, waiters around the pool, groundskeepers and maids all give you a smile and "hola" when you cross paths and/or ask for something.

The beach is not large, but very nice. Snorkeling was good, but beware of the waves, wind and rocks. Water temperature was perfect.

Will definitely go back, likely several times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meow-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Early 30s couple spent our first anniversary here, from Jan-26 to Feb-2, 2013, at this super clean and fresh/modern look resort.

ARRAVAL:
Arrival and custom is very smooth and trouble free. It was my first time walking out the plane from the back exit with stair to runway. Shuttled to resort and welcomed by smiling staff who to took us to a separate room for check-in for preferred-club member. It was also very fast and left with a good, friendly first impression.

<NOTE> For those who plan to change cloth before heading out to the pool/beach, take the luggages with you if can, cause it took the bellman over an hour to deliver them to our room.

ROOM:
We reserved Preferred Club junior suite with outdoor-jacuzzi, and was assigned to building 4. We did not feel lack of privacy, instead, we felt it is a benefit staying at ground level of the building, since no one will be able to see our room/balcony from the pool. Building 4 to us is perfect, 1&2 are really noisy during the day (by the pools), 3 is very close to restaurant and SPA (guests can easily see all the balconies), 5 is way too close to lobby and nightly entertainment will keep you awake until 11PM. We are not bothered by the glass shower design but actually loved it.

<NOTE> Rooms away from elevator would have more privacy, as it's less viewable from Sky bar and elevator shaft.

FOOD:
Foods are average, Cast Away was our favourite, Oceania stand for the second place. Just be aware that there is a certain chance they would mix up/forget your order and result in over 30mins waiting for food, even during non-rush hours (only handful desks of guest). We were more impressed by the room service food quality. Instead of go to Pool bar for lunch grills, we would go to Market Cafe (when open), there are multiple choices of fresh grills and pan-fried burgers/fish fillet, and they never runs out ketchup.

<NOTE> When it's busy, Room Service might not pick up your call, alternative is to call Concierge and them to transfer or even take your order.

AMENITIES:
Pool area was fairly crowed during the day, as "seat-reserving" starts as early as 6AM, however there were still plenty enough spot for everyone to find a spot. Billiard and Ping-pong are barely used by anyone, probably because they were sit at the corner of entrainment lobby. Tennis court is new and clean, we went there every afternoon for a game and never saw anyone using the court.

BEACH:
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. We loved the beach way more than pool area, if you sit on the far right side of the beach, you won't hear any music or noise but the soothing wave sound. Sand and water are rougher on the right side (facing ocean), but there are some rocks set for perfect photo spot. Left side with smoother sand and calmer water. The trail-connected beach is not maintained, so there are a lot of rock and tree branched on the sand, but it gives you a more "deserted" touch comparing to the modern hotel, great place to enjoy the sunrise.

<NOTE: Be aware of the rising tide in the afternoon, the water (on the right side) could get pretty tough after 3PM)

SPA:
The service was really nice, we had swedish massage in the same room after Hydraulic (water massage in the pool). Masseuses were very professional, they gave full respect to your privacy. The view from the SPA room was gorgeous. You would be able to see the entire bay with no blockage.

STAFF:
All staff we have encountered in the resort are extremely friendly and always carried with a sincere smile. They would do everything to keep your stay comfortable and memorable ,even sometimes it mean giving you drinks when you are already full ;)

I'd like to thank Peter who willingly gave my wife a short tennis session 7 o'clock in the morning, and best luck to his tennis career.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RickC736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this wonderful review! I'm sure this will be very helpful to our guests. I encourage you to keep my contact information and please let me know when you are ready to come home again.

Sincerely,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
a_gerencia.sechu@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A very new Secrets hotel. Wished we could combine the classic looks of Secrets St. James in Jamaica with the beautiful swimming beach at the Secrets of Conejos Bay..now that would be quite a combo.
The very stunning visuals in the Huatulco Secrets are marred by some pretty poor workmanship ..we wonder how long this hotel can look spiffy. The maintenance crew should stay on top of those worn spots..before it starts looking tired. This will be interesting. However, all the staff are wonderful.our room maid Jose Luis was excellent...We never used our Jacuzzi..it was in full sun and too public for privacy ( a design flaw) but the rest of the room was beautifully made up daily. We were at the extreme west end where it was quiet. The hotel's 30 minute rule about NOT leaving towels on unoccupied loungers MUST be enforced since there is a lack of decent shade at this beach..Huatulco is a very hot, sunny place. Some guests get minus 2 stars for hogging chairs with towels, and never claiming these spots. Shame on you. Respect others and you will be respected too. It's a 5 star hotel folks..not one of those run of the mill places where you creep out to hold chairs at 5am! The food services were good, though their decor appears unfinished...granted the place is so new. We wish Secrets all the best..and that they get some more thoughtful, considerate clients, in the future, too.

Room Tip: If you like a nice long walk..get a room in the first building, first floor and walk the long curvi...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seeadler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

this is our first visit to secrets resort, but second to an AM resaort (NOW Jade) in the mayan.

resort: layout and building configuration is a little confusing but you get used to it fairly quick. the grounds are clean, the staff are always busy at something making things a little better. maid service and turn down was great.

service: overall a little lacking, but they try and are always willing to accomodate when they can. I heard people complain about lack of getting premium drinks...in most cases a simple "por favor" or even please would be nice to hear. if you dont see your drink on the shelf, ask it most likely is in the fridge under the bar. restaurant service was great in all of the a la cartes...we enjoyed the french the best.

food: good variety, always found something to enjoy....the a la cartes rarely looked full except for spice, which you need reservations for. we used room service for breakfast one morning, told us it would be 45mins, arrived in 30. also asked for extra beer in the fridge, and got it every day.

entertainment: there was always something scheduled, but we think it depends on the crowd...mr secrets who played guitar at the sky bar a few nights is great, but he was always there during the same time they were starting the show in the theatre.
we were there over superbowl...wow, what a great job...they converted the convention space into a makeshift stadium, with a 4 sided big screen in the middle and bars and wait staff as well as prizes and a tailgate party before hand.

destination: went to la bocana beach for the mudbath....well worth the experience, and we had the beach to ourself for a few hours. went to town a couple of times, once during the day for shopping and lunch, and once friday evening for drinks. great time at la crema and hemmingways.

spa: we spent one morning doing the hydrotherapy circuit and couples massage....a must do, relaxing, great views and fantastic staff rounded out a good visit.

overall a great vacation...relaxing, pool was wonderful, weather hot and sometimes hotter, and one of the few desinations we would consider for a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had an incredible time while at Secrets. The food was spectacular and the atmosphere was very nice. I was in building 3 the first few days I was there but moved to building 5 on the swim out. The view was very nice from building 3, but I preferred the swim out, more to do with enjoying the view and the stars at night while dipping my feet in the pool. While I felt great during my stay it was the staff who really made the stay wonderful. Two very nice ladies in particular, Maria Jose and Alejandra, made sure I always had something fun to do while staying there, as well as keeping me involved with resort entertainment. It was my interactions with them that truly made the vacation memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed with my husband (we are in our early 30's) from Jan.26 - Feb. 2/13 and can honestly say this is the best all inclusive we have ever found in Mexico! It is ultra modern and not very "mexicany" like some of the older ones in Huatulco. And older gentleman we ran into was complaining about this fact but we like a city feel wherever we go and this felt like a nice upscale comfortable hotel in the middle of the Mexican heat which is perfect!

We took an Air Canada vacations package through Toronto from Winnipeg and there is plenty of time to catch the flight to Mexico and make it through TO, do not even worry about that!

You get on a bus with all the other travellers to Secrets and the check in process is a breeze while you are sipping your champagne and wiping your hands on a hot towel. They take your bags to the room for you and even though we had to wait about 45 minutes for ours to be ready we could care less as we had some tequila shots in the lobby bar and just explored the restaurant menus and the magnificant view.

Rooms are super clean and have great amenities. Turned down nightly with a nice mexican mint chocolate on your pillow. The view is to die for and we spent most nights after the sky bar scene got boring just taking drinks back to our balcony and enjoying the evening heat (don't even bring a sweater as the evening temperatures were no lower than 25c). We were in building 4 on the 3rd floor and had an awesome spot.

Breakfast is best in Tamarindo as this is a sit down restaurant still offering a buffet for breakfast but not too many people know about it and you get in get great service and there is no waiting for the omelet station, plus they make you as many mimosas as you need to get the morning started! The other option is the same buffet just larger and more crowded and noisy at Market Cafe.

Lunch every day we went up the mountain and sat outside at Castaways. You can go with just a bathing suit cover up on and this is table service with great pizza, fajitas, salad bar, shrimp tacos. We found that the Mexican's really know how to do shrimp, every thing we ate that had shrimp was cooked perfectly and so flavorful! SOme other fish was over cooked and don't bother eating meat here as my husband only had 1 out of 6 meat dishes that wasn't terribly overcooked and dry. Say rare and you still get medium, say medium and you get dryed out garbage meat. The best restaurant hands down for food is Cin Cin the Italian restaurant. We are not really pasta eaters at home but found ourselves here most nights since everything that came out was beyond delishous. The mushroom risotto is one of the very best I have ever had and is a must try! We also had amazing seafood linguine, pizzas and cheeses there. This one is the most popular at the resort and although you don't require a reservation, there will be a long wait list to get in if you go later than 7pm and earlier than 8:30pm. We hung around the consierge and gave him 3 bucks to get right in the first night and from then on were pretty much seated right away instead of being told to wait 30 minutes and leave for a drink elsewhere. The best view while dining is at Oceana the seafood restaurant which is on the mountain by the lunch place Castsways. Meals were hit and miss there but again shrimp was the best and some of the appies were amazing as well.

Do not ever order the shrimp cocktail however! It's on the menu at various restaurants and on the dine-in menu. we were thinking this would be like a canadian shrimp coctail with giant prawns and some seafood sause but nope. it's tiny rubbery shrimp (canned maybe?) in a bowl with some other rubbery seafood and then the bowl is filled with tomato soup! disgusting but found it humerous when we waited 45 minutes to get it delivered to our room and then find out is was total garbage.

There are 3 pools to choose from so we ventured to all of them, basically whereever we found to nice seats under an umbrella is where we would set up camp for the day. The servers come by so often you are never thirsty and tip a buck or two at the beginning and even when you say no thanks they bring you water and ask everytime they walk by in case you change your mind.

We took a 6 dollar cab ride to town, but found it deathly hot since you lose the breeze from the ocean and the streets are black tar. The mexicans yelling at you to buy their silver was also a tad annoying but we got our cheap Tequila and Vodka at the convenience store (oxxo) of all places (the one by La Crema restaurant is air conditioned and was our saving grace at the end of the two hours we spent looking around).

Took advantage of a deal to get to the spa for $45 for two massages and the hydrotherapy circuit. This is the coolest thing you can do in Mexico as the spa overlooks the ocean and is the highest point on the resort. We will remember our time at this spa for a long time and I recommend just getting the cheapest treatment so you can experience it. Ladies don't bother wearing makeup as you get drenched doing the water therapy circuit and can just get ready in the awesome bathrooms after you shower at the end of your treatments. We started at 3pm and after the circuit and 2 massages and getting ready were out for dinner at 7 feeling more relaxed than ever.

Overall the nicest staff, weather, resort and trip we have been on in a long time. If you are looking for heat, good food, nice company and pure relaxtion this is the place for you!

Room Tip: seemed like none of the rooms on the bottom floor of each building had much of a view unless you wer...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsorfniroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,674 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
209 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
249 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $228 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing